We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Beirut”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Coming to Lebanon is a real experience especially if you are not intentioned to limit your staying in the capital.
But Lebanon is Beirut and Beirut is Phoenicia.
We came here by car and the security procedures were impressive but worth .. car completely open, lower car body check for explosive device .. but friendly and reassuring faces. Here we go. A long escalator leads to upper floor. Highly professional team for check in and assistance in trip planning. The room is small but beautiful and perfectly clean. Just on the side the view of a skyscraper with the holes of past bombings. At short distance the dark pink villa of Mr. Jumblatt that is worth a wonderful picture. Just outside the hotel the starting point of the Corniche and the lights of Beirut skyline.
Breakfast is rich and full of Lebanese flavours. The breakfast area is just on the side of the famous Phoenicia pool.
In room service is worth a test ... anytime.
Wonderful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Mr. Antonio,

We thank you so much for choosing Phoenicia Hotel Beirut during your last stay, and for taking the time to share your detailed positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and your description of “Lebanon is Beirut and Beirut is Phoenicia” .

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time during your stay at Phoenicia and that you found our staff welcoming and that the services and facilities were up to your expectations.

We are also glad to know we succeeded in making you feel special and served you with dedication and professionalism.

Stay assured that your positive comments will be communicated with our colleagues.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation/
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Top service. Great location. Best breakfast ever. Drinks are a bit expensive. Also safe for Lebanon. Free upgraded without even asking. Late check out until 3. Pool was excellent. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Yiannos D,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel and for sharing your straightforward positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our service, location and facilities exceeded your expectations especially our Breakfast Buffet.

We are glad to know we succeeded in making you feel special and consider Phoenicia as an amazing Hotel.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have never left a review on TripAdvisor before but needed to leave one about Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. Where do i start... This isn't your avergae hotel, it truly is a 5 star hotel (in American standards as well). The professionalism and comfort the staff provide is unlike anything i have ever experienced. I have been to Las Vegas many times and continue to stay at classy hotels like Wynn, Encore, Bellagio, Caesars and I must say Phoenicia Beirut is just as good if not better.

Customer service.... not just a promise but is a priority for them.

In specific there are two staff members at the hotel i would like to point out and appreciate one step more. Ibrahim who works the check in desk and George who works in the pool area. Both went the extra mile with their professionalism to make our trip truly unforgettable. Thank you so much guys!! I can not wait to come back and visit you guys again.

Best
Aram

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Aram,

We thank you so much for choosing Phoenicia Hotel Beirut during your last stay, and for taking the time to share your overwhelming feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described it as “Best Hotel in Beirut” and especially compared to other classy hotels worldwide.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time during your stay at Phoenicia and that you found our staff welcoming and that the services and facilities were up to your expectations.

Stay assured that your positive comments will be communicated with our colleagues, in particular Ibrahim and Georges, as well as the management.

Waiting for your next visit and thank you again for your recommendation.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was just beautiful - day and night. The decor is amazing and the hotel is wonderful. Staff were extreamly helpful and could not do enough for us. The rooms and bathrooms were wonderful and we even got given a Easter Egg as we stayed over the Easter weekend. These little touches really do make the experience. The swimming pool was lovely and the location was great. The only downside was that very loud music was playing in the evening time from the bar/club downstairs which kept us awake until the early hours. We did call the reception about this, but nothing was done about the situation. This was the only downside to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Sam A,

Thank you for choosing to stay during Easter Weekend at Phoenicia Hotel and for sharing your detailed positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel and that our services and facilities met your expectations. We are glad to know we succeeded in making you feel special and served you with dedication and professionalism. As for the inconvenience regarding the loud music, we do apologize again but unfortunately sometimes we have events and weddings we cannot control the volume but maybe on your next visit we can provide you with a calmer room location.

Again thank you for choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is time was very special .. Credit goes to Jessy and Roy they make our stay more than perfect especially Roy.
I didn't have the chance to thank them personally but I would like to praise them through tripadvisor because they really deserve it. Jessy offered us as a gesture of goodwill free airport pickup as a compensation for a previous stay at their hotel and we wasn't happy.
Roy was waiting us at the entrance and directly he took us to the room without doing any check-in in the lobby. Roy impressed me with his high professionality in dealing with the guests, and for sure you will feel that he is dedicated for you only and looking after you in a very well mannered way. Thank you phoenicia team and special thanks to Roy .. For sure phoenicia will be my first choice from now on.

Room Tip: choose high floors, sea view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoubaSammour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel and for sharing your detailed and positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our services and treatment met your expectations. We are glad to know we succeeded in making you feel special and served you with dedication and professionalism.
Stay assured that your positive comments will be communicated with our colleagues, Jessy and Roy as well as the management.

We, the Phoenicia Team, thank you for giving us a second chance and choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed in Lebanon a few times and my last stay was at the Intercon just around the corner. Everyone raves about the Phoenicia so i thought it was worth a look. From the outside and once you enter it is the most "grand" hotel and is beautifully set out with tons of marble and classy furniture. The lobby has a lounge, small boutique shops and restaurants which are all very good. The rooms are a good size and beautiful, I had friends stay in the larger rooms but with no sea view and they all agreed go for a slightly smaller room with the sea view. Breakfast is exceptional and each and every staff member is ready to help however they can from check in to check out. The only negative i can call on this hotel is the pool. They have got to allot of effort (no doubt) but the number of giant Roman style columns and shaded areas makes getting some time in the sun extremely limited. Also on my stay the number of children present did not make it an option to relax and chill out. If you want to stay in the nicest hotel in Lebanon this is it, just have a quick 5min walk around the corner to La Plage to have a relaxing afternoon in the sun.

Room Tip: Get the Sea View on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ben B,

We thank you so much for choosing Phoenicia Hotel Beirut during your last stay, and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described it as “High end in Lebanon”.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time during your stay at Phoenicia and that you found our staff welcoming and that the services and facilities were up to your expectations and especially the breakfast.
Regarding our outdoor pool, thank you for pointing out the sun issue and we apologize if it was too crowded but usually in Summer it is high season and we cannot limit the number of guests and in particular kids. Hopefully on your next visit you will get to tan and relax at our pool.

Hopefully you will come back to Phoenicia for your next visit and thank you again for your recommendation.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can not imagine visiting Beirut ,without staying at phoenicia, it's a great hotel, location (zitouna Bay), staff, cafes, everything .... i was there many times and i hope to be there soon... thank you phoenicia team

Room Tip: room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saif235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear saif235,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel every time you visit Beirut and for sharing your very straightforward feedback that says it all.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our facilities and services met your expectations.

We, the Phoenicia Team, thank you for your recommendation and for being loyal and choosing to stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 113 in Beirut
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.3 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 113 in Beirut
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Beirut Le Gabriel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £213 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing