We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another 5 star review!”
Review of Nomad Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat Governorate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Guest House
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Nomad, and enjoyed every minute. Our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable, breakfast was an ample buffet, and the best part was exchanging stories with other guests on the roof terrace. There are some good restaurants within walking distance, and Sultan Qaboos mosque is a 5 minute drive.
Wifi is free, good downstairs, but patchy on the roof.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Nomad Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

A great place to stay in Muscat. Highly recommended. A home away from home.

Not only was the guest house perfect for our needs, Chris and Lorna helped us to set up all of our vacation activities: (bedouin camp & camel safari, as well as fishing, snorkelling, diving and dolphin watching and beach bumming!)

On top of that, Lorna arranged for the rental car to be dropped off the car at the house, so no waiting endlessly at the airport.

The guest house is friendly, quiet, clean, serves a fantastic breakfast, large rooms, come and go as you please. Large rooms, marble floors, good firm beds, clean bacthrooms with good shower and bath. Rooftop garden is a plus for chilling in the evening.

On the first evening we were too tired to go out for a meal - Lorna cooked us up a stir fry and soup so we could just 'sag back' and recover from our desert trip.

Located about 30 minutes drive from old muscat and 10 from the airport, the location was perfect for us.

All in all, we couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I have visited Muscat three times and have stayed mostly in 5-star resorts. On the latter part of our most recent trip we chose to try out the Nomad Guest House and we could not have been more pleased. First, and most importantly, is the staff. EXCELLENT! I felt completely at ease, well taken care of and pampered by Rosemary and Lorna. They anticipated our every need and took care of any request promptly, efficiently and always with a smile. Whether it was arranging transport, tours or just providing information about the area, everything was handled with the utmost care and professionalism. The property is well located, near to malls, beaches and the major touristic sites.

We stayed in the Badger Room on the top floor, which was large and well appointed and directly across the hall from the rooftop garden. We had a large flat screen TV with lots of channels, our own hot and cold water cooler AND bottled water, coffee and tea, a refrigerator with a little freezer, plenty of seating, electrical outlets galore with adaptors, huge en-suite bathroom and much more. It was more like a suite than a room and very comfy to just hang out in if you want some private time. The room is very quiet. We never heard a peep from outside the room.

The self-serve breakfast included was quite good, with plenty of choices and always included lots of fresh fruit. Rosemary makes a great cup of coffee, too; always something that I really appreciate. We chose to eat at the Nomad one evening when a rooftop barbecue was offered. Lorna had chicken, two types of fresh fish, salads and rice and a choice of beverages, all very well prepared in massive quantities, all you could eat (and more, really) for a bargain price. They'll provide a picnic lunch or snacks if you want them for a day trip, too.

There are a number of restaurants in the area that you can walk to and a large supermarket just down the road a bit. We didn't have a car on this trip but walked to dinner one night and had Rosemary arrange taxis for us for other outings. Next time we'll probably rent a car but it was perfectly OK without one, too.

OH yes.... the entire property is immaculate! From the rooftop garden (which is a lovely place to sit and relax) to the rooms, kitchen and out to the front entry.... clean, tidy and very appealing.

As some of the other reviewers noted, Muscat can be very pricey. Staying at the Nomad Guest House you'll receive 5-star service at a fraction of the price. We found the tour packages to be much more affordable than those offered through the hotels. We took a dolphin watch and snorkel tour which included pick and drop off back to Nomad. The boat was very nice, clean and the staff very professional. We had a great experience.

I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Muscat.

Room Tip: We loved the Badger room: Quiet, shaded from the sun, good A/C, spacious, well appointed.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxbarbiexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed here several times, each time the place gets better. Chris and his wife run a stunning property with excellent facilities. I have on many occasions suggested that family and friends go over for a relaxing and enjoyable break. Well worth the trip and excellent value for money for such a high quality holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonml1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Well I dont really know where to start. This accomadation is more like a home from home. Lorna and Rose (unfortunately Chris was away on business so i didnt get to meet him) made me feel like one of the family whilst i was staying here.
You have the choice of rooms all beautifully decorated and more importantly all spotlessly clean.
The upstairs roof terrace has been newly refurbished and its truely beautiful offering a small haven of paradise, it also has a BBQ so offers a great social place to sit.
The breakfasts offer a range of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, eggs and always a warm option too...i recommend the pancakes!! You also have tea/coffee fresh juice etc. If there is anything specific you want i am more than sure they will cater for you.
With Lorna & Rose you just have to ask and they will go above and beyond to ensure you are happy and that your stay is a good one.
If you are staying slightly longer you can always make use of the kitchen facilities too or just in walking distance there is a good arabian fish restaurant and a leabanese restaurant. I never got to try the Iran one....
Nomad guest house also offer a service Nomad Tours so if you want help arranging site seeing etc just ask either before arrival or whilst you stay as i say they will help with anything.
There is a pool table in the guest house too which i enjoyed a pool contest with Rose and i have left being the champion!!
So to conclude i highly recommend this accomadation and i would like thank them for my pleasurable stay and i hope to see them again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahsizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Accommodation in Muscat is generally on the expensive side, so we were lucky to come across this gem, which is not only a great place to stay but also reasonably priced. The rooms were well furnished and spotlessly clean. The guest house is located a five minute drive from the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is absolutely stunning architecturally and well worth a visit. There are quite a few nice restaurants nearby (we particularly enjoyed Irani House) as well as a large supermarket. There is beautiful roof terrace, which is ideal for relaxing or watching the sunset. Chris and team are extremely friendly helpful and gave us some good pointers for the rest of our trip. Oh, and they do a great breakfast too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeTrav1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I normally do not write reviews. This is different. What a great place, what wonderful hospitality. We spent 3 nites in Nomad quest house and 2 nites in Pinky's place (Nomad 2) both outstanding.
This is hospitality at its very best. Thank you all for a most enjoyable time!!
Oman is a very welcoming place with lots of charm and elegance. Enjoy the restaurants nearby in particular the Lebanese place, great fresh fish!! See you next year!!!

Room Tip: We had a nice, well appointed room on the top floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat Governorate hotels
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,457 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.2 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
6.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 59 in Muscat
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Guest House

Address: 4468 | Athaiba, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat Governorate
Price Range: £48 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomad Guest House offers luxury accommodation at a fraction of 5 Star Hotel prices. Standard en-suite Double rooms are 130 USD a night and Superior rooms are 156 USD a night The Guest House is located on the airport side of Muscat in Athaiba. It is only a 15 minute drive from the airport. The beautiful Athaiba beach is only a 15 minute walk away. All rooms have fridge, coffee & tea making facilities and free to air satellite TV. Free WiFi in all rooms and on the roof terrace The Guest House is very spacious and beautifully furnished. It is laid out to create a comfortable and friendly atmosphere where fellow Nomad travelers can swap stories of the day's adventures and plan for tomorrow's. Self catering facilities are available to all our guests A completely free dolphin watching and snorkeling trip is offered to anyone staying 5 nights or more The Guest House operates a strict no smoking policy within the guest house itself. Land and sea Tours can be booked through Nomad Tours also rent a car and rental of camping equipment. See our web site ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nomad Guest House Hotel Muscat Governorate
Nomad Guest House Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing