We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So inferior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So inferior”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I cannot believe that I have just paid $400 Australian a night only told by a rude young man at recetion that it is standard for each room to be supplied with a SINGLE sachet respectively of coffee and tea. When I complained I was told that it was standard and I could get extra coffee via room service. No thank you. Further more the bath robe and slippers specified in the inclusions were conspicuously absent but given the very rude reception of my request for more than one coffee sachet for 2 people, I did not want to ridk firther rudeness. It is a pity because I really enjoyed the Movenpick at Petra, Jordan but my Beirut experience was totally unsatisfactory given the price which was quite frankly exhorbitant for the lack of courtesy and amenities. The setting is very beautiful BUT I cannot believe that for $400 Aus you get a single sachet of Nescafe for two people and an extremely rude and dismissive reception from the staff person (male) who answered my call. All I wanted was at least 2 coffee sachets and a courteous reception. To be told that a single sachet was standard was simply unacceptable and will ensure that I will not choose Movenpick again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Myrlwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communications Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Myrlwynn S,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time and writing your review on TripAdivsor.
I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that all your comments have been reviewed with the relevant mangers in order to take immediate actions and to avoid similar situations from being repeated in the future.

We are very sorry that due to unfortunate circumstances in your room you have been provided with only one coffee sachet as well as you could not find the bathrobe and the slippers as this is definitely not per Moevenpick Hotels standards; we do provide more than one coffee sachet as well as both a robe and slippers in Moevenpick Hotels and it should have not been otherwise in your case.

Concerning the reception attitude, please, in order to ensure a proper follow I would appreciate if you would to contact me on lara.bechalany@moevenpick.com, so that I would be able to gather more details in this respect.

Thank you very much for your kind attention, I hope to hear from at your best convenience and as well, I hope that you will visit us again in the future in order to have the opportunity to show you our improvements.

With my best regards,
Lara Bechalany
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    224
    83
    36
    23
See reviews for
142
125
55
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 times and the last time was in December. The hotel is beautiful and has a beautiful swimming pool. I got a sea view room and it was amazing to sleep and wake up with the sounds of the waves.
The hotel is very clean. Housekeeping team are fantastic!!! They checked my room about 3 times a day. The food from room service was delicious and the staff were so friendly.
The breakfast in the main restaurant was nice - but could be better. The view is unbelievable beautiful, however the staff there could be a little bit more friendly and quickly. I order for a cappuccino and it took 15 minutes for them to deliver it (I was alone in the restaurant). I ordered for scramble eggs and the chef gave me fried eggs (it wasn't cooked properly) - but the rest of the food was delicious. That restaurant just need a little bit more of "love".
The receptionists were fast, helpful and very friendly. They have a very nice cafe / bar with sea view and it's a nice place to have a glass of wine or coffee while you read a book.
In general I loved the hotel and would recommend it for sure.

Room Tip: Choose room with sea view - they are the BEST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GigiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communications Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are so pleased to read your review! With so many nice things to say, we are almost at a loss for words!

On behalf of the staff, we would be delighted to host you again and we will surely take your comments into consideration.

Lara Bechalany
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

At your arrival you receive a warm welcome. The check in goes fast and the staff speaks different languages. The hotel provides all comfort with very spacious room. I got a room at the back with a very nice view on the sea. Free Wifi is available in the hotel and is very fast. I enjoyed the large choice of the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masuyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communications Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Masuyb,

We are always delighted to read such positive reviews about our hotel that make us want to work harder and deliver even better services to our guests!

We are so thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Lara Bechalany
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Roof top restaurant. Sushi-bar, very confortable place, quiet "ambiant music", friendly and professional staff !
Near the Corniche and direct view on the sea, If you need a good place it's the 5* hotel "Moevenpick", restaurant named "Sushi-bar" on the top with view over the Corniche ....
One of the best place we have seen. We didn't taste the hotel !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Philip... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communication Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your very positive review about your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Beirut. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time in Hemingway's Lounge and Square!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Lara Bechalany
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great resort in a central location. Not something many cities can say.
Good food, breakfast and pool and I do recommend this place if you will be spending some time in the hotel. If not and you are going to be out all day sight seeing/shopping etc etc...then you probably don't need to splurge on such a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communication Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review! Beirut is a great city to visit anytime during the year and we are sure that you both enjoyed your experience in our country. Our hotel would love to welcome you again soon!

Lara Bechalany
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel, great hotel with a very nice, helpful and friendly staff...excellent location and so many things to enjoy while in the hotel, reach breakfast buffet with helpful chefs to assist you all the time...Sunday brunch is a must to try....thank you for making my stay an enjoyable one...definitely will come back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WassimIssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communication Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Lara Bechalany
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Mövenpick in Beirut gives you the impression, to be in a beach area, while you are in a city. The director, Jan Bundgaard, a really friendly Manager was very helpful and friendly. The food is in most of the restaurants pretty good and the rooms are pretty nice. The staff is always very helpful - always trying to do the best they can. I enjoyed my stay two times and would come back.

Room Tip: seaside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummvonoldenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara B, Communication Manager at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's always a delight to hear that our guests enjoy their stay at Mövenpick Hotel Beirut. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Lara Bechalany
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
1.6 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
0.5 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Beirut

Property: Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Address: General de Gaulle Avenue | Raoucheh, Beirut, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#6 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#12 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lebanon. Located directly on the Mediterranean Sea, Mövenpick Hotel Beirut is a contemporary city resort where guests are consistently pampered by the dazzling facilities and exquisite service of team members. Enriching, engaging and eclectic experiences are treasured, every time, with a distinctive personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Beirut
Moevenpick Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing