We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and VERY noisy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

THere are literally 2 sides to this hotel. If you happen to be on the quiet, rear side of the hotel, you can enjoy comfortable accommodations, good location within walking distance of the shopping mall, good service, good food, and friendly staff. If you happen to be on the front end of the hotel, be prepared for very late-night, noisy, annoying and intrusive partying at the 2nd floor night club. We stayed at both sides, and the 3-star is the average of our 2 stays. My strong advice: stay on the back side and you will enjoy this quality hotel. If you stay in the front rooms, even on a high floor, be prepared for noise and intrusive party goers especially on Wednesdays and Thursdays evenings.

Room Tip: The front rooms especially close to the elevators can be VERY noisy when the night club is in full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocketleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Hello Rocketleech,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review W Doha. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, the food and the service provided by out Talents. However, I was disappointed to hear that you had challenges with regards to the noise. The hotel does have a successful nightlife, however we do our best in order to minimize that impact on our guests. Your review does, however, provide us with some great feedback and we will re-look at how we manage that.

Rest assured we place a very high standard on the level of service that we offer our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha.

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

As usually the W-s....whenever whatever....great staff....great rooms and very good restaurant...from Spice Market to the Italian Market...where you can get a spicy Tom yum soup or a great burger...
Rooms are spacious and very comfy beds...Wednesday or Thurday a bit packed but usually very nice vibe around.
The spa is great with Bliss products!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hello skfmac,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our restaurants, rooms and our Whatever/Whenever service! It is a great pleasure for us to hear that our guests had such an enjoyable all around W Doha experience!

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Doha!

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lately we had an IFRS refresher training withy Ernst & Young for 2 days where I found the W hotel on the highest level and all the staff are cheerful pleasant and helpful.
The business lunch was quite good with variety of food and cuisines, The coffee break were will organized and with high quality of soft drinks and cookies.
I would like to mention Ms. Omyama Al Gareh whom was responsible of the venue management , she saved no efforts to help us in order to enjoy and benefit from the seminar to the maximum, The lady act professionally and facilitate all obisticals and inquiries.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALGHALY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hello ALGHALY2013,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of W Doha! Omayma and the rest of the team over here were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our Meetings services!

Hope to welcome you again for another W Experience soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have been living here for two months and we love it. The flats are cosy and well equiped. The beds are a dream come true. The design is simple and elegant. The service is excellent. Ali is our guardian angel and will do anything to please you.
We benefit from the very best restaurants in town: namely spice market(asian fusion), la spiga (italian), and the bars from the 2nd floor are an excellent place to meet and greet with fellow workers or friends.
We recommend the W Doha, 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdemontferrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello rdemontferrand,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of W Doha! Ali and the rest of our team were very happy yo hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that we could make them feel home, at their home away from home!

Hope to welcome you and your family back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I arrived in Doha from Saudi Arabia on a Smithsonian Museum trip tired and needing to use my iPad but had a bit of difficulty getting it to work. I went to the business Center in this hotel and found one Mark Tecson who - like every employee in the Hotel from a myriad of cuntries - not only fixed me up with my immediate problem but arranged everything on my iPad in a way I have never ever been able to do myself. He was an example of one of the most hotel stays I have had in many many years.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickinson m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello dickinson m,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of W Doha! Marc and the rest of us here at the W were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations with regards to Wired, our business center.

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the W Hotel in Doha for 3 nights in October, fantastic property. We were very lucky to be given an upgrade to a corner suite, as you'd expect from a W the room was very cool, huge bathroom with a big shower area, super comfy bed, nice desk / working area, a big wardrobe and a nice little reading area as well. The rooms are really well thought out and make the use of every bit of space, covering both the business and leisure market but leaning towards the former.
Our room did face the construction site, noise was there but didn't really notice it, definitely could hear the nightclub on one of the evenings we were there, but again not enough to effect a nights sleep (in our instance).
The communal areas of the hotel are again all you'd expect from a W Hotel, it's designed to have a real buzz, people constantly coming in and out, meetings taking place in the lobby and coffee shops and then by night the bars and restaurants are very busy and popular.
The breakfast was incredible, everything felt really fresh, particularly the fruit, there's so much to choose from that it's almost a bit overwhelming! We also had access to the exec lounge which definitely makes life a little more cost effective when in Doha, free snacks throughout the day and happy hour for an hour an evening. Prices in general are high in Qatar if you're eating or drinking in the hotels, wherever you go that will not be much different so do be prepared to shell out £10 for a beer / glass of wine.
Location is good, a few mins walk from a shopping centre, airport took around 20 minutes over the weekend, but double that in normal working week traffic.
Great hotel that I hope I have the chance to stay at again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello mattwarren,

Thank you very much for your amazing review of W Doha! We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its ambiance!

Hope to welcome you again soon for another superb W experience!

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The W Hotel has very good customer service....tons of staff who are more than happy to help (although one who always seemd to be lurkinbg in the lobby was overly sycophantic and was bordering on creepy). The rooms are amazing, very stylish with huge comfy beds and great decor. The in room facilities are excellent - big flat screen tv, dvd player, ipod dock, great coffee machine and well stocked with complimentary water.
The bathroom is also very spacious, again nicely decorated with a huge shower that really hit the spot! I realised I'd forgotten shaving cream and sun cream when I arrived so I asked at reception for directions to the nearest shop. Not only did I get directions but I also got a complimentary bag with sun cream, after sun and a shave kit. This type of service, for me, really makes a hotel.

The restaurants are good - The Spice Market does a happy hour (5-7 I think) where drinks are half price and you can get a free starter - well worth it with the eye watering price of alcohol in Qatar, although the measures of wine seemed considerably smaller during happy hour. Try the Mexican at the Intercontinental for their happy hour (5-7) - proper measures and half price.

The pool really lets this hotel down. Sunbathing space is vey limited to a strip down one side of the building on the 2nd floor and half is in shade by mid afternoon. We were shifted out from the pool area on the first day as they wanted to set up for a private party and weren't impressed with that. The staff at the pool bar/restaurant were in a different class to the rest of the hotel, and not in a good way. Some days you couldn't find anyone to place an order and when you did, the girl that always seemed to work there was surly at best and left you with the impression that you would never see your food. It always arrived, to be fair, and was always good, but the service let it down. If I'm being really picky, one day I asked for a white coffee and was given a black espresso.

At the weekends, the lobby and bar areas are packed with people partying the night away. It makes for a lot of noise if you're on the lower floors so request a room as high as you can - that way you'll also escape the 24/7 construction noise of the surrounding sites.

Overall, the hotel is very good. Very stylish, although it seems to be struggling at times with an identity crisis and after dark (particularly at weekends) it wants to be a chic nightclub rather than a hotel. I daresay this is a side effect of the laws in Qatar whereby you can only get alcohol in hotels so there are no standalone bars and clubs for people to frequent.

Service is second to none and the rooms are the best I have stayed in - although regrettably there are no balconies.

I would stay here again but would probably be more likely to try the Intercontinental as the pool area there is great and the happy hour is great value.

On the 3rd day it was closed again while they cleaned the windows. I imagine once the nearby construction is finished, this will block out yet more sun.

The bar on the 2nd floor is very stylish but seems to cater more for outside guests than residents. There is a strict dress code (no t shirts) and a declaration on the door that guests should 'dress to impress'. The emphasis should be on offering a space for hotel guests to relax with a drink, not get dressed up to the nines just to have a drink in the hotel you're staying in. We had a couple of drinks and when we asked for the bill we were told there was a problem with the till and asked to wait for 5 minutes. 15 minutes later we asked again and were told it still wasn't sorted. When I suggested a complimentary round of drinks, the waiter said he'd see what he could do...and promptly returned 10 seconds later with our bill. At least he had the good grace to laugh himself!!

If you like sushi, try lunch in The Market restaurant there....the best sushi I have ever had! Wow! Superb!

It's also worth as well, when checking in, to choose the green promotion where you earn an extra 500 points per night for not having your towels changed daily. Plenty of towels in the room so well worth it.

Room Tip: Go for a high room to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hello twotarts,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review W Doha Hotel & Residences! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, the rooms and the service provided by the team. I was however disappointed to hear that you had challenges with regards to the service on the WET deck. We take all forms of feedback seriously, and please be assured that your feedback will be dealt with accordingly. Nevertheless, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your experience with us!

Hope to welcome you back again!

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
2.7 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#10 of 140 in Doha
1,521 reviews
7.2 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
0.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 140 in Doha
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Doha Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Doha Hotel & Residences

Address: West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Doha
#1 Spa Hotel in Doha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Doha
Price Range: £111 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Doha Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Doha Hotel & Residences is located in the prime West Bay area of Doha's city-centre. The multi-story structure of the building reveals panoramic views of the Arabian Gulf. W Doha brings a new flavor to the region as the first lifestyle design hotel in Doha. The hotel sets the standard for modern luxury accommodation in the city, offering residents all the benefits and amenities that come with being connected to a W. The design of W Doha is modern and contemporary with an infusion of the design elements indigenous to the region, including lighting, colors and social areas. All rooms have IP telephones and digital safe boxes with laptop charging facilities. The use of bukhour is not permitted in the guest rooms, residence apartments and meeting rooms of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your W Doha Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Doha Hotel And Residences
w Hotels Doha
w Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing