We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice hotel and good services but far out from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice hotel and good services but far out from the city”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our first time in Doha; the reason we chose this hotel was based on info we gathered about onsite services and pool size.
We didn't like Doha, loads of construction works everywhere and not much to do/see.
We booked a Club King room located on the 5th floor with lounge access; this was perhaps the best of our holiday. Club king rooms are good in size and come with a terrace with a small table and two chairs. Bathroom is fantastic with bath and separate shower enclousure although in our opinion the bathroom door shouldn't be made in glass -if you get up in the middle of the night you will wake up your mate because of the light coming through.
Club lounge is great with a nice selection for breakfast open from 6 to 10am. Evening pre-meal services run from 6 to 8pm with alcohol, canapes and lovely food served. You can stay in the lounge after 8pm but food and alcolhol are taken away.
Non-paid wifi is extremelly slow; considering this is a 5 star hotel in the 21st century wifi should be free regardless the speed you have and you shouldn't have to pay an extra
Fitness center is fantastic, gym and sauna included.
Pool area is good, more parasols should be considered as you will have to share 1 parasol between 6 sunbeds; pools are non heated . Also to mention: the main pool attached to the hotel doesn't get any sun whatsoever from 3pm in Jan/Feb or March so you will have to use the other pool wich is located 7min walk from the hotel and right behind a noisy road.
We didn't use any of the restaurants within the Hotel so couldn't comment.
We would go back to this hotel however we wouldn't go back to Doha.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a Club King room with Club Lounge access; having dinner in the club lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Chippy68,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms.
Thank you for your feedback in regards of the internet connection and beach area. I have passed on your comments to the respective departments so we can look at ways to maintain the highest standards of services for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    309
    105
    55
    57
See reviews for
256
260
89
451
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. From arrival we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. As our room wasn't ready we were given complimentary drinks while we waited and when we got to our room our luggage was there waiting for us as was a delicious cake. The room had a balcony with fabulous sea view and was spotlessly clean.
We ate at Issan Thai restaurant and both staff and service were faultless.
On the Friday we had booked for Friday brunch where again staff and service were really good. Checking out was quick and simple and the receptionist seemed generally interested in our view of the hotel and quality of our stay.
Thank you Grand Hyatt for making our anniversary a romantic, carefree and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alioop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Borogirl2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the staff, services and food in Isaan restaurant as well as during our brunch.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a flying review for a flying visit. We arrived on a saturday evening and left on the following morning but what a pleasant stay. On arrival we were escorted to the Executive Lounge for a lightning fast check in and taken to our standard exec floor room. Very nice indeed - large and nicely laid out with everything one could need - spotlessly clean too.

We then went for dinner with colleagues in their Thai Restaurant which was not one of my favourite memories. The hotel was quiet so the restaurant was only sparsely occupied (and thus staffed) - food was not particularly well prepared and service was slow. The choice of Thai beer was limited but I have to say the price was not unreasonable at the end of the evening so that made up for the poor quality and service.

Our bed was really comfortable and IT wireless Internet in the room (and throughout the room) was both fast and effective - no complaints there.

We had breakfast in the brilliant Executive Lounge - one of the best laid out I have experienced and staff were extraordinarily good - thanks to you all in that department !

Not much time for anything else - a really nice short stay in what I think is one of Doha's best hotels - its just a pity its that little bit far away from Doha CBD.

Room Tip: Stay on the exec floor for limited extra cost and enjoy excellent service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear CTCTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
I was pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you for your contructive feedback regarding your meal at Isaan restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the outlet manager so we can look at ways how to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, laid out in perfectly manicured grounds. It is the only hotel in the city that does not reach upwards; instead it is spread over a wide, spacious area that leads to a private beach. It is almost impossible to believe that the gardens and flowers can bloom in a desert climate but they do - creating a sense of peace and calm. The 17m high plate glass windows in the lobby and incredible chandeliers add to the glamour and luxury. Rooms are spacious with views over the gardens and beach area. The only niggle is that the hotel restaurants close at 11.30am and there is no 24 hour coffee shop for snacks. Also, there is no shop for essentials, so don't forget to pack a toothbrush or toiletries!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden. All rooms have spacious balconies. If you have trouble walking, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear FequentTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the timings of the outlets and essentials shop. I passed on your comment to the respective departments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The building itself its amazing and outstanding! Remember me a lot some palaces in Marroco.
Well, front office staff are not so welcome as a brand standart. I trust LQA/LRA still a lot to go!

My breakfast was poor. Delay in basic services like coffee and butter for delivery.

I have called twice to HK to collect my Shoes for Shooe Shine services and I had to wait for almost 45 min in my room to be pick up.

The resume of my short stay - 03 nights its avarage. I still feeling how flawless were the pre opening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinicius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Vinicius F


Many thanks for taking the time to provide us our feedback; it is feedback such as yours that helps us in pin pointing training and service issues.


We do strive for the perfect experience but seem to have failed during your visit.


Our General Manager would be delighted to discuss brand standards with you to further find out what you felt the shortcomings were. Alternatively, please feel free to forward the said standard to us to see if you are using the most recent document?


On a more positive note, we have made great strides since the hotels opening. Just in the past 14 months our Tripadvisor ranking has improved from being #38 to #19; and we are working hard on getting better : )


In addition to the Tripadvisor score, we also achieved higher mystery guest audit scores and the highest staff satisfaction score since the hotels opening! This is only possible because of guests like you who give us their honest feedback; so many thanks for that.


Please contact our sales and marketing department on monika.krestanova@hyatt.com if you would like to meet with the General Manager personally on your next trip; we would love to hear from you.


Best regards, Grand Hyatt Doha


P.S.: The architecture is distinctly Qatari with the wind towers and Falaj’s around the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I loved that this hotel had a big balcony and access to the beach as well as the georgeous pools. Restaurants by the pool and main lobby were fantastic and the overall service was impecable. We stayed on the business level floor which had access to complimentary food and drink, and champagne each day, I highly recommend upgrading to that!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank educubalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear educubalady,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
I was pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will definitely share your most kind comments about the the beach,pools and restaurants to the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another fabulous stay with us.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

When I was at Hyatt on May 2012 I said it's wonderfull hawever this time I can not accept a construction at the hotel. If you have too, you do not have to sell the rooms next to the construction area. Another constuction was begin at the outdoor pool area where my room was found. Not happy to be this time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Cengizhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Cengizhan C,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I do apologize that your stay with us was not as you have expected. Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations and for the inconvenience due to the constructions.
In lieu of your experience, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#9 of 135 in Doha
1,235 reviews
8.9 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#13 of 135 in Doha
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
3.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,776 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Doha
InterContinental Doha
#15 of 135 in Doha
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas

Property: Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Address: | West Bay Lagoon, West Bay, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Doha
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#12 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#16 Spa Hotel in Doha
#16 Family Hotel in Doha
#20 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate unparalleled luxury in Qatar at Grand Hyatt Doha. Our 5-Star hotel in Doha is within convenient reach of Doha International Airport, and steps away from the city’s financial and commercial centre.Being one of the most sought-after hotels in Doha and located on the shoreline of the new West Bay Lagoon district, Grand Hyatt Doha features balconies or terraces in most of its luxury suites and rooms showcasing breath-taking views of the Arabian Gulf.Our 5 star hotel offers extensive meeting and banquet facilities, a full-service business centre, the renowned Jaula Spa, a 400-metre private beach and indoor & outdoor pools.Grand Hyatt Doha features five restaurants and cafes and two lounges; Isaan, the hotel's signature restaurant where authentic Thai cuisine is prepared in a vibrant open plan kitchen; The Grill all-day dining restaurant serves seafood, premium meats and vegetables; Rocca, the poolside restaurant overlooks the ocean and offers a culinary journey to the Mediterranean and nightly entertainment, Majlis a contemporary Arabian style café with private seating for women and an outdoor terrace offering shisha. Al Maha lounge located at the lobby court serves continental breakfast, snacks, coffee, and tea. Dunes bar offers a wine display with wines and spirits from around the world and premium cigars in the walk-in humidor. In a contemporary yet vibrant setting adjacent to the Lobby Lounge, Biscotti is located serving tea and coffee as well as specially prepared smoothies and shakes as well as serving the best homemade cakes, pastries and chocolates in-town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing