We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warwick Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed at the Palm Beach Hotel for three nights (11th to the 14th of July).

What we liked:
-location
-friendliness of the hotel staff
-comfortable beds
-cozy room and room decor
-the restaurants
-Bubbles, the roof top bar (the original Sky Bar)

What we didn't like:
-nothing really

Overall, we would stay here again and do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kojak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 172 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 17 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2009

The hotel is a little small but has very elegant rooms. I really suggest you take sea view room because they are better furnished. What I like the most about the hotel is the delicious breakfast with fantastic view over the Mediterranean. Moreover, the roof top outdoor pool is amazing with great view, but a Little small. The hotel's location is good as well. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roudy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We booked our 4 nights stay on the hotel website and also booked the hotels airport transfer for our arrival, however we weren't met! Our mobile phone wasn't working so asked at a nearby hotel desk for them to call the hotel, who told us they didn't have a transfer booking for us although it showed on our reservation! Waited 15 minutes for the driver and reception upgraded us to a Junior Suite on the 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking a derelict building and a side view of the sea, but a lovely big jacuzzi bath and a mini-bar. Room wasn't large by Suite standards, but v.comfortable and quiet as we overlooked a side street.
The breakfast room located on 6th floor with great sea views served Lebanese breakfasts, would have been helpful to know what many of the dishes were! There was also an array of pastries, bread rolls and fresh fruit. There is internet available at US5.00 for 2 hours that expires after 24 hours (too bad if you have to wait an hour to use it and your time then expires)!! The small gym was well equipped. The rooftop pool and bar were closed during our visit, it would be helpful if the website says when it's closed/open as there was no other bar or cafe at the hotel. Reception staff were hit or miss with their friendliness! The hotel also has it's own taxi service although you pay a little extra for it, but convenient for the airport run which is only 15minutes drive.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fee2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This is an excellent hotel with very comfortable rooms, friendly staff and pleasant public areas. There is a lovely roof-top pool with amazing views and a marvellous bar area just below. The hotel restaurant serves very well cooked, delicious indian food.

It is quite expensive but it is definitely a case of getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JPCHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Let’s talk first impressions - I made a reservation for two rooms, however, the website that I used (agoda.com) royally screwed up the reservation. When we arrived at the hotel, The Palm Beach had a reservation record for one room (with only one unoccupied room in the whole house). For an issue that was in no way shape or form the hotels fault, they went out of their way to resolve it. They opened a floor that was undergoing renovation so I did not have to share a room with my snore happy travel companion. They then upgraded my room the next day for the inconvenience. Great first impression.

I loved the hotel itself. I don’t stay in chain hotels because I loathe cookie cutter rooms and design. The Palm Beach was anything but cookie cutter. The Room(s): The website’s [lack of] pictures had me a bit suspicious – when a hotel is so scarce with pics of something as central to their business as rooms – the “what are they trying hide” warning flags go up. Im glad I took the leap. Both of my rooms were very well appointed and had balconies with doors that can be opened to let in the warm Mediterranean breeze. I was struck by how wide the hallways were. I know it’s a dumb detail, but its one of those things that just passively contributes to the ambiance. Being from NY originally, I appreciate that most NYC hotel developers would have turned the excess hall space into 15 more rooms per floor. The public spaces were lavish but not stuffy. The only things that irked me a bit was the hotel closed the pool (rooftop) for the “winter” - despite being 75 degrees. I had no intention of swimming so not really a problem perse, however, I did have designs on enjoying a poolside cocktail. So it being closed was a bit of bummer. From how prominently it figured into the website, you would get the impression it was a year round amenity -- and you would be wrong. Also, way the hotel does wireless internet was also kind of irritating. For such a nice hotel, having to go down the front desk daily for new access codes was something of a nuisance but in the grand scheme of things is totally inconsequential. The Food: I go out of my way not to eat in hotel restaurants when traveling so I can’t say anything about the indian place in the hotel. I did have quite a hangover one afternoon and did not move from the room until my headache became manageable - so I can say that quality room service was exceptional by hotel standards.

The hotel is well located – it’s about a 15 minute walk to the downtown square. Beirut is the prettiest ugly city that I have encountered to date. While Beirut is very available to a pretty Novice traveler, its generally a place for people looking for a ‘Vacation 4.0’ type experience. Beirut offers what simply can’t get elsewhere– the scars of war & terrorism carved into the face of a reasonably safe metropolitan city. The immediate area around the hotel is one of the most fascinating places in the touristy areas of Beirut. The bomb that killed the former prime minister in 2005 went off just about a ½ block from the Palm Beach more or less destroying/gutting everything for 5 blocks around. 3 of about 8 hotels in the area have rebuilt (The Intercontinental, The Palm Beach, & The Monroe). The rest are still rubble. Two blocks away blocks away are four or five 30 story condos going up on the waterfront. Four blocks away is an abandoned 25 story building that was turned into swiss cheese from machine gun damage. The story and contrasts of the area are mind boggeling. This area, which is really quite pretty, is filled with vivid reminders of the city’s war torn past while looking toward the future with furious levels of construction nearby. It was nice to have such a great little comfy hotel in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NyCBoI2ThEMaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Since I was staying for only 3 nights, I considered location to be a prime consideration.

The hotel is around a 20 min safe walk (5 min taxi) along the coast to the Downtown area, where many of the tourist attractions are based.

In the other direction there is the beautiful Corniche with the Hard Rock Cafe & McDonalds less than 5 min away if that is what you want.

Located within yards of the 2005 car bombing you have the opportunity to see first hand evidence of a terrible part of the city's past.

Across the road there is an excellent little store with a charming lady who will help avoid you paying mini-bar prices.

They do not offer non-smoking rooms so like me you may wish to refuse the initial room offered. The rooms themselves are quite spacious and decorated in a range of styles. The standard rooms have rather basic bathrooms so again you may wish to insist upon an alternate room.

For quieter rooms - ask for one ending in a 1, e.g. 501

There was some mildew and grime to be seen around the bath but not enough to cause offence at this price.

My only real gripe was the absence of the well publicised roof pool and bar. Both are seasonal and therefore were closed without any such indication on their website.

A hotel without a bar was a pain. However the Palm Beach's loss was the Phoenician's gain.

The Lebanese tend to dress up rather than down. Myself and my travel buddy tended to be in T shirts and shorts during the day yet experienced no problems.

Our booking was incorrectly processed by AGODA (part of Priceline) but the hotel worked around the problem in a positive and friendly manner. Unfortunately not all the staff were always as helpful but two bad apples amongst an otherwise courteous and tolerant bunch was frustrating, not disastrous.

It would be nice to stay again at a time when the rooftop pool is open and a couple of staff are on leave.

Oh and Bierut was wonderul. Walking at night and taxis were no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hotel Beirut
Beverly Hotel Beirut
#36 of 113 in Beirut
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Serenada Hotel Hamra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
0.3 mi away
Monroe Hotel Beirut
Monroe Hotel Beirut
#50 of 113 in Beirut
62 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lancaster Suites Raouche
Lancaster Suites Raouche
#53 of 113 in Beirut
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Ain el-Mraisseh, Beirut, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#42 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Palm Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Warwick Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing