We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, relaxing, welcoming place”
Review of Nomad Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat Governorate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Guest House
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great service, relaxing, welcoming place”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This place was exactly what I wanted when my family of 5 spent three nights in Muscat in late March. We were headed to Dubai for a week just after Oman, and so I didn't want to blow the budget on Oman, but also didn't want to sacrifice a quality experience. This place was exactly what we needed. Lorna, Chris and everyone at the guest house are what made this the perfect stay. They are what set this place apart from other places. The service, the friendly welcome, the helpfulness, you instantly feel at home. This isn't a luxury place, but plenty nice. All five of us slept in one good sized room, one double bed, one single and two bunks. It was perfect! Bathroom was very nice, modern and spacious. The A/C was great, as was the TV, mini-bar, WiFi. The lounge on the roof with tables, fountains and plenty of places to pull up a book and relax was very enjoyable. The lounge inside on the ground floor with breakfast, a billiards table, books, and a fish tank was a great place to enjoy breakfast with other friendly travellers, chat with Lorna and company, play some pool and just unwind. Breakfast each day was ample and fresh. We also enjoyed a very nice dinner, that we arranged only two hours beforehand. Great fish, and very friendly service and attitude even though we gave such short notice (this is not a full service restaurant, but they offer meals with advance notice). The tours arranged by the guest house, one of Muscat city the first day, and the other dolphin watching and snorkelling the second day, were both perfect. Very nicely done and exactly what we were hoping to get out of our short time in Oman. Lorna and team were so flexible and helpful to us. I could name many points, but when picking us up from the day at sea tour, we noted we were hungry, she very graciously offered to wait for us while we dined at the harborside restaurant (which was excellent, by the way). The kids swam in the pool there, we had a great lunch, and when we were done Lorna drove us back to the guesthouse. This isn't in the heart of Muscat, so you either need a car, or plan to use taxi service, or the hotel as your taxi getting around (small charge), which is what we did. I loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
44
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I wasn’t sure if we should have splashed out on an expensive hotel but as soon as we arrived I was happy with our choice. Our en suite room was comfortable and you really feel at home – Lorna and Rosemarie are friendly and helpful and the lounge and roof top areas are great places to hang out and relax. Breakfast is very good and there are nice, local restaurants within easy walking distance for dinner. The beach is nearby for an evening stroll watching the fishermen. We hired a car and Lorna took us to the airport to pick it up. Chris booked us the desert camp which saved us the hassle. Overall, definitely recommend this place for those who want a good value, easy going place where they can feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Normally I would fill this in after my stay but I wanted to share with all as soon as possible how welcoming and accommodating Lorna, Chris, Rose and their team are here at the guest house where I am currently staying! There is an array of room sizes, beds to choose from with the option of breakfast in the morning. The rooms are cleaned every day by the happy team. They also offer adventures to participate in during your stay here from Desert tours to game fishing dependant on your preference (Nomad Tours). Just ask and they are more than happy to help, I think it is more to do with what they enjoy spending their time doing more than anything else :)

Room Tip: It isn't in the heart of the centre and there are not local running buses which is standard here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Nomad Guesthouse is a favourite stop in Muscat. I don't come for the luxury hotels, grand as they are, and Nomad meets all my needs. The staff are always friendly and welcoming, the breakfast is on time and there's enough to feed a small army with a great variety of food.

I've stayed in e suited and non-e suited rooms and Nomad always fits the bill for what I want. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the rooftop Garden is great for BBQ, dinner, drinks or work. It's a real home away from home that I'll come back to again and again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank citisurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Traveling from Canada to Oman was an exciting adventure and each day brought new experiences and amazing sights; all so different from what we are used to. But one thing never changed and that was the welcoming smiles of Pinky, Hilal and Vicky at Nomad Guest House 2, We discovered that Oman is a country of amazing contrasts but universally their people are genuine and hospitable. From our first communication with Chris at Nomad Guest House 1 we knew we had found a special place. As Nomad 1 was already full, Chris recommended their sister guest house, Nomad 2. Before I knew it I was in communication with Pinky who thoroughly and cheerfully answered all my questions. Pinky is not only efficient, she manages every detail with a smile and is so helpful with planning and choosing where to go and what to do. She has wonderful ideas, some we knew nothing about even though we had researched the area thoroughly. Pinky also keeps in mind the most economical way to do things. She arranged for a wonderful driver for us for a couple of days - a very fine gentleman who was an experienced safe driver. Muscat is a large city with so many things to see, if you don't have a car having a guide was a wonderful choice for us. Pinky also arranged for a rental for a day trip. Nothing was too much for her to do. We felt like we had made some very good friends when we left. The guest house is kept spotless and our room was very comfortable, especially the bed! Furnishings are new and very tasteful. The breakfasts were healthy and good. We really enjoyed our evenings on the rooftop terrace. Their are some very good restaurants within walking distance. We also really appreciated our chats with Chris and Lorna and Rose at Nomad 1 who also provided us with great advice. This is a wonderful place to stay in Muscat, economically friendly and people friendly! Thanks from Lynn and Rick in Calgary, Canada!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the third floor which had a sitting area and an outside terrace to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynskiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Nomad. The guesthouse is in a quiet residential area, a short drive from Muttrah, and other city sights, and within walking distance of restaurants and the beach.

Great value for money – the bedroom was clean, cool and spacious. Excellent breakfasts set us up for each day and Chris was incredibly helpful in organising airport transfers, car hire and recommending day trips. He clearly has a love of the country and in-depth knowledge.

We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelazysundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 days at Nomad Guest House and it exceeded all expectations. If you are looking for a real home from home this is the place to go. Nothing is too much trouble for Lorna,Chris and Rose Marie and they really make you feel part of the family.
If you want to get out and about ask them to arrange a trip for you with Salim, a real character.
Great hospitality and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashbury14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat Governorate hotels
1.8 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.6 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
11.5 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 55 in Muscat
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 55 in Muscat
1,414 reviews
6.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Guest House

Property: Nomad Guest House
Address: 4468 | Athaiba, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat Governorate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomad Guest House offers luxury accommodation at a fraction of 5 Star Hotel prices. Standard en-suite Double rooms are 130 USD a night and Superior rooms are 156 USD a night The Guest House is located on the airport side of Muscat in Athaiba. It is only a 15 minute drive from the airport. The beautiful Athaiba beach is only a 15 minute walk away. All rooms have fridge, coffee & tea making facilities and free to air satellite TV. Free WiFi in all rooms and on the roof terrace The Guest House is very spacious and beautifully furnished. It is laid out to create a comfortable and friendly atmosphere where fellow Nomad travelers can swap stories of the day's adventures and plan for tomorrow's. Self catering facilities are available to all our guests A completely free dolphin watching and snorkeling trip is offered to anyone staying 5 nights or more The Guest House operates a strict no smoking policy within the guest house itself. Land and sea Tours can be booked through Nomad Tours also rent a car and rental of camping equipment. See our web site ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nomad Guest House Hotel Muscat Governorate
Nomad Guest House Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing