We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Smallville Hotel
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Positives: Large, bright well-equipped bedrooms, quiet location, reasonable food. Nice open-air restaurant space out the back. Small but well-equipped, modern gym. Small, nice pool area on the roof suitable for 'dipping'.
On the other hand, the service is very variable. For example, the breakfast staff are very inattentive and unprofessional. The reception staff are easily distracted - with several all getting involved in the same issue and ignoring the guests.
Some of the design ideas in the hotel work and some really don't (Alice in Wonderland playing on the ceiling of the lift drives you slightly mad after the first few rides!).
The free internet connection is hopeless. If you want a connection that actually works you have to pay a daily supplement.
The security at the front door is random and undermined by the open side entrance through the restaurant. etc, etc.
These (and others) are all minor issues - so it is frustrating that the management seem so unengaged. With greater hands-on involvement this could really be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharmaboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The SmallVille Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at the SmallVille Hotel as your feedback helps us identify the areas in which we can improve.

I was very sorry to read that unfortunately in your case, you have not been satisfied with our staff and internet connection. On behalf of the team, I would like to sincerely apologize noting that we as SmallVille are building now a well-trained team and constantly improving . I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and provide you with a better experience.

Sir, I remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    159
    37
    11
    14
See reviews for
49
105
52
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have stayed 4 times in the last year, and was holding off on my review until they transitioned from the soft opening. But that has yet to happen, so here it is...
A very positive experience, although small items keep changing with every visit, as they are trying to find their stride. The new internet set up is fast, but you need an IT background to navigate the multi step process to log on. Rooms are clean, and stylish ( if you are into that sort of thing). The only restaurant is OK, but the room service selection is minimal. Also, excellent meeting facilities (I tried it with 20 pax, and it went flawlessly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Sir/Mme,

Thank you for choosing The SmallVille Hotel as your destination in Beirut. Your feedback and experience are highly appreciated, noting that we shared it with our team members and we are sure that it will be a key motivation for them.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your business stay at our premises and that we were able to meet your expectations in terms of staff, design, High tech and meeting facilities.
however, we sincerely apologize for the room service, please note that we are building a well- trained team and constantly improving to offer you with a better experience.

Sir/Mme we look forward to welcoming you back at The SmallVille Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to do the necessary arrangement for your next visit.

Yours sincerely.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It could have been so nice! A new, modern, tasteful hotel in a rather central and quiet location in Beirut. A cool rooftop pool, stylish rooms, all the potential for a great stay. BUT! And this is a big big BUT! I don´t know who in management had the idea to rent out the garden for events like birthday parties, public viewing of world cup games and children´s parties - but this person should be fired. It might generate additional income but for the guests it is a disaster. Annoying music and TV sound, children screaming, stupid animators trying to be funny, and always this loud loud music. Sometimes even live, with horrible singers.

What should be a quiet nice outdoor restaurant has been turned into the nightmare of the traveler - a noisy backyard that makes it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Ms. Joyce,

Greetings from The SmallVille Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at the SmallVille Hotel as your feedback helps us identify the areas in which we can improve.

I was very sorry to read that unfortunately in your case, you have not been satisfied with our garden known as Cinema Paradiso. On behalf of the team, I would like to sincerely apologize noting that we as SmallVille are constantly improving our services and I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and provide you with a better experience.

Mme, I remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Smallville Hotel has great potential, but even after the first visit in October 2013 when it was just opened to a recent visit in May 2014 they are still undegoing an identity crisis....I can't figure out who they want toi attract - if business people, then they are sorely lacking; i.e. no business center, very slow wi-fi connections (free for limited use, but an outrageous $12 a day otherwise)- nothing in the rooms a business person would need, such as city maps, lists of restaurants, nearby banks, post office, etc. If it is tourists they want, it's probably fine since it is near museums and in a quiet neighborhood (almost too quiet since there is NOTHING around like a store or restaurant). The staff are all very friendly - the bartenders are too timid with their pouring - you feel like management is watchiing them at every step - it should not take 15 minutes to make a martini but their constant measuring gets in the way of efficiency. They still have a long way to go to make it a smooth running operation and I will return to see if they are still hiding the hair dryer in the desk!!

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies but no furniture - ask for room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dona875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Sir/Mme,

Greetings from The SmallVille Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while staying at the SmallVille Hotel as your feedback helps us identify the areas in which we can improve.

I was very sorry to read that unfortunately in your case, you have not been satisfied with our location,service and amenities. On behalf of the team, I would like to sincerely apologize noting that we as SmallVille are building now a well-trained team, and constantly improving our services. I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future and provide you with a better experience.

Sir/Mme, I remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very nice hotel, stylish, comfortable, high-tech, friendly staff and most important clean. Quiet area and close to everything. I recommend it and would definitely come back! It is however still a Soft Opening so I hope they keep the same level when it's officially opened.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay at the smallville Beirut.
I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience with us.
We aim to design our service to every need.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Eventhough it didnt open officially they met all my expectation with all the way. As location, clean and silent room, comfortable bed, amazing design, city view rooftop pool, and professional staff. Only one word %100 worth the value and money. One of the best hotel I ever stayed so far.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeteDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay at the smallville Beirut
I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience with us.
We aim to design our service to every need.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
156 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel - as yet, not 'officially opened'. In other words - it's open on what seems to be a pilot basis. I'm here on a business trip - and it is an excellent alternative to other more traditional 4-5 star business hotels. Everything is new - so new that the service staff aren't quite sure what to replace or replenish each day. Perhaps an environmental message for guests regarding towels and sheets might be useful - as well as a systematic replacement of tea/coffee each day - along with the complimentary water. The room is very comfortable - mine has a balcony (with some street noise) - and the free wifi works all the time. Breakfast is excellent - almost too good. I wonder, though, how it will cope with a fully booked number of guests at 8 am. In sum, it's an odd experience. You feel pampered in modernity, but at the same time, service, while absolutely friendly - is not quite there. However, if you're on business here - or on holiday - I think it's well worth considering a stay here.

Room Tip: Try the hotel during its 'pre-official' opening period. It's refreshingly new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeveedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia F, General Manager at The Smallville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay at the smallville Beirut!
We highly appreciate your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the smallville.
We aim to design our service to every need.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#5 of 117 in Beirut
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
2.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#11 of 117 in Beirut
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smallville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smallville Hotel

Property: The Smallville Hotel
Address: Damascus Road, Museum District, Badaro, Beirut 116-524, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Smallville Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smallville Hotel is the only urban design, business and lifestyle hotel offering short and extended stays, located in the midst of the electric residential neighborhood of Badaro. The hotel offers both short and extended stays. Comprising of 117 spacious bedrooms, 39 suites and five day-lit meeting rooms, the Smallville offers you all the pleasures of a five-star stay. Not only so, but with its simplicity and elegance, this hotel is your gateway to the cultural and artistic beat of the city. It's a place that builds cultural identity, a platform where artists from all walks of life can explore and display their creations. From the ground floor to the 16th, from indoors to outside, 24 hours a day, the Smallville has a superb range of enticing options for dining or drinks. These include a restaurant, lobby lounge, pavement café, stylish bar, garden, our red street café trottoire space and rooftop, each with a mood of its own, and all available for hosting events, as are the hotel's five meeting rooms and VIP suites. Leisure is taken care of by our Superhero gym and the pool whose sweeping views of the capital and its race course are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Smallville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing