We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for being in old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa Palace Hotel
Ranked #98 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for being in old town”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We actually booked La Villa Hotel, La Villa Palace Hotels sister hotel, but found this hotel driving around. Anyways they said the other hotel was fully booked and they changed our reservation to this hotel. There is not much parking so you have to cram in on the streets around the hotel. The rooms are above average. The walk in closet is great. They offered us soft drinks on arrival and were very helpful. It was a nice treat as we drove from Riyadh. The room had everything we needed. They have a handful of English tv channels. The hotel is just a few streets up from the Corniche which is nice to walk through. It was a little noisy and you hear the aircraft but most hotels in the area are the same. We would stay again and the complimentary breakfast was a notch above continental.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrustyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
3
13
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

this hotel is very good for the amount of money you will pay, they may ask you to pay upfront the whole amount of money. with an acceptable breakfast. WI FI is very weak in the rooms so either you connect in the reception area or resturant or you use the wires. Rooms are clean and wide, got cleaned everyother day. they can arrange for airport transfer for 35 QR each way and they can also arrange for you a driver ( you can negotiate with him ).
The surrounding area is the old part of Doha ( not the best ) but on the other hand it is a walking distance from the 2 must see attractions in old Doha souq waqef ( which you will be keep going to ) and meuseum of islamic art.
Very safe area with alot of old shops. staff are friendly and keen to help. and they have a small busniess centre and buggage room .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdfhassan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel is top notch for the price. The breakfast was fresh and contained a nice variety of foods. The staff was extremely friendly in addition with a good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solodrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Area is a bit of a dive, but that can be said about most of Doha unless you're staying in 5* hotels. Rooms were ok, clean, internet worked (plug was hidden behind bed), bit of a lack of towels and breakfast was limited to say the least. However the room was very cheap! and the quality of the room was better than I expected for the money

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The hotel is kind of hidden but it is okay. My room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable. I felt save and secure especially since I was staying by myself. What I really liked about it was that my guy friend would pick me up in the reception area because they do not let in anyone go into the rooms. Which is good so if any solo girl traveler likes to be safe then this is the place to stay. No problems at all.

Room Tip: Try to negotiate the price :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmirahTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I arrived Wednesday night as I had a job interview on Thursday morning. I managed to check into my hotel fine, as I arrived after midnight. Okay, let me start with the good points. The single bed was actually big for 2 people and was clean and comfortable, and the buffet breakfast was good. Now as a single guy here on business, I am not too fussy, however from previous experience I have attend many nice hotels but never wrote a review, but this hotel is so bad, that i need to let you know!!

Now the negatives, the MAJOR negative!..I booked a taxi from the hotel reception to arrive at 9.30 as my interview was at 10.00am. The taxi came on time, but he didn't have a clue, the hotel sent me a dodgy taxi driver!. He wasnt even part of a reputable company. Make sure you book taxis with "Karwa" as they are the main taxi service in Qatar, the hotel didnt call them for me instead called some dodgy man that didnt have a clue. He was lost and made me 45minutes late for my interview!!! If you are a business traveller, definitely stay away from this hotel!!

Now if your planning a leisure holiday also you might want to stay away because,

1) FROM 4 bedroom lights, only 1 worked which was the bedside lamp!
2) The TV didnt work and the guy was trying to fix it and I told him to forget it because I wont be here for long.
3) The toilet is weird, the tap for the sink is above the toilet!! And the toilet water pipe didnt work. The shower was powerful enough.
4) And also the sockets are broken and the iron is rubbish, i went to my interview wearing a creased shirt,!

I am being honest, if you don't believe me and you go ahead and book this hotel, you will see for yourself.

Room Tip: Avoid the taxi the hotel provides
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Doha hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

While I was looking for a budget hotel in Doha, I came across the La Villa Palace on Trip Advisor. The Hotel is located in Old Doha and is just a 10 minute drive from the airport. I had booked a car at the hotel to pick me up but they had forgotten to send one and getting a cab in Doha is quite a hassle. On arriving at the hotel however, the staff were very cordial and quickly checked me into my room.

The room was adequate and maintained pretty well. Since Doha doesn’t allow sale of liquor, the room does not have a mini bar. One has the option of a smoking room if they want. All the rooms have free internet and this was a life saver during my stay. Since getting cabs in the city is very tough (very few around), the hotel arranged cabs for me travel at pretty reasonable prices.

The biggest disappointment at the hotel was the breakfast buffet as there was hardly anything for vegetarians there. It is a small buffet and even that consists mostly of meat. On request however, they served me some very good omelettes. While the sandwiches they served in room service were very good, the pasta was a complete disaster.

The hotel is alright if you are going to stay for a short period and aren’t looking for anything too fancy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandler8528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa Hotel
La Villa Hotel
#114 of 134 in Doha
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elegance Castle Hotel
Elegance Castle Hotel
#87 of 134 in Doha
27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rawdat AL Khail Hotel
Rawdat AL Khail Hotel
#93 of 134 in Doha
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Inn Al Seef
City Inn Al Seef
#100 of 134 in Doha
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chairmen Hotel
Chairmen Hotel
#106 of 134 in Doha
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gulf Paradise Hotel
Gulf Paradise Hotel
#78 of 134 in Doha
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Palace Hotel

Property: La Villa Palace Hotel
Address: Al AsmakhStreet 11, Doha 200408, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villa Palace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Villa Palace Hotel brings to you a wide selection of room’s /suites designed with the exclusive intention of pampering guest by providing elegant and comfortable rooms. Well-designed interiors, a pleasing ambience and the most indulgent service. It has a 24-hour front desk and a Buffet restaurant. All rooms and Suites equipped with tea & coffee maker, Fridge, Iron & Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, In-Room safety box, Fully Air-Conditioned Rooms, Satellite TV 32 – Inch, high speed internet connection and direct dialing telephone facilities, laundry and dry cleaning. Car rentals are available at Hotel. Newspapers and luggage storage are available at the front desk. LA Villa Palace Hotel is a 5 minute Drive from Souq Waqif and Bank Street. A high-tech fully equipped business center, secretarial assistance with high speed internet access and a banquet hall for business meetings and events will guarantee a perfect environment for business guest to do business and enjoy. Closest Landmarks :  2 Minutes’ Walk from Qatar National Library & Doha Sports Stadium.  10 Minutes’ Drive from Hamad International Airport,  10 Minutes’ Drive from the West Bay Business District.  5 Minutes’ Drive from Souq Waqif, Gold Souq, Corniche, Bank Street, Fanar - Qatar Islamic Cultural Center and the Museum of Islamic Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Villa Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Palace Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing