We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottoman overtures”
Review of Hotel Albergo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Albergo
Ranked #27 of 113 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Upon arrival after a delayed flight from London and a somewhat 'exciting' taxi ride the estimable staff whisked us and our luggage up to our delightful bedroom.
A quick freshen up and we hit the roof top terrace bar where we could slake our thirst and pick up a light supper from the panoramic restaurant menu.
The superb boudoir with its mix of Lebanese and Oriental designs and furnishings and most comfortable bed provided a good nights sleep and a great base from where to explore the City and surrounding areas.
Breakfasts were good and "hearty" if you chose American, "local" with cheeses yoghurt and eggs if you preferred Lebanese or you can simply select Continental in keeping the 'Paris of the Middle East'.
Being well located near to the centre of the City means there are plenty of local restaurants to visit with a bewildering array of choices from cuisines around the world; traditional Lebanese and Mediterranean to Classic French to Japanese sushi bars.
You'd have to say it's not cheap but it is exciting and for quality, location, service and comfort you get good value for your money!

Room Tip: So many different designer rooms (we had two) as we stayed on arrival and then for a day before comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OX2paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear OX2paddy,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux, on Tripadvisor,

We really are looking forward to welcoming you back,

Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is breathtaking, very stylish and unusual. Love the decor there. The food at the roof top is very tasty, healthy classy meal, excellent service. The wine was excellent. This was my second visit to this place, this was introduced through a friend and we really enjoyed it. We will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Would love to sleep there one day had it not been for my flat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear SHERMINE54,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our premises and really hope to welcome you again very soon in the restaurant and the hotel,

With my best regards,

Jihane Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After our wedding party, we headed at this amazing romantic boutique hotel. Each room is decorated differently and the luxury is all that surrounds you. Staff are so professional as any Relais et Chateaux, service is exceptional, food at both restaurants is delicious but a bit overpriced.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnonymousPBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear AnonymousPBeirut,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor,

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Albergo and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our premises in the near future,

kindest regards,


Jihane Khairallah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here 6 nights during easter and were in general very happy. The service is very good, the junior suits are great and they have two very good restaurants. Unfortunatly the rooftop pool was closed because of the season.
The location is a bit off, but you can easily walk to all the highlights.
There are many good restaurant alternatives close by.
We had a very nice time here and can warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Food_traveller32,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux,

We are happy to know that you have spent a lovely stay in our premises,

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in your Beiruti home in the near future,

Best regards,



Jihane Khairallah

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is supposed to be a luxury hotel and it is definitely one. Rooms are very nicely decorated, taken care of the smallest details.
I have never seen such a perfect service, The personnel is just wonderful, Lebanese hospitality!!! always smiling, trying to do everything they can to satisfy your needs, exceptionally good, meticulous and well-informed.
The restaurant is great, food is delicious, service is top... Congratulations!!
Location is ideal, small beautiful street, at walking distance from all what you need in a great city like Beirut!!
Keep up with the good work guys!!!
Recommend it for sure!!!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Jimmy D,

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux,

We are really happy to know that you have spent a wonderful time in our premises, and we thank you for your positive comments,

We will always do our utmost to make our guests stay the most memorable one.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future,

Best regards,



Jihane Khairallah

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is hidden in an old street in Beirut. It is perfectly decorated, perfect atmosphere, best food, and lovely staff. You must have a nice breezy lunch on the restaurant up top. Try the salads. Have a quiet romantic meal with great italian food in the restaurant at the ground floor, Al Dente. Each room is different and each room has a unique classic touch. In the lobby, they have a huge collection of books that go back to the 1300s. Have a quiet sit down there and be inspired.

Room Tip: The higher the better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsoueidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Elsoueidi,



We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor,
We are glad you enjoyed your romantic meal at the restaurant Al Dente and really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future,
Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We were very disappointed with this Hotel.

The room was nice, the location was excellent and the breakfast first class. Fruit was provided to the room daily and Italian Biscotti provided at bed pull-down.

The room rate was in excess of $A400.

Overall service and attitude was bad, The opposite to what top hotels try to achieve..

Like all hotels you always have some really good staff and some ordinary ones. The ordinary ones in this joint far outweighed the good ones by a long shot and this did not sit well with us.

Most staff just do not smile or greet you in a welcoming way and generally do not seem to care.

Our biggest issues were.

1. We wanted to go to the restaurant on the top floor and were turned away because it was booked out. There were only seven people there when we arrived. Apologies were given however we were not offered any alternative option. After making a formal complaint to the duty manager, who did not seem at all concerned, we went to bed. A little later the head waiter from the restaurant came to the room with two glasses of wine and some dessert. That was nice but did not make things better.Our night had been already been spoiled.
2. When we checked out we were not greeted by the sour faced cashier, she did not utter a word during the bill paying process, and did not say good bye. Furthermore, despite several staff standing around the cashier desk no one offered to assist us with our baggage so we carried all baggage ourselves and had to load them into the taxi without any hotel staff assistance. How bad is that.

Would we ever stay there again. Absolutely Not..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, General Manager at Hotel Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear PeterDAustralia,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Hotel Albergo Relais & Châteaux in February and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor,
We are sorry to hear that your stay was tarnished by these troubles,
We really hope that you can give us another chance to make it up to you and I invite you to contact me personally for your any future booking,
Best regards,

Jihane Khairallah

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.3 mi away
O Monot Luxury Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
1.2 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#1 of 113 in Beirut
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 113 in Beirut
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Beirut Le Gabriel
1 mi away
The Key ApartHotel
The Key ApartHotel
#14 of 113 in Beirut
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo

Address: 137 Abdel Wahab El Inglizi St, Beirut, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#11 Business Hotel in Beirut
#27 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £179 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Albergo 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing