We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #37 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Riyadh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We decided to stay at the mayflower after reading the trip advisor reviews. We were a group of 2 adults and 3 kids and the hotel recommended a family room. (one queen size bed and two extra beds in a small space outside the main bedroom area)

Hotel price was excellent ($99 for a family room with breakfast). The rooms and toilets were very clean. Breakfast was ok, they had 2 menus that they have every other day. Hotel is located near the main hamra street with a lot of restaurants (expensive and cheap). Hotel was selling internet cards and if you have your laptop for $5 you can get around 1:30hours of internet hours that you can use it within one month. There are enough taxis outside the hotel that you can hire and they charge $120 a day. If you get the same taxi through the hotel it is around $150 a day.

Only problem was the toilet seat was not fitting the toilet properly which was annoying.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and next time we will stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    143
    77
    26
    17
See reviews for
31
49
77
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Been to this hotel twice. Both times were excellent. Service is perfect, staff are very friendly. These people know something about customer satisfaction and are doing it well for such a old hotel. Recommend this hotel for anyone. The a/c is working perfectly, tv has showtime and watchable stuff. Wireless internet is perfect. Location is in the center of the happening. No complaints about the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

They Mayflower is a place to stay, situated in a rather quiet street in Hamra - in the city center with lots of shopping opportunities and restaurants nearby (e. g. Istambuli in Commodore Street (good lebanese cuisine)).

The house is old, but in good condition. Warm water and electricity are available right around the clock. I was there in 2007 and 2008 and both times didn' t hear anything from my neighbours. Either I was lucky twice or the soundproofing is excellent.

As the hotel is located in a small town street, the rooms tend to be a little bit stuffy. Very often you have to run the air condition.

Internet access is available, but rather expensive (5 US Dollar per hour as a minimum).

Breakfast is rich and is offered from 7 am to 10 am. Each Friday the bar is a meeting point for locals (happy hour offers).

Most important: The staff is very friendly and helpful - even if your arrive at 3 a.m. in the morning.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank dina64293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The hotel is well maintained, with good clean bathrooms and some vintage touches (monogrammed towels etc.) that I thought added character. It's in a good location in Hamra, and the bar is hopping a couple times a week for happy hour. I would add that the reception staff is frosty. That said, I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Greetings,
I just came back with my wife from our stay in the Mayflower hotel.
Although we are Lebanese, however, we have used Expedia before and we always managed to get very good rates and thus we decided to book a hotel in our home country via Expedia as well.

While booking, the Expedia confirmation page said that the rate MAY NOT include taxes. Therefore, we called the hotel and asked whether this rate includes all applicable taxes. The answer on the phone was that this rate DOES include all taxes.
Also, while checking in, we validated with the gentleman on the reception desk that this rate includes taxes.
To our surprise, while checking out 10 days later, the Hotel manager (who is a very blunt character) gave us our bill which included 10% taxes.
This nasty hotel manager did not even listen when we tried to explain to him that his employees confirmed twice that the rate is all inclusive !!


ADDITONALLY, we were shocked to realize that the rate that we got through Expedia was not good at all. For 75$ (+10% Taxes), we could have gotten a room in a 4 stars hotel on the Raouche area (a much more luxurious location with amazing sea view). Also, the other hotels in Hamra were less expensive as well.
PEOPLE WHO WALKED INTO THE MAYFLOWER were given a better rate!!!!


I did not explain how the service in the hotel was since for a 3 stars hotel, one expects to have a bad service. However, it is worthwhile mentioning here that we were melting in our hot room while the hotel maintenance never fixed the AC.


ALL IN ALL, I recommend that you do not go to the Mayfair. There are so many other great hotels in Beirut for the same rate (if not less). One last tip, call the hotel to see what is the rate that they give to people who walk in. You will be surprised to see that these guys get a better deal.

  • Disliked — The rip off, and the manager's attitude.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrPronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beirut hotels

TheHague
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Its a cheap and cheerful 3-star hotel offering good value for money. The location is fine, in the heart of the safe Hamra district where there's plenty of restaurants and shops open at all times of the day and night and if that gets boring nothing in Beirut is more than a quick and cheap taxi ride away. The Pigeon Rocks are 5 minutes walk away, as is the Corniche/seafront.

The rooms are basic to say the least, but why stay in when there's a great bar downstairs ! The Egyptian barman was a great host and there are plenty of Anglophile locals who come inside for a drink, it was mostly educated Lebanese drinking in there, all good for a chat. The beers were also amazing, served in old-fashioned English pint glasses kept in the freezer so that the beer turned to ice when it was poured into them. Bliss ! And the free bar snacks were a meal by themselves.

Breakfast in my opinion was fantastic, a traditional British fry-up (with pork sausages and bacon !!) as good as any found in the UK.

Apparently this place (the bar at least) was an expat hang-out before the civil war and then the place to be for foreign journalists during the war. Its easy to see why.

  • Liked — Service, cold beers in bar, Whitbread pub sign, English cooked breakfast, location
  • Disliked — dingy rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

The Mayflower is a relatively cheap and very clean hotel located in the Hamra neighbourhood of Beirut and in walking distance of Downtown (20 mins) and the main gate of AUB (5 mins). The hotel is popular with journalists, UN personell and staff from various of the international NGOs operating in Lebanon.

The best rates are to be had by calling the hotel. I got a twin room with breakfast for US$60 per night (though this was a reduced rate due to the instability in Lebanon at the time I stayed in Jan. 2007).

The hotel decor is somewhat lacklustre and bathrooms are pretty basic, but rooms have all the usual amenities and are very clean. Wireless Inernet access is avilable in rooms on the purchase of a card at reception. It costs approx. US$50 for unlimited access for one week, but access can also be purchased for lesser amounts/time.

Breakfast is served in a dreary room in the basement and is not great, but the hotel's Duke of Wellington pub on the ground floor is a nice spot for a nightcap.

  • Liked — Convenient loation
  • Disliked — Old-fashioned decor
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OranGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#22 of 117 in Beirut
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Three O Nine Hotel
Three O Nine Hotel
#26 of 117 in Beirut
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Riva
Bella Riva
#50 of 117 in Beirut
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#101 of 117 in Beirut
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
WH Hotel
WH Hotel
#38 of 117 in Beirut
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Property: The Mayflower Hotel
Address: Rue Neame Yafet Street Hamra, Beirut 113 5304, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE MAYFLOWER BEIRUT There are several charming hotels in central Beirut but one is distinctively in a class of its own, The Mayflower Hotel. Being among the oldest privately-owned hotels in Beirut and with the owners still playing an active daily role, The Mayflower Hotel will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2017. The completed rooms renovation initiated in 2006 combines all amenities and comfort that traveler has come to expect while maintaining its authentic style and character. Located off the bustling Hamra Street, in the heart of Beirut metropolitan area, the Mayflower Hotel offers a tradition of Lebanese hospitality coupled with friendly and courteous service that will ensure his guests a pleasant and relaxing stay. The Mayflower Hotel provides all you would expect and more, from the cordial and personal welcome on arrival, to helping guests unwind during a much-needed break, or simply to recharge between ventures into Beirut's rich palate of experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing