We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sama Al Wasil Camp”
Review of Sama Al Wasil Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat Governorate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sama Al Wasil Camp
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great place, good food, Nice staff, Camel rides are excellent, cool dune bashing, nice campfires and great dessert stories, very good place for kids to play, the location is also lovely, enjoyable sunrise and sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 36Bev999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Extraordinarily friendly staff, very good service and good facilities. The staff was caring 24hours and we were surprised about the good food (always fresh!). Thanks to several signs, it was very easy to find in the desert. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbarapaslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip to Oman. A warm welcome, helpful and attentive staff and a wonderful location combine to make this an enjoyable place to spend a day or two. Climbing to the top of the dunes to watch the sunset is a great way to end the day. The bar-b-que/buffet dinner was delicious, with attention to detail and live music adding to the experience. Mr. Abdullah is a wonderful host, and shares his enthusiasm for astronomy and his telescope with the guests. The chalets are spacious and clean, with comfortable beds. There's plenty to keep you busy, whether you prefer camels or quads. I hope you'll enjoy your stay here as much as we did!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IvoGeerinckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have been almsot in most of the camps in Sharqiya Sands, comparing with other camps,Sama Al Wasil is the best (there are 2 camps with higher standards but the cost is more than double). What you get in this camp, considering the far location in the middle of the desert is very resonable with what you pay. Clean rooms, very good beds and blankets, hot water, nice food in a very nice traditional open large tent. The most thing I liked in this camp is the traditional setting area in front of each room, traditional low candle light and the floor is soft mattres, if someone would like to spend the night in the open air, he just needs to grap the pillow and the blanket and sleep on it. Also, there is a very large setting area in the middle where there are water, softdrinks, coffee and tea and fruit such as orange and banana are free as well as there are very good quality of Omani dates and coffee. I felt very comfortable in the place and I like it a lot. It will be my place to camp with my family whenever I go to Sharqiyah Sands.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahmedbunourah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Undoubtely as of now this place offers exceptional value for your money. There are many desert camps at Wahiba Sands. But this is one is defnitely your money's worth

Possitive-
1) Nice rooms with good decor.
2) The attached toilets are clean and mordern.
3) Common area and the ambience is excellent
4) Food is resonable
5) Neat comfartble bedding
6) Pleanty of equipment for kids to entertain themselves
7) Reading area, Table Tenis table, Relaxing area
8) Arabic majlis in front of each room- Making it an eveing to remeber
9) Lot of buggies on hire at a reasobale cost
10) Service is excellent
11) Before the generator goes off past 10 I guess they provide you with a electric led lamp.

Negitives-
1) Choice on food is a bit less
2) You need to have a early dinner or else there will be nothing left!
3) No swiming pool anymore
4) Total area in the room is too small , same with the toilets

I would defnitley return here again for all my wahiba trips. It was a Zubair ( major real estate entity in Muscat) run property earlier hence they have maintained a high standard. The rates of this place was very high until 2 years back. Now with the new management you get the old stuff at 1/3rd the price! Which makes it exceptional value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonySimhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GianPioltello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jürgen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat Governorate
85.3 mi away
Desert Nights Camp
105.9 mi away
1000 Nights Camp
1000 Nights Camp
#2 of 8 in Wahiba Sands
471 reviews
85.8 mi away
Arabian Oryx Camp
Arabian Oryx Camp
#3 of 8 in Wahiba Sands
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sama al Wasil Desert Camp
98.8 mi away
Safari Desert Camp
Safari Desert Camp
#4 of 8 in Wahiba Sands
79 reviews
88.1 mi away
Desert Retreat Camp
Desert Retreat Camp
#1 of 1 in Ghuwayfat al Habb
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sama Al Wasil Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sama Al Wasil Camp

Address: Muscat PC 133, Sultanate of Oman, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Muscat Governorate
Price Range: £99 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Sama Al Wasil Camp Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing