We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and well run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice rooms and nice staff. Wellington Bar has Guiness. Friday night happy hour gets a lot of locals in and Ahmed is fine barman. Breakfast is typically middle-eastern buffet, quite nice except for the sausages having the consistency of franfurters of which I am not a fan. Not the place to eat in the evening, but I recommend the Bevedere Bar around the corner owned and run by the very genial Jihad, yes that's his name. The steak was served on a hot cast iron plate so you could cook it to taste. The London Bar, also nearby is half owned by Zou who has a few good stories. The hotel has a rich and colourful history.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, and you will get it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for The Mayflower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Firstly, we were never notified about the pick-up service they provide from the airport so we ended up being overcharged by a taxi upon arrival. However, they do have taxis waiting outside the hotel at all times because it's a well-situated location. (Call taxis are cheaper, though, and Beirut taxis can end up being a very expensive way to travel around the city.) Our room smelled like stale cigarettes and I prefer non-smoking rooms. The decor was outdated and gave it a shabby feel given what you pay for it. The wi-fi was unreliable and hard to connect to. There is a pool at the top but it's so small that it's more like a foot spa. The breakfast was basic and only alternated slightly every other day, so if you're here for an extended stay, don't expect much out of the breakfast. Sound proofing in the rooms wasn't very good as we could hear almost everything in the next room, especially from the bathroom vents.

The only highlight was its location that is within walking distance of Hamra Street and other sights such as the American University of Beirut and the Corniche.

I've stayed at much nicer hotels for the amount of money spent for this one, so I was a bit disappointed value-wise, but it seems overall that Beirut is more expensive than other places in the MidEast (apart from Dubai).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DianaB7052
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I heave recently had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel I arrived at 515am They were good enough to let me have my room from 930am The hotel is in a great location right in center of everything and only 10mins walk from seafront My room was lovely and well equipped everything worked well and it was very clean All the staff were friendly and by day 2 the guy at breakfast was calling me by my name The breakfast its self was plentyfull with good choice of hot and cold sweet and savoury food The rooftop pool thoe small was a great escape during the hear of day and plenty of sunbathing areas I would suggest you use the hotel pickup service provided by hotel 2 and from airport esp if you arrive in early hours All in all this hotel is a little gem in the hussle and bussle that is Beirut Thank you

Room Tip: Go for a room on upper floor less street noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somerset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Clearly has had better days. Communal areas and room smelt like old cigarettes and everything slightly dirty as a result. Room was ok and breakfast was quite good and staff allowed us to get a few things 20mins before the breakfast was due to start. Very small pool on roof not really worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved the location just off buzzing Al Hamra street. Breakfast offered was nice to kick start the day. We could walk anywhere, to Verdun, Solidaire, Corniche, Raouche... Reception desk were helpful with getting a car to take us anywhere but not so much with reservations. Considering the price paid, you've got yourself a great deal!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YasmineNassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Small hotel, well located just off Hamra Street. Rooms are small, bathroom compact but with all amenities. The age shows in the overall setup including the minibar that is sealed to ensure no one claims that things were not there. No water placed in the room was really annoying. Breakfast provided was again basic, though the manager did offer a variety of coffee.There is a bar which again shows its age both in its decor and clients.
Its main convenience lies in its access to Hamra, the sea at a walking distance and decent prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maafihabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#21 of 116 in Beirut
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cavalier Hotel
Cavalier Hotel
#31 of 116 in Beirut
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
WH Hotel
WH Hotel
#38 of 116 in Beirut
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Riva
Bella Riva
#52 of 116 in Beirut
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#103 of 116 in Beirut
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Address: Rue Neame Yafet Street Hamra, Beirut 113 5304, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £41 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE MAYFLOWER BEIRUT There are several charming hotels in central Beirut but one is distinctively in a class of its own, The Mayflower Hotel. Being among the oldest privately-owned hotels in Beirut and with the owners still playing an active daily role, The Mayflower Hotel will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2017. The completed rooms renovation initiated in 2006 combines all amenities and comfort that traveler has come to expect while maintaining its authentic style and character. Located off the bustling Hamra Street, in the heart of Beirut metropolitan area, the Mayflower Hotel offers a tradition of Lebanese hospitality coupled with friendly and courteous service that will ensure his guests a pleasant and relaxing stay. The Mayflower Hotel provides all you would expect and more, from the cordial and personal welcome on arrival, to helping guests unwind during a much-needed break, or simply to recharge between ventures into Beirut's rich palate of experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing