We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear......”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Park Hotel
Ranked #121 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

When I was booked into this hotel I checked the reviews on TripAdvisor as a matter of course.
All but one scored a maximum 2 stars. All but one were hyper-critical and frankly appalling. I thought there had to be some exaggeration there, as nowhere, surely, could be that bad.

I was wrong. It is.

The hotel advertises itself as 4 star. This in itself is a huge exaggeration – I would rate it at no more than 2, in a good mood.

My apartment with kitchenette had a string of faults, not least a total absence of crockery, cutlery and cookware. To operate the microwave you have to unplug the fridge (which has a broken catch on the fridge door). The sink tap was merely balanced on its fitting, not secured at all. The internet reception was terrible – in fact, I had no connectivity at all, either via wi-fi or via the twenty foot cable coiled up on the lounge area floor and running down from the kitchen ceiling. There were only 4 flimsy wire clothes hangers, the type that your shirts come back on from the dry cleaners, in the wardrobe, none of them strong enough on which to hang a suit. The bedside lamp has a (bent) European two-pin plug, despite the wall socket being a UK three-pin that was hidden behind the bedside chest of drawers in any case. In the bathroom, the glass shelf over the sink was so badly secured that it was in danger of falling off the wall, and hung down so badly the tap could not be properly operated for fear of breaking the shelf. I spent a half hour taking photos to pass on to the people who had made the booking for me, in support of the list of complaints I handed over next morning.

The rest of the complaints in earlier reviews are equally valid. With one or two exceptions, the hotel staff are surly and unhelpful, their faces tending to glaze over into an expressionless mask when you ask for something or make yet another complaint. The cleaners insist on turning on the air-con unit with the fan running at full blast and the temperature set at 15, so that the room is like an ice box when I get back from work. Every day I switch it all off to allow the place to warm up, every morning I leave a(nother) message at Reception asking that under no circumstances should the unit be switched back on. Every day I’m wasting my breath.

There is still building work going on. The roof terrace and pool is still a building site, complete with a huge pile of sand and a cement mixer. It also boasts a group of possibly deaf or illiterate labourers who start pounding on the site with heavy claw hammers at 6 a.m. Given that my room is directly underneath, this is (to say the least) annoying. I left messages about this with Reception, to no effect. On Wednesday, as I was doing so again, I noticed the builders standing by the cradle they use to winch themselves to the roof, watching and laughing. We had a full and frank exchange of views in which I requested they cease and desist their early starts, at least until 7:30. Another waste of breath: this morning (Thursday) the hammering started at 6:15. I think they were surprised when I stormed on to the roof in a pair of shorts yelling at them to stop…..but at least they did so.

I have asked every day to speak to the Duty Manager, who is supposed to work from 8:00 til 5:30 according to Reception. He has been conspicuous by his absence every day so far at 8:30 when I leave for work, but clearly is away on time as he’s never there when I get back at 5:45. He probably wouldn’t care either. It seems there is no evening or night duty manager – odd for a 4 star establishment, don’t you think?

To be fair, most of the problems have now been fixed after regular intervention by the bank where I’m working and, of course, constant contact with me: I can be like a dog with a bone when the mood takes me. The internet is still dead on wi-fi but works (mostly) via a re-fitted cable, and the plumbing and bathroom shelf are fixed. I have decent clothes hangers now, some crockery and cutlery (enough for two people allegedly), but since the hotel still refuses point blank to provide cooking gear most of it doesn’t get used – mainly cups, saucers and tea spoons that the cleaners kindly take away to wash up every day but never replace until I call Reception (again!) in the evening.

I’m supposed to be staying long-term, through to March probably, but in any event to the middle of November this trip. But frankly, I don’t think I want to.

Recommendation? Simple – do NOT choose this hotel. Unless, of course, you’re a masochist.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinBobPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    2
    12
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The worst service I have ever seen....

Good: are the rooms, beds and cleaning
Bad: any kind of service is bad this is including staff and supervisors.

There's one receptionist there you will be lucky if you meet here :///

Room Tip: City view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodi011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed b, Director of Sales at Le Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Thank you for your review , now things has been changed since the hotel was going through complete renovation operation .

2016 Hope every thing is better now , see new photos lately uploaded by hotel management .


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Doha hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Where do I start, room. Ok, no Internet, no cooking utensils, pots pans nothing. 3 rooms, 2 televisions and 3 different microwave ovens and all this in only 2 weeks. It is a lone walk from anywhere, the staff are not interested in assisting you. The hole/pool on the roof is a death trap, not that it's in use. The gym, well, this consists of a tredmill, 2 stationary bikes both broken, a multi gym that is not working due to all of the cables being entangled or broken. The cost of food is way to high and is tasteless. Stay well away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigeboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed b, Director of Sales at Le Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2016
Thank you for your review , now things has been change since the hotel was going through complete renovation operation .

Hope every thing is better now , see new photos lately uploaded by hotel management .


Best Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

upon arrival at this hotel. i was told that the room my company had booked was unavailable so i was downgraded 2 room types. after i had found my room, i noted that the airconditioning in the room was not working, the kitchenette taps were leaking, the TV did not work, the shower had no head on it. mould was around the bath tub, the matress was old and the springs had gone, there was no internet, all but 1 lightbulb had blown, the microwave was broken and my view was of another building 5m way.

although i complained about these items, every morning, and every evening for 5 days. still nothing was done. As a business traveller, i was in need of an Iron for my Shirts and trousers etc. again, after 5 days of asking still no sign. i had to request crockery and cutlery to be brought to my room as there wasn't even a glass in the room. Even the swimming pool was empty, though they advertise it as being open. although the hallways smell of garbage as the rubbish shoots are broken.

my complaints were dealt with with tuts and groans, even the manager say he couldnt be bothered to solve the issues. This is the most poorly staffed, poorly operated hotel i have ever heard of. they class themsleves as a 4* hotel. however i would call derelict.

My 3 month stay at this hotel lasted 6 days. the worst 6 days of my life...!!!

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel, it should be knocked down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doha, qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Was really quite far from anywhere. Staff weren't very friendly and seemed to assune you'd know pretty important things like how internet worked by telepathy. The pool was again out of order which since this was the one reason I chose this pissed me off before I'd even started. In this sense I also felt a bit ripped off as the Crystal Palace hotel is much cheaper and looks exactly the same. The frequency with which this pool is out of order means I would accuse them of false advertising and am going to try to get some money back..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claredoherty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

Most of Doha seems like a construction site, and this hotel is no exception. If I were local, drove their with my family and a car full of self-catering appliances, and stayed for a fortnight, it would have been possible to make the most of it. To explain; large rooms, well furnished, but devoid of ANY utencils. Good size kitchen area with microwave, large fridge, cooker, etc. but not a teaspoon, cup, plate or pan in the room. Bathroom was musty and all the fittings loose. Huge empty display cabinets in the sitting room. Poor TV connections. WiFi and even mobile phone signals only in certain locations; literally in the corner of the bedroom. Huge wardrobes: no coathangers. I think the hotel had recently changed it's name, because the soap and towels all seemed to be labelled as coming from somewhere else. Room service was a complete rip-off. The staff had no initiative, to the point of being ineffective. All in all, a disappointment and quite hard work. If I had to go back, I'd be prepared, and hope this review forewarns others.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

I arrived today for a 2 day stay. I had heard it was a fairly new hotel from a friend of mine. The hotel is fine. The rooms are clean and spacious and have comfortable furniture. They had a nice digital thermostat. There was a kitchen, but no dishes or utensils. The bed was a bit of a letdown. Overall the room would have been fine and above expectations if it were not the following:

The issues started when I first called to book the room. I explained that I qualified for a discounted rate and they agreed. They could not reserve the room on the phone. They asked me to go to bookings.com and book the room. I did, but the website never gave me the option to get the discounted rate. When I checked in and asked about it, they acted like they didn't know what I was talking about, even though I had a copy of an e-mail from the hotel with that rate quoted.

They had booked me a room with a single large bed. When I got here, I was told they did not have that room and they put me in a room with two small beds. They offered to move me the next day. I hate the thought of having to pack back up and move less than 24 hours after the initial check in.

They were out of keys! This really pissed me off. They let me in the room and told me they'd bring me a key later. I waited for about 30 minutes and then I left for dinner. When I got back, they had changed shifts and the night shift didn't have a clue what I was talking about. They finally let me back in the room (still no keys). Now I feel like a prisoner in the room. I can't even go get a bottle of water or a bite to eat without having to go down to the lobby and beg to be let back in my own room. The last word was that I'd get a key sometime tomorrow.

There was nothing in the room advising you how to connect to the internet. The first call to the front desk led me to believe the only option was wireless. I could barely pick up a wireless signal, and then only in the kitchen. A few hours later when I called to complain, they told me there was a wall jack and if I had my own LAN cable, I could connect to the internet. They could not tell me where this jack was. I found it next to the phone jack and it worked fine.

The reception on the TV was very poor to the point of you not wanting to watch it. This was not corrected.

The refrigerator was barely cool.

The pool was closed for repair.

The staff was nice but they were not able to solve any of my issues. If time had allowed, I'd had just left and found somewhere else. I'm on a very tight schedule, so I stuck with what I got.

The sad part is, for the money, it could be a great little place. It's next door to a larger and nicer hotel that has some good restaurants. As it stands, I'll likely not return and I'll advise others to look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — internet / service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Sadd Suites
Al Sadd Suites
#108 of 131 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avenue, A Murwab Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
#41 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gulf Paradise Hotel
Gulf Paradise Hotel
#71 of 131 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Regency Doha
2.3 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#68 of 131 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Park Hotel

Property: Le Park Hotel
Address: Jawaan St, Al Sadd, Doha 24835, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel in Doha’s Al-Sadd district provides homelike suites with wood furniture and leather seating. A coffee shop and business centre are available as well as room service. Le Park’s suites feature tiled or marble floors and plenty of wardrobe space. Each air-conditioned apartment is fitted with satellite TV and a safe. Guests can work out in the available Le Park’s gym. The hotel’s restaurant serves delectable dishes from around the world. The cafe of the Le Park serves hot and cold beverages all day. The hotel provides laptop computers and projectors on request for a fee. It also offers an entertainment room. Le Park Hotel is about 18 km from New Doha International Airport and just 300 meters from Lulu Center Shopping Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Park Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing