We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for a mediocre service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive for a mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

At a room rate of US$200 a night, Grand Hyatt Doha does not even give you free Internet wifi in your room (you have to pay additional US$, if I recall it right, between US$20 and US$35 per day), no welcome drink (not even water!), and no complimentary fruit basket or a piece of welcome chocolate in your room. The last two do not really matter much for me or for most people, but not having free Internet wifi connection in this Internet age is somehow mind boggling when you are staying in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Edsel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Edsel B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha and I especially welcome your feedback regarding the price of the internet and complimentary fruits/chocolate in the rooms.
I have passed on your comments about your experience to the respective departments and we will use it to look at ways that we can improve and continue to provide the best guest experience possible.
I hope you will return to Grand Hyatt Doha in the future and allow us to demonstrate our commitment to the highest levels of services.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    300
    104
    54
    55
See reviews for
247
249
82
432
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aguas de Lindoia, SP
Level Contributor
166 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Doha was a surprise for us. We decided to visit it before going to Maldives and we really loved. Doha is a new, modern city, but still maintains the traditions of the Arab world. We are Brazilians and need a visa to enter the country and the Grand Hyatt gave us this at a cost of 75.00 american dollars each one.
The hotel is Beautiful, arab decor and very impressing. We could not enjoy the hotel so much because we only had three days to know the entire city.
Reception was very good. Fast check in and out. Free valet parking. Free wifi in the lobby.
The room was well decorated, very good size, well cleaned, beautiful bathroom.
We had been there in february and it was cool. But threre's a private nice beach and swimming pool.
There's a new Mall in front of the hotel, the Lagoona. There's some restaurants and a Carrefour express.
The hotel is far from airport, downtown and the Soukh. I recommend this beautiful hotel but If you rent a car. We rented one and it was very important. We don't see subway Station , there's no public bus. And I thing the taxi are not enought for all guests. Rent a car is easy and cheap. The Qataris aren't
polite driving but it's possible to drive there because I did it. So, rent a car and stay more than three nights because it for us was not enought to visit the beautiful city and to enjoy the beautiful hotel. We will come back soon.

Room Tip: We stay in the Grand Room and was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear cred68,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and to read all of your positive comments regarding our hotel and services.
It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we do hope to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha to experience another fabulous stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K.Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

As a first time visitor to Doha, this was an excellent choice. A very large hotel, with it's own beach, across from a great shopping centre. The Doha hop on / hop off bus stops right outside. Rooms are spacious with every facility and very comfortable beds. We had a sea view and lovely large balcony. The Club lounge served excellent food, drink and breakfast, and staff were excellent. David, Dragona and Sarah, Club Lounge Concierge were great Ambassadors for the hotel and Hyatt Brand, and arranged all requests quickly and efficiently, with genuine interest. We ate in "The Grill" and the Thai Restaurants and both were fantastic and also good value. The lobby is stunning with a great choice of bars and restaurants. Would certainly recommend!

Room Tip: Sea view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear IrisAnne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
I am very pleased to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I will definitely share your most kind comments to the rest of the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another fabulous stay with us.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, staff and facility are just marvellous, food was amazing too.I strongly recommend if someone wants to stay in luxury on the beach side. I recommend choose sea view room!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Alina D
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Helpful staff, great food and all the facilities you need in addition to its ideal location for a getaway inside Doha. I would strongly recommend this hotel for families, friends and whoever is looking for some time off to clear their minds

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Ahmed H,

Thank you for your valuable feedback with regards to your recent stay.
I am truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Although we live in Doha, I've been here twice now on "staycation"s- once as a couple, and once as a family of four. Both times, the Grand Hyatt has been fabulous. Here's my breakdown:

Rooms:
The rooms are spacious and well equipped. I highly recommend a room facing the water for a the view and wonderful sea breeze. The balconies off these rooms are ideal for hanging out - whether it's after the kids have gone to bed and/or with a beverage. The bathrooms are lovely with a nice big tub and separate shower.

Food:
The breakfast buffet is great; the food is excellent and plentiful- with options for everyone. The Friday brunches are quite popular here, but don't start until later, so you can still linger over the paper for a while. My favorite place for breakfast thus far. The Italian is good as well with a nice outdoor area.

Hospitality:
Excellent: the service is both attentive and unassuming.

Services:
Great gym and indoor lap pool; the women's locker room has sauna's, steam room, jacuzzi, plunge pool, etc. All top quality and spotless. The spa is wonderful, elegant, and professional.

Outdoor:
Lovely gardens and green space for the kids, the pool has plenty of loungers, and although the beach may not be as picturesque as other hotels in Doha, it still has lots to keep kids busy and parents relaxed,

Right across the street from the hotel is the Lagoona Mall with plenty of restaurants and shops if you feel like something different.

Overall, a winner. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear KB2003,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always gratifying for us to receive such remarks as this give us the opportunity to show our team that their efforts are trully appreciated by our guests.
It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience another fabulous stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Generally very good, couple of things spoiled he mood though. Staff were helpful at all turns, the hotel is maintained well, although my room has a few annoying querks. Gardens are nice selection of food is relatively good, bit limited on entertainment?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank markgZ8155KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear markgZ8155KL,

Thank you for the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
I also appreciate your feedback in regards of the entertainment and we will look at ways how to improve it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#7 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
3.3 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#10 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas

Property: Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Address: P.O. Box 24010, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Doha
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#12 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#16 Family Hotel in Doha
#17 Spa Hotel in Doha
#23 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate unparalleled luxury in Qatar at Grand Hyatt Doha. Our 5-Star hotel in Doha is within convenient reach of Doha International Airport, and steps away from the city’s financial and commercial centre.Being one of the most sought-after hotels in Doha and located on the shoreline of the new West Bay Lagoon district, Grand Hyatt Doha features balconies or terraces in most of its luxury suites and rooms showcasing breath-taking views of the Arabian Gulf.Our 5 star hotel offers extensive meeting and banquet facilities, a full-service business centre, the renowned Jaula Spa, a 400-metre private beach and indoor & outdoor pools.Grand Hyatt Doha features five restaurants and cafes and two lounges; Isaan, the hotel's signature restaurant where authentic Thai cuisine is prepared in a vibrant open plan kitchen; The Grill all-day dining restaurant serves seafood, premium meats and vegetables; Rocca, the poolside restaurant overlooks the ocean and offers a culinary journey to the Mediterranean and nightly entertainment, Majlis a contemporary Arabian style café with private seating for women and an outdoor terrace offering shisha. Al Maha lounge located at the lobby court serves continental breakfast, snacks, coffee, and tea. Dunes bar offers a wine display with wines and spirits from around the world and premium cigars in the walk-in humidor. In a contemporary yet vibrant setting adjacent to the Lobby Lounge, Biscotti is located serving tea and coffee as well as specially prepared smoothies and shakes as well as serving the best homemade cakes, pastries and chocolates in-town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing