We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and grat breakfasts”
Review of D'Arcy's Kitchen

D'Arcy's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After a nice walk on the beach on a breezy day don't forget to pass by D'Arcy's Kitchen. You will be enchanted by our cottage-style interior with its bright & cheerful yellows and blues, folksy decorations and homely gingham seating. The pleasant, and always smiling staff, in their cute country-style outfits, will surround you with warmth and friendliness. As you begin sampling our freshly prepared beverages and wholesome food offerings, you will slowly begin to realize why D'Arcy's holds such a unique place in the hearts & minds of Muscat residents; and why it has twice won the much coveted "Best Cafe Award" since opening its first branch in 1997 in the Shatti Al Qurum beach area. If you're in the mood for a more tranquil experience why not visit our second branch, which is located in a residential area and offers a slightly different and more relaxing experience. With its green & leafy outdoor "English Garden" patios it is reminiscent of pleasant summer living in country villages all over Europe. Over the years D'Arcy's has managed to satisfy its diverse multinational and multicultural customer base by providing a vast selection of items from coffees to juices, from salads to sandwiches, from soups to main dishes, from snacks to desserts. Some of our longtime favorites include our delicious D'Arcy's Breakfast with coffee and juice, refreshing Lime & Mint crushed iced drink, Caesar and Avocado Salads, Traditional Lamb stew, Homemade pies, Tuna and Coronation sandwiches, our famous Steak, Fish & Chips, Aromatic Marinated Chicken, Carrot cake and Sticky Toffee Pudding. Everyone always tells us how at home they feel in D'Arcy's. Whether they're alone, with friends or with the family they always find that spending time at D'Arcy's is both relaxing and rejuvenating. So, give yourself a treat and enjoy a cup of the best cappuccino in town whist reading the latest magazines or having a nice chat with friends.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service and grat breakfasts”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The service isone of the best in Oman. The design and theme opens your appetite and their ice teas are great. The only downside is that you have to always pay in cash. No cards are accepted.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ghassan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'Arcy's K, General Manager at D'Arcy's Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Highly appreciate your positive feedback, hopefully we'll continue to bring you the best in food and services.

Sorry for the inconvenience. We have been accepting cards for over a year now, so drop in for soon for a delicious slice of our carrot cake to go with our homemade iced tea.

See you soon
Management Team of D'Arcy's Kitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    109
    24
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It Hit The Spot!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went to Darcy's kitchen today for a late late lunch. We chose to go to the Madinat al Sultan Qanboos branch (aka MQ to the locals).

We got there around 4 pm. The place was nice and quiet, its too hot to sit outside in the summer but I've been in the winter months and its delightful. I would recommend you come to the the MQ branch if you were looking for some peace and quiet, take a book, have a coffee, finish of some work...whatever you like.

The food and service was good. We were seated right away and given the menu, which is full of mouthwatering yummy homey food. It's your home away from home. The cream of chicken soup i had was outstanding! I mean for a homey type of place with homey type of food, it had just the right amount of chicken pieces, salt and pepper. Yes I'm a fussy eater.
The main dish we ordered was sufficient for two as we wanted to share, so don't worry about the helpings being too small. They are just the right size and delicious. Alternatively you could have a main all to yourself, either way you'll walk away with a full tummy and a big smile plastered on your face.

The service in general is not bad. I would say between average and good. Its not extra slow or extra fast. This depends on how busy they are (usually applicable to the Shatti branch).

There is another branch which is located in Satti al Qurum. This is not one of my favourites but do go as it is located in one of Shatti al Qurum's most popular areas. There is the beach which is literally a two minute walk so this is a plus and there is a mini walk way of restaurants on the opposite side to Darcy's. If you fancied a coffee before an early dinner with uninterrupted views of the sea then thats the place to be.
This Darcy's (Shatti) is also where some would consider one of the places to go to be seen. Everyone is out there especially in the winter months. An added benefit is that it is in fact part of a mall or mini mall if you like, so some shopping before dinner and after is definitely possible.

Wether your travelling in Muscat, Living here, or thinking of moving here. This little gem is definitely one place you should try out.

Enjoy!

Happy Travels ; )

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank That_Je_Ne_Sais_Quoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food in a Great Setting”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great homey food, in a beautiful setting. we had a table right under one of the trees in the mini garden. I had some creamy vegetable soup which was delightful followed by a juicy steak. the staff was very kind and helpful. definitely recommend to anyone in muscat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Feras A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
1 review
“Relaxing n cozy.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was with my family and we had a great time.the apple crumble and the carrot cake is great.MY daughter can't get over these two dessert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samara-200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“One of the best”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nothing is better than being in D'Arcy's kitchen specially for weekend breakfast. We always had Great moment there with friends and family. The cozy and relaxing atmosphere of this restaurant is amazing. The quality and presentation of their cousins never had any decrease. I think they should change the name of the restaurant to Your Sweet Home's Kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeinab_kahdouei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D'Arcy's Kitchen also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to D'Arcy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing