We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not so great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel does not really do justice to the Hilton brand. The property looks "tired" and not suited for people who'd like to be near places of interesting Beirut.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo-bebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    141
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
107
88
43
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights in April three weeks or so after the hotel joined the Hilton chain. I also tried out the neighbouring Hilton Metrolitan Palace but the Habtour Grand was marginally the better of the two. The best thing about my stay was the warm welcome I received from Anna at check-in who told me she was keen to welcome guests of the Hilton Honors programme and asked graciously for patience as they got used to the new set up. Staff make or break a hotel and here was someone doing very much the latter.

I was allocated a spacious room which was bright and cheerful if a little dated, most notably the ancient TV set. Signs in the public areas mention refurbishment but there was no information to let you know exactly what's planned - hopefully the rooms will be included in the programme and at least get tea and coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board which they currently lack. There was also no in room information available to orient date guests to the hotel and it's facilities. The room was very clean but no evening turndown service was provided.

Wifi signal was strong and reliable and a good breakfast was served on the top floor restaurant although there seemed to be several staff just standing around not doing much. The hotel has a superb spa called Elixir which boast really good facilities including an ice room which I'd never experienced before.

All in all a good stay but, as I know the hotel acknowledges, there's a way to go before it will compete for a place amongst Hilton's best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

The hotel is expensive for NOTHING to start with... We booked a non-smoking room (somebody -duty manager?) - confirmed before arrival ! and we received a smelly and unpleasant smoking room, so nice! :-( . when we requested for a change , we were told that the hotel was fully book ... Surprise!!! and Of Course after seeing a very FURIOUS face complaining -and that would definitely would not accept this unkindness-; the very -unwilling to help- staff found one!
The rooms have something special ? not really our DVD didnt work , there was also a damaged scale that no one ever came to check. The balconies look very unsafe and with poor maintenance. We could observe the metal base from the balcony on 22nd floor was not aligned properly. Maybe the glass was not supported properly ... This is scary ... The water in the toilet is hot or hotter ... cold water doesnt exist.
The noise level at night was HIGH! from the music down stairs ... we were on the 21st floor!
The Grill restaurant was a relief, food was very nice and staff provided with a good service.
During check out the place looked more like a market, people queuing and lots of people waiting ... they made us wait with this explanation: 'we need to send someone to the room first , it will only take 5 minutes, we need to check that nothing is broken in the room first and check that nothing is missing in the minibar ' ... Shocking! are you kidding me? What kind of treatment is this? What kind of training this people had??? The replies from the staff were incredible ... they certainly dont know how to talk to guest . they have no experience!
We requested to talk to the manager , and the staff pointed at him : If you want to talk to the duty manager he is there ... Front desk manager was busy dealing with some other complain (i could see for the faces ohhh i dont know what exactly happen ... they were upset too!)

Room Tip: There are better options with better prices .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jx2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We chose the Habtoor after enjoying an outstanding stay at the neighbouring Metropolitan Palace in 2010. We had understood the Habtoor to occupy a level higher than the Metropolitan Palace, and were therefore greatly looking forward to our visit. Unfortunately there were numerous issues that we would not have expected to encounter in a hotel with the Habtoor’s reputation. We outlined the issues below in a letter to the Manager before we left, but so far have received no reply, which itself tells you a lot.

First, on our arrival we were placed in a small, dark room (722). From anywhere other than the desk the only view was of a grey dividing screen on the balcony. What was truly unbearable, though, was the traffic noise from the major roundabout that we overlooked. We moved room to a 'mountain view' room, which was certainly an improvement, but we were not warned that it overlooked a building site, also noisy.

Some unwelcome surprises regarding both rooms:

• Rooms do not provide a full-length mirror, clock, ironing board, ice bucket, or facilities to make tea or coffee. You can use room service of course, and ice and hot water were free.
• The minibar is not contained in a functioning fridge. We had expected such a facility to keep items fresh for our daughter, such as milk. The minibar prices were scandalous, even for a 5* hotel: does anyone really pay $US40 for a quarter bottle of warm champagne??!
• There is no wi-fi in the rooms. There is free but relatively slow wired connection, and costly faster options.

In addition we found:
• The showers in both rooms yielded only lukewarm water.
• The balconies and balcony furniture were covered in dirt and dust, and not cleaned during our stay (see photograph).
• Only once were dirty glasses and plates replaced.
the wake up call we requested for our early departure came 20 minutes late.

Other disappointments in respect of the hotel in general:

• Breakfast was adequate, but some foods were over-cooked or allowed to go stale. The breakfast room itself a very unappealing place: dark and claustrophobic, lacking in atmosphere. We would have liked the chance to take breakfast in the Metropolitan Palace, at least once, to enjoy the wonderful light-filled atrium and to have the chance to see the excellent staff there, who did much to make our last visit so enjoyable. However, we were told that we would have to pay for an additional breakfast to do so. This seems utterly ridiculous given that the hotels are twinned and the breakfast selection is identical.
• Sitting in the lobby one evening for almost an hour we were surprised to find full ashtrays at almost every table, and none were replaced during the time we spent there.
• The spa changing rooms are rather cramped, offering inadequate space to change.


On the upside, we should add that we enjoyed the spa facilities themselves, and most members of staff were professional and pleasant in their dealings with us. The complaints that we raised were dealt with immediately and satisfactorily. It is the sheer number of unsatisfactory issues that led to disappointment at what we hoped would be a special week. Staying in a hotel of this calibre ought to be a pleasure, and one should look forward to spending time in the building. Unfortunately this has not been the case, and we are unlikely to return to the Habtoor.

Room Tip: Our tips if you are thinking about this place: go the Metropolitan Palace instead. It's cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khattab_Towers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Don't ever come here because I hated it as the room had problems straight away but the pool was very nice with a tiny bar. We had others in our family coming aswell

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonyaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

The rooms are of high standard and the location makes the view of the surroundings very good. The breakfast buffet is fresh and with a lot to choose from.

The service is good and helpful although check in/out time is very long. It is also quite expensive for its combination of location and standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights. Service could have been better and the interior design is outdated. However compared to other hotels in Beirut this seems to be a better place as I had some bad experiences as well. Small shopping center beside it and nice view of the city if you have a high floor room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
2.6 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.3 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#4 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#9 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand

Property: Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Address: Charles De Gaulle | Sin El Fil - Horsh Tabet, Beirut, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Lebanese capital and located only 15 minutes away from Beirut International Airport, Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand delivers a range of business and leisure facilities with an outstanding level of service. It offers stylish accommodation, personalized service and advanced facilities to guarantee a memorable stay. Hilton Hotels Beirut is the ideal base to explore the fascinating capital city of Lebanon. Visit attractions including the Mohammad Al-Amine Mosque and the National Museum, or stroll round the famous Beirut Souks. Enjoy a swim at nearby Mediterranean beaches or visit the ski slopes of Faraya, less than an hour away. Jeita Grotto and many historical sites are also within easy reach. Enjoy our free shuttle bus service which goes twice a day to Beirut City Center, Hamra steet and Zaytuna Bay in only ten minutes. A pedestrian bridge connects to Hilton Beirut Metropolitan Palace, allowing guests convenient access to both hotels. Our next-door mall hosts a variety of international shops with signature brands, cafes, restaurants and entertainment zones where guests can enjoy the finest shopping experience at only few steps from the hotel. Beirut City Center in only a five-minute drive away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing