We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. Close to Hamra street where all the hustle and bustle is. Plenty of restaurants and shopping in the area. What impressed me most about this hotel was the friendly and service oriented staff. They aim to please and please us they did. We had two adjoining rooms. The rooms were quite comfortable. Except for the first night when we didn't operate the A/C correctly, we slept very well. It was clearly operator error and not a malfunction of the air conditioning. After the first night, the room stayed cool. Our stay was for 8 nights in the middle of July, 2011, so a cool room was important to us. Breakfast was great and again staff was always at the ready to serve. I would not hesitate to stay at the Cavalier again the next time we make our way to Beirut.

Room Tip: The higher the better as the Lebanese like to honk their horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenerbeener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Modern, clean and well maintained rooms (I chose th executive room). Confoi beds and noise insulation is quite good (the hotel is located near a very busy road). Helpfull staff and a better than expected breakfast (fruit, yoghurt, cakes, pancakes and more)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvdbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

A late booking for a short business trip, only a one night stay. Made to feel very welcome on arrival, friendly and helpful staff explained hotel ammenities, location, offered advice for local restaurants and enquired if I needed any assistance to get to the airport the following day.

My room had twin beds, was a reasonable size, modern furniture and very clean, with a decent bathroom and fluffy towels, nice comfy bed, my only comment is that the walls are a little thin could hear the TV next door. Good working WIFI throughout the hotel. Small bar in the lobby with comfy sofas, just right for relaxing drink after business meetings or shopping on Hamra.

Breakfast was buffet style, with a good selection of fresh cakes, pastries, crosissants, hot food was also available, which I didn't try.

A good value hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Generally the hotel is not bad, and this is my review:
1) The housekeeping did not clean the bathrooms well, we always had to ask them to re-clean the bathroom. And most of the times they did not even come back to clean it.
2) The air conditioning is central, so the hotel management decides whether the AC will work on cool or warm. When we arrived it was on cool (during November!), and we asked them to turn it to warm, however, it took them 24 hours to do so. The room was cold, and I had my little daughter with me.
3) 2 days of the 5 days that we stayed there, our room smelled like the sewage, and the hotel could not find out why.
4) The internet (WiFi) is not for free, you have to pay either $4 per hour, or $10 per 24 hours. And you can only use one device on it, so if you have an iPad and an iPhone, you have to choose one them to access the internet with.
5) The breakfast is boring.
6) We think that we paid about 20% more than what we should have paid, in comparison to the facilities and the service we got. So it's not value for money.
7) The location is excellent if you like to stay in Al-Hamra area.
8) The employees are friendly.
9) The executive rooms are nice and well-equipped.
10) The lobby is small and always has bunch of people smoking, so it always smelled like smoke (try to walk fast when passing through it, if you hate the smell of smoke :-) ).

Room Tip: I would recommend an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alooshbadoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

A last minute 2 night stay and I wish I could have stayed longer. Very clean and efficient with friendly and helpful staff and lthe hotel had lots of character, despite the modern feel. Good value with very large selection of food in the buffet breakfast and the evening meals I had were extremely good. Usual business facilities and easy internet setup etc were appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinInWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel for three nights. The location is ideal on Hamra Street. The breakfast was good and alway plentiful. The rooms are modern with good quality furniture and comfortable beds. The bathroom was amazing with the most deluxe shower - though not overly water efficient. I was concerned about booking a car though reception after earlier comments - but it was excellent and competitively priced for our trip to Baalbeck which is highly recommended. Overall a great hotel in Hamra which looked the most lively of the surburbs we saw on our walking trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 803 and 804 which was not overly cheap but ideal for family of four with a commun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcavalier, Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for have chosen Hotel Cavalier as your choice of Accommodation in Beirut.
I would also like to thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer feedback and Your positive comments onTrip Advisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward for your future visit.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We originally wanted to stay in the sister hotel, 35 Rooms, since it seemed to be a little more funky/have more character but unfortunately they were fully booked so this seemed like a good next-best option.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the location is excellent. They had quite a modern and chic feel, though nothing extraordinary - something like 35 Rooms would have been more special but the Cavalier was still nice-looking. I suppose the Cavalier is like the more sophisticated, demure older sister of the funky and hip 35 Rooms! Both very nice, just different.

The staff could have been a little more warm and friendly, but as we'd just come from a hotel in Byblos that felt family-run and much warmer staff that's probably why the service felt a bit stark in comparison. It's not a warm family-run feeling, but they're polite and civil and helpful when you ask questions or for help booking things like taxis, which was enough for us!

Overall it fulfilled all of our needs, we enjoyed staying here, and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank partypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#25 of 114 in Beirut
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
WH Hotel
WH Hotel
#43 of 114 in Beirut
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Q Hotel
Q Hotel
#49 of 114 in Beirut
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
35 Rooms
35 Rooms
#37 of 114 in Beirut
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#42 of 114 in Beirut
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: Abdel Baki Street | Hamra, Beirut 9452, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Beirut
#23 Business Hotel in Beirut
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavalier Hotel , is a 4 star Hotel located in Hamra Street,the heart of Beirut,where travelers can enjoy a variety of shopping places,restaurants,pubs till late night and get back to a newly furnished rooms with high standards of comfort and facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing