We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The service at this hotel is the best i've experienced in Doha and that's comparing it to the W, Ritz and St Regis. Everyone from the doormen to the bar staff impressed us with their attention to detail and their commitment to making us enjoy our stay. We felt like royalty. We stayed in the huge Executive suite with a massive balcony so there was plenty of space to make it feel like home. Loved the Club Lounge. The staff there was so friendly and helped us out with tips on things to do and making reservations for us. We tried the Friday brunch at Issan, lunch at Rocco and drinks at Dunes and enjoyed it all. Happy to recommend his hotel!

Room Tip: Stay in a room with Club Lounge access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mystic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear mustic101,

I am very pleased to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Doha. It is always gratifying for us to receive such remarks as this give us the opportunity to show our team that their efforts are truly appreciated by our guests.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fabulous stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K.Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had booked a suite, but on arrival were upgraded to a luxurious, huge suite which was fabulous. The bed was super-comfortable, and the bathroom was wonderful. The staff were all extremely nice and helpful, and the food in the Rocca restaurant, and at the breakfast buffet was really delicious. With the suite you get access to the executive lounge, which serves plentiful snacks and drinks all day, so you don't actually need to eat in the Rocca restaurant, but we were greedy! Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Alix S,
Thank you for your valuable feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.
It is trully delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time and to read all the positive comments regarding the rooms,staff and food.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was staying at the Hyatt for the weekend. I live here and this weekend is a treat from my husband and sons. It was nice to have a wide range of people take care of me for the weekend, rather than me taking care of my family. My stay was very relaxing and refreshing. I got to eat great food, enjoy the wonderful comfort of the rooms and share the fantastic food of your restaurants. Thank You

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Helen R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
I am trully delighted to read such positive comments and we are glad that you have enjoyed the weekend with your family.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are frequent visitors to Hyatt hotels and to the Grand Hyatt Doha in particular. We upgraded to a suite and they then upgraded us to what seemed like the Presidential Suite. It was enormous with huge wrap around terraces. Needless to say we never left the room. The room, food, service etc were all excellent and made for a thoroughly relaxing and rejuvenating family experience (which is just what we wanted). Thank you Grand Hyatt and we will be back ....

Room Tip: The Club is lovely to upgrading to a Club Room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DohaQatarTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear DohaSantamarias,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
I am very pleased to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is encouragining to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K.Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel has a quite cold atmosphere compared to what you can find in other places in Doha such as intercon west bay or W. However, the hotel is perfect for a business trip. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The gymclub is quite well equipped and the pool very nice to swim in. The club lounge personnel is very professional and smiling.
The restaurant are ok but not amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julduf777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear julduf777,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Doha.
We work hard to deliver a superb guest experience and I was especially happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Doha where you are more than welcome.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Grand Hyatt in Doha is nicely located outside of the city center. The service, the food, the hotel is excellent and I highly can recommend the hotel. Due to the traffic the location just before the entry to The Pearl is not really ideal. For a rather small city you need to bring enough time to drive to your business meetings. Other than that I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt. Everbody and I mean everybody, is just really nice, helpful and always has a smile for you. Great place!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Marcel D,

Thank you for your valuable feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.
I am trully delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time. It is always gratifying for us to receive such remarks and that we were able to meet your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Grand Hyatt Doha is a nice property with good facilities that unfortunately has some problems. The arrival experience was good with club level check-in making things smooth and the efforts of Sarah, the guest relations representative, made an excellent first impression. The club lounge was well appointed with a good layout. The room was good, and if you chose to stay there ensure you are not overlooking the pool or over the nightclub to avoid excessive noise.

Problems started on the second day. The first was the club lounge had several uncontrolled children, significantly reducing the calming effect of the area. When at the pool area later, there was a severe shortage of loungers and shade umbrellas - and the umbrella we were able to find would not stay open due to faulty maintenance of the umbrella. From there, things became worse with the service; after three requests for menus and water over the course of an hour, none of which were fulfilled, it was necessary to walk into the restaurant to find a server. Despite this, it took considerable time to receive water and food. When we were ready to depart, we spent 30 minutes looking for a staff member to provide our bill to no avail. We advised the pool attendant of this and he said if they were not here in one minute to just leave; this was not a good indicator of service, but we left our room number with the pool attendant for the bill to be placed on the room. The reason we left was the pool area was becoming overly crowded and people were continuously circling the area looking for loungers making it uncomfortable for us due to stares from those seeking loungers.

Before dinner, we went to the club lounge for pre-dinner beverages and found a considerable number of children in there resulting in a higher than expected noise level. Again, this was very surprising for a club floor to have such an experience. Dinner at the hotel Thai restaurant, Isaan was an excellent experience but the background noise from the HVAC fans made it very difficult to understand our server.

The final problem at the hotel was the first morning around 9:15am were three false alarms for fires and evacuation in the hotel. This indicated some sort of problem, but the alarms were repeatedly cancelled. The second day, at approximately 9:35am the alarms started again and were reset several times and finally a hotel evacuation was ordered and guests were requested to report to the assembly areas. The alarms in the halls and stairs were excessively lound, which resulted in temporary hearing damage while I was exiting the building (this will be followed up this week with a medical professional). When evacuating, guests left via the stairs but upon exiting the building, there were no staff to guide guests to the assembly areas. It was necessary to wander through the villa area until a way out of the villas could be found and the assembly area located - this was evidenced by the assembly of the staff but few guests in one location. Over the next 45 minutes, guests continued to trickle in to the assembly area with no staff guidance or communication. Despite the heat and minimal shade, no efforts were made by hotel staff to provide water or shade. Eventually a guest relations staff member started identifying which rooms people were from, shortly after which we were permitted back into the hotel, only to find that we were relegated to the first floor restaurant, which was already full, to away being permitted back to the rooms. After over 90 minutes, we were permitted to go to our rooms at which time I packed up my items and went to check out ...

At check out in the club lounge, I waited 15 minutes while the one guest relations representative was attempting the locate a guests laundry and address someones concern about being billed for club access; when the checkout did occur, it took approximately two minutes. This is a significant customer service failure. Fortunately my luggage was taken to my car which the valet retrieved.

This ranks among one of the more horrible hotel experiences I have had in recent memory. Doha is a competitive market and the Grand Hyatt is simply not up to the standards of its peers. The service experienced at this hotel is not consistent with what is expected of a Grand Hyatt. I am deeply disappointed and will never return to this hotel; this also eliminates other Hyatt properties from my travel accommodation considerations.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the bay are best, particularly if they are not above the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear DerekG-TX,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for your recent experience with us and I was truly disappointed that the hotel failed to deliver your expectations.
We set very high standards on the level of services we provide and the product we offer and I would like to re-assure you that we have taken your feedback very seriously and will deal with it accordingly.
In lieu of your experience, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and you will allow us to demonstrate our commitment to the highest levels of services.

Warm regards,
Christoph K. Franzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 140 in Doha
1,931 reviews
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#11 of 140 in Doha
1,454 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
3.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
1.3 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas

Address: Grand Hyatt Doha | West Bay Lagoon, West Bay, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Doha
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#12 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#13 Family Hotel in Doha
#16 Spa Hotel in Doha
#21 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: £97 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate unparalleled luxury in Qatar at Grand Hyatt Doha. Our 5-Star hotel in Doha is within convenient reach of Doha International Airport, and steps away from the city’s financial and commercial centre.Being one of the most sought-after hotels in Doha and located on the shoreline of the new West Bay Lagoon district, Grand Hyatt Doha features balconies or terraces in most of its luxury suites and rooms showcasing breath-taking views of the Arabian Gulf.Our 5 star hotel offers extensive meeting and banquet facilities, a full-service business centre, the renowned Jaula Spa, a 400-metre private beach and indoor & outdoor pools.Grand Hyatt Doha features five restaurants and cafes and two lounges; Isaan, the hotel's signature restaurant where authentic Thai cuisine is prepared in a vibrant open plan kitchen; The Grill all-day dining restaurant serves seafood, premium meats and vegetables; Rocca, the poolside restaurant overlooks the ocean and offers a culinary journey to the Mediterranean and nightly entertainment, Majlis a contemporary Arabian style café with private seating for women and an outdoor terrace offering shisha. Al Maha lounge located at the lobby court serves continental breakfast, snacks, coffee, and tea. Dunes bar offers a wine display with wines and spirits from around the world and premium cigars in the walk-in humidor. In a contemporary yet vibrant setting adjacent to the Lobby Lounge, Biscotti is located serving tea and coffee as well as specially prepared smoothies and shakes as well as serving the best homemade cakes, pastries and chocolates in-town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing