We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff”
Review of Casa D'or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa D'or Hotel
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrific staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Good location in bustling Hamra neighborhood, with good shopping, people-watching. Walking distance to AUB. Staff very cordial, polite, helpful. 24 hour front desk. Most staff spoke English. Very good breakfast buffet included. Room comfortable, adequately appointed, fairly quiet. No view. Internet access near lobby for a fee. Do not miss Kabab-Ji for Lebanese fast food or Mojo music club nearby!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    102
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
62
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is located in the busy Hamra district, with plenty of ships and restaurants nearby. My room was large, clean and well maintained, and then hotel staff were very attentive. Breakfast was good (as long as you want a Lebanese breakfast), though there is no fitness room, pool etc. If you want a decent hotel without paying the rates of the expensive chains that have moved in to the new business district, then this is a good choice. WiFi is available, though you have to pay extra for it.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to be well away form street noise, as this is a busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Sarah A,

My friend and I stayed 6 nights at CASA D'OR on Hamra street
check in process and staff were pleasent and very friendly.
As I walked into my room I was very surprised, it was spacious & nice
with very bright big window.
comfy big bed, plasma TV, small kitchen and clean bathroom.
the cleanliness was generally very good, the room's furniture was a bit
dated though but i didn't care about it. The hotel offered a good quality
buffet breakfast and decent value meals.
I was very happy with the location it is in the middle of hamra just 2 min
walk to shopping areas and restaurants alike.
would i go back to the same hotel? BIG YES & I do recommend it.


Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

In a city where many hotels can be expensive, Casa D’Or offers excellent value for money.

Transfer from the airport: all very smooth and easy, exactly as arranged via email beforehand. US$33 for a 15 minute journey.

Location: perfect for Hamra, with the American University less than 5 minutes walk away and the Corniche 5 to 10 minutes. The central business district with the re-constructed French buildings, the new souk and the delightful Zaintunay Bay is about 25 minutes walk; the bar/restaurant area of Gemmayzeh about 35 to 45 minutes (or under 10 minutes in a taxi). Whilst Hamra is certainly one of the more authentic and vibrant districts in the city, I would probably stay in the re-built central business district area on a subsequent visit, as the centre of gravity of Beirut continues to move eastwards.

Check-in/front desk: everyone was delightful and very helpful. However, they could provide better maps of the city (in general, there are very few street signs and names in Beirut).

Room: very clean, with fridge and hot plates (not used by me), clean bathroom with decent pressure for the shower. The hotel might want to consider offering hair conditioner as an amenity. They gave me a kettle for my stay. Very comfortable bed. Room was a decent size. There was continual, low level noise from the large air conditioning units in the back courtyard (I had requested a room at the back, to avoid the noise of the traffic/frequentl taxi honking at the front); in addition the in-room air conditioner was somewhat noisy, plus there was a light hum from the fridge – so this is not the quietest of hotels. The room curtains were very thin, so if your sleeping pattern is sensitive to bright morning sunlight from pre 6 am, remember to take eye shades. Internet access worked very well, but cost $22 for around 24 hours of access spread over 6 days (but remember to log out when done otherwise the meter keeps clocking).

Breakfast: very good – cereals, breads and pastries, cold cuts, cheese, eggs, fruits. You can request an omelette. The waiter was a bit grumpy. The breakfast room was calm and tastefully furnished (indeed all the communal areas were well appointed and felt calm compared to the frenetic pace of Hamra outside). Potentially the hotel could offer an espresso/cappuccino machine, rather than just filter coffee. Wi-fi worked smoothly in all the communal areas.

Other: there is a food supermarket (Co-Op) less than 5 minutes away (turn right out of the hotel, then immediately left and it is about a block away on the left hand side). To buy drinks, there is a shop called 24/7 on Hamra (turn left out of the hotel, left on Hamra – about 5 minutes away on the left hand side near Starbucks). There are innumerable coffee shops and restaurants very close to the hotel.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Casa D’Or

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRID
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have spent 7 days at this hotel and my experience is really great. It is very well located in the heart of Hamra and next to the American University of Beirut. The room was very clean and comfortable, provided with all the necessary things to be well, also a small kitchen. The restaurant is very interesting and has good prices. But what I really appreciate most is the friendly staff at the reception, rooms and restaurant. All of them are very nice and happy to help. Definitely, I recommend this hotel for families, couples, tourists and business. It is extemely clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZENOBIA_PALMIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Close to American University so plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. A bit more than I wanted to spend but room included kitchentte w/ fridge and stove, so I didn't have to eat out as much. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I am customer since 2000 in the Casa D'or Hotel , advantage of hospitality and cleanliness of the place and the quality of food.And also a good location in Hamra Street gives visitors a fun shopping and buy all its needs

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Hotel
Cavalier Hotel
#32 of 117 in Beirut
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
The J Hotel & Spa
The J Hotel & Spa
#88 of 117 in Beirut
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
35 Rooms
35 Rooms
#42 of 117 in Beirut
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
#27 of 117 in Beirut
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three O Nine Hotel
Three O Nine Hotel
#24 of 117 in Beirut
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa D'or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'or Hotel

Property: Casa D'or Hotel
Address: Jeanne D'arc Street, Beirut 113-5151, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beirut
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#25 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa D'or Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly European style hotel located on Hamra Street right in the middle of Ras Beirut Area, convenient for business travellers and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa D'or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing