We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest value in Beirut”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Honest value in Beirut”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Mayflower Hotel is situated just off Hamra Street in the heart of 'old Beirut'. It has been around for years; my wife and I first stayed there nearly 40 years ago! If you enjoy being downtown, there are several hotels that are classier than the Mayflower like the Crowne Plaza nearby but none offers as good value. Free internet is a bonus.

The Mayflower is clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet given its location. It is a bit dated but therein lies its appeal. The staff are very good and nothing is too much trouble. The choice for breakfast is not large but is perfectly adequate.

The Duke of Wellington pub, which is part of the hotel, is a Beirut institution and is rightly popular with expats and locals alike. A beer or two there is not to be missed.

The Mayflower is a good value option for Beirut and a stay there offers the opportunity to explore the back streets of the Ras Beirut area which still has a lot of charm as well as affording easy access to the Corniche for some enjoyable evening promenading. Would we recommend staying at the hotel? Yes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    140
    76
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
48
77
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My staying in Mayflower Hotel was great. The staff was very polite and hospitable and make you feel confortable. The hotel is very well located, is only one block from Hamra Street (which is center of the night life in Beirut). You will be close to restaurants, shops, supermarkets, cafes... Also is very close to the American University of Beirut. The cleanliness of the rooms was excellent and the bed was good too. Both room and bathroom were very confortable and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LedMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I always come back to the Mayflower. The location is right smack in the middle between the main Hamra Street and Bliss Street, the two most popular streets in the area.

The hotel is very cozy. They've renovated most of their rooms and all have key cards instead of keys like they were when I first stayed there. The rooms themselves are very comfortable and clean. They have AC, cable TV, mini-bar, hair dryer, in-room safe etc. There is also wireless internet access. On my last trip it was free. Staff is also very friendly and accommodating.

The breakfast in the morning isn't too impressive yet is still good enough for a quick bite before you head out and explore Beirut.

If you're in to the posh stylings of the chain hotels, this isn't the place for you. It's a small local hotel that's been around for quite some time and has yet kept up with the times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelhopper87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Beirut is a lovely place to visit - nice city with very polite and friendly people. This was all also reflected in the Mayflower Hotel. Very hospitable staff, nice rooms and good food. It is close to the bustling Hamra street and a short walk away from both LAU and AUB. To get to downtown, you should hire a cab.

Since some of the reviews here gave notice that the quality of rooms may vary significantly, I wrote on the general adress of the hotel and very soon got an answer from the reservations department. And I really did get a well kept and nicely decorated room with a balcony, air conditioning, and a refurbished bathroom with a bathtub for $77 per night. There is free wifi available in the rooms, you will get the passwords from the reception. Also, the hotel features a business centre where you can use a computer, if you don't have a lap-top with you.

For all of you who cherish peace and quiet above all else, the Mayflower (but most probably the whole Beirut) is not a dream destination. The street is rather noisy and there is life in the hotel corridors most time around the clock. But who knows, perhaps it is quieter on the top floors - my room was located on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: You can write them and request a room in the refurbished part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJakobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

If you, like me, are fascinated of the recent history of Lebanon you should stay at Mayflower hotel.
If you, like me, are looking for a hotel in Beirut located ideally you should stay at Mayflower hotel.
Mayflower was at time the only hotel, during the civil war, to be open. During fierce fighting the media of the world was staying at the Mayflower. Most, if not all, other hotels were closed. With just a little bit of imagination you can feel like Mr Robert Fisk having a drink with another war reporter at the Duke of Wellington bar. Duke of Wellington might be the coolest place to have a drink in the Middle East.
Location and atmosphere is everything with the Mayflower. I would not stay there if I was primarily looking for a great breakfast, service or room standard. So, don´t expect a luxury hotel. Don´t even expect a very good hotel. The reason that I love this place more than any other place is it´s history and also possibly it´s location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My room was neat and clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, the location is perfect, and the breakfast was superb. They even have a small library downstairs where I read some good books. This place has character. If you are expecting the Ritz, you will be disappointed, but why expect the Ritz? This is a great place, and I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hamra is a great location for a Beirut base. The streets around the hotel are safe, full of bars and cafes and bursting with life.
The hotel is a little dated with the exception of the newly re-furb'd bathrooms.
The beds are really really comfy! Breakfast is a little disappointing really. Not much choice and the restaurant is in the basement with no natural light.
Overall a great base and if we are being honest, you don;t really spend much time in your room anyway.
I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.0 mi away
Napoleon Hotel
Napoleon Hotel
#97 of 117 in Beirut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#19 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#102 of 117 in Beirut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#63 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
WH Hotel
WH Hotel
#36 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Property: The Mayflower Hotel
Address: Rue Neame Yafet Street Hamra, Beirut 113 5304, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE MAYFLOWER BEIRUT There are several charming hotels in central Beirut but one is distinctively in a class of its own, The Mayflower Hotel. Being among the oldest privately-owned hotels in Beirut and with the owners still playing an active daily role, The Mayflower Hotel will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2017. The completed rooms renovation initiated in 2006 combines all amenities and comfort that traveler has come to expect while maintaining its authentic style and character. Located off the bustling Hamra Street, in the heart of Beirut metropolitan area, the Mayflower Hotel offers a tradition of Lebanese hospitality coupled with friendly and courteous service that will ensure his guests a pleasant and relaxing stay. The Mayflower Hotel provides all you would expect and more, from the cordial and personal welcome on arrival, to helping guests unwind during a much-needed break, or simply to recharge between ventures into Beirut's rich palate of experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing