We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy and friendly”
Review of Somerset West Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset West Bay
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Family of four staying for 1 month in a 2 br premier. We had plenty of room; comfortable. Free cable-only internet in room but staff lent us a wifi router and multiple logins (thanks!). Kitchen had most everything including colander and large ss saucepans so we could cook pasta. Could do with a coffee plunger and decent can opener.
Staff were very friendly and helpful; consistently. Breakfast buffet at The American Grill was included in the tariff - good selection of cold and hot food starting from 06:00. Great to have cars available at reasonable rates from the front desk. We seldom had to wait. Housekeeping weren't always attentive; refilling toilet rolls was hit and miss.
Small kids playroom was close by the restaurant so could keep and eye on them over coffee. Indoor pool was vey noisy under the domed roof.
Overall - a comfortable stay. We would recommend for families or business.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Geoff_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Enjoyed a hot cheese omelette every morning. Awesome.

With just my wife and myself, we had much more space than we needed, with a fully furnished kitchen, 3 TVs, a DVD player, 2 bedrooms (1 king and 2 doubles), and 3 Internet hookups. We had everything we needed down to hangers, toaster, and our own washer in the room.

It is a decently short walk to City Center Carrefour for groceries if you don't have a car, although hauling water home on foot on top of groceries can be something of a pain.

The good thing about being farther north in West Bay is that it was usually quiet--although there are construction projects that seem to be just beginning.

I am a little hard-pressed to find something to complain about except to say that Wifi is not free (?) and the "DVD library" as advertised is something of a joke...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shockley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

the hotel is located in the center and very close to shopping mall and other nice hotels
its very good for families

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ata_Elyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The rooms are very spacious but the hotel is a bit jaded and frayed around the edges,

Desperately needs a make-over but fairly good value for money, The worst thing is the machine over the road, breaking rocks for hour after hour during the night. Otherwise the location is fine

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

While this is not a luxurious experience, for a long-term stay in Doha I would highly recommend Somerset West Bay. I stayed here for 6 months last year on a work assignment. It was clean, comfortable, everything worked right, the view was great as was the location. Also, the staff was so friendly, helpful and professional. I really had no problems staying here.

Room Tip: Definitely take a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had the three bedroom suite and that was very spacious. When you look at the details, the kitchen is nowhere near pretty for use, and the bathrooms/ toilets have broken parts. For example the sink was shaking if you touched it, and leaking water. For the price paid, it was too much I think.

If you do not need all the space, head for Kempinski behind as they both are in a quiet area and close to everything in tiny Doha.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I spent 6 weeks in Doha in Jan 2011, and found the Somerset to be a very good apartment. There is not a great deal in Doha at present and this block is of very good quality. The included breakfast is adequate, not over the top with choice, but sufficient, and of good quality, none the less.

The apartments themselves are spacious, clean, well furnished. Everything worked well and the room attendants provided excellent service. WiFi was very good. The gym downstairs is well equipped for most people. The equipment is in good condition.

It is conveniently located next to the W Hotel, which is good for nightlife.

Overall, I would recommend the Somerset in Doha and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 27mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha
0.1 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.1 mi away
Governor West Bay Suites And Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Premium West Bay Doha
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
3.6 mi away
Al Safa Royal Suites Luxury Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset West Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset West Bay

Address: Diplomatic Area, Doha 26026, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Doha
#58 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: £171 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset West Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Doha's Diplomatic Area at the north end of picturesque Corniche, Somerset West Bay is nestled among key ministry headquarters, embassies and consulates. Within walking distance is City Center Doha mall, one of Doha's best known shopping and entertainment destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset West Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset West Bay Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing