We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Nomad Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat Governorate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomad Guest House
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The rooms were big and the breakfast great. We also enjoyed the roof terrace for an evening beer. However I wouldn't stay here again without a car (Muscat is very spread out and this is suburbia). The Arabian Fish Restaurant (walking distance) is a God-send - well recommended. Overall I thought it was a touch expensive for what you got, which is basically a family home without facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
43
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at Nomad Guest House for 1.5 weeks visiting my nephew who was staying there. I shared my nephews room which was plenty big enough being very spacious and had a large shower room. I couldn't hope to stay in a more friendly and helpful place, Lorna and Rose were fantastic and great cooks as well. We had caught some fish and they prepared and barbecued them on the rooftop terrace for a very nice meal in good company. If I am back in Oman why would I go anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadMuscat, Manager at Nomad Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi George

It was great to host you as our friends and to help you arrange your desert tour. We will send on your purse ASAP. {lease come back to Oman with you friends, as you know we have been verbally instructed by the Ministry of Tourism that we can only offer accommodation to our friends and those booking tours with us. Thanks for the wonderful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Noida, India
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nomad Guest House was my Home for nearly 5 years,,, Great Hosts Laurna & Chris and the Little angle Rose Mary!
I Was given the title of "NORMAD MAHARAJA" :-) on the eve of my departure. Enjoyed the wonderful guest company some nice guys ever met in my life from all walks of life!
God bless you all...
Thank you for your support and affection!
Warm Regards.
Rajesh Khanna
India

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maharaja2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadMuscat, Owner at Nomad Guest House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Rajesh

Thank you for your wonderful review

You were part of the Nomad Gang and your help in entertaining our Guests put us where we are as The Best !!

Your amazing generosity to take so many guests to the PDO club and further afield was so much appreciated by all

you have left a hole at the guest House which is difficult to fill

And as the only NORMAD MAHARAJA you are always very welcome back

We wish you and your family all the very best in the next chapter of your life

Chris Lorna and Rosemarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for two nights at Nomad Guest House upon our arrival in Muscat on 13th December and thoroughly enjoyed it. Friendly owners and staff, very comfortable room and great roof top garden with excellent sunrise and sunset views. Flexible service, good restaurant advice and help with arranging taxi transport. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy188666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a massive family run house with luxury rooms and bathrooms and a rooftop with all manner of plants terracing and sunbeds to make guests feel at home. The whole place is spotless. What it isn't is a massive hotel with view over the sea, but if you're happy with that then you're getting a bit of understated luxury for the fraction of an upmarket hotel chain.

You also get the benefit of the perfect place to meet other travelers, but without having them in your face the whole time like a hostel!

This was the most relaxing four days of my 6-week trip, having a beer in the roof garden in the sun between exploring the city. The weekly BBQ is an added bonus - beers and far too much food.

The owner, Chris, has done a whole range of outdoor pursuits and is the perfect sounding-board for a range of trips...especially for those who might not trust a local agent to choose the best thing for you rather than most profit for them!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadMuscat, Owner at Nomad Guest House, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi James

So many thanks for writing our 100 th Review and for making such nice comments. The Nomad Team wish to thank everyone who have written such fantastic reviews.

We operate on the principal that we are only as good as our last review!

Over the years we have meet some truly wonderful people at the nomad guest house and we have had lots of fun along the way. There is something about this guest house, it attracts the kind of people that we like to meet

Its also really nice to see people who have enjoyed our Land Tours with our Guides Salim Faisal and Suleiman posting reviews.

What a laugh Freda and Gerrard had on a 3 day tour with Salim. Gerard have you stopped laughing yet ? And what fun the Heiniös had with Faisal on another 3 day tour, they almost got washed away in a flooded wadi but still came back laughing. And Hans and Phom after Sulemain diligently looked after them for 5 days teamed up with Faisal to go for a camel ride in Barka. Phom how's your Bum ?

The Nomad Gang would like to wish a very merry Christmas to all our guests and a prosperous New Year .

We hope to see you all back here one day

The Nomad Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I just shortly would like to say to Nomad - Thanks YOU!
Our 3 days mini tour was super well organized- we had extremely lots of fun even the rainy weather was trying to end all our plans and last but not least - Nomad is lucky when They have people like Faisal working for Them - we had some much fun th him and we learned a lot.
The Quest house terrace was just super

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be big so no special favours
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived at the guest house to a very warm welcome. We were immediately invited onto the roof terrace and included in the "family" of guests, sharing a BBQ, the international "craich" and bonhomie. Our room was extremely comfortable and well serviced with a lovely en-suite bathroom. We had just done their three day tour - well that was wonderful. Salim, our excellent guide, introduced us to the wonders of Oman , forts, wadis, turtles, (actually laying their eggs as we watched!), sink holes and of course the desert sunset, followed by a night at the desert camp. The whole trip was informative and great fun. Lorna and Chris with their personal touch get it all just right!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat Governorate hotels
1.8 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
7.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#8 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
6.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Guest House

Property: Nomad Guest House
Address: 4468 | Athaiba, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat Governorate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomad Guest House offers luxury accommodation at a fraction of 5 Star Hotel prices. Standard en-suite Double rooms are 130 USD a night and Superior rooms are 156 USD a night The Guest House is located on the airport side of Muscat in Athaiba. It is only a 15 minute drive from the airport. The beautiful Athaiba beach is only a 15 minute walk away. All rooms have fridge, coffee & tea making facilities and free to air satellite TV. Free WiFi in all rooms and on the roof terrace The Guest House is very spacious and beautifully furnished. It is laid out to create a comfortable and friendly atmosphere where fellow Nomad travelers can swap stories of the day's adventures and plan for tomorrow's. Self catering facilities are available to all our guests A completely free dolphin watching and snorkeling trip is offered to anyone staying 5 nights or more The Guest House operates a strict no smoking policy within the guest house itself. Land and sea Tours can be booked through Nomad Tours also rent a car and rental of camping equipment. See our web site ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nomad Guest House Hotel Muscat Governorate
Nomad Guest House Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing