We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa Palace Hotel
Ranked #96 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My wife and I spent 4 Days/3 Nights in this hotel. We paid online for our reservation. It was supposed to be a 3 Stars hotel. However, we were disappointed when we saw the hotel because it looks like 2 Stars hotel or less. The toilet flush was out of order the first day but it was fixed the next day. We noticed that everyday after 6 AM noises of slamming doors can be heard which forces us to wake up, hence, ruins our sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

The hotel is located in the old city area of Doha, Qatar. It is a little bit difficult to find for taxi drivers cause they have a sistership hotel with an almost similar name which causes a bit confusion. All sightseeing spots, i.g. the Islamic museum, clock tower etc. can be reached on foot. However, the old city of Doha is a bit noisy. If you are looking for leisure you should better prefer the expensive hotels located in the modern district of Doha. I arrived after midnight and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were very clean and functional but small. Unfortunately they gave me a smoking room. WLAN was available in the public area. They also had internet for free within the lobby. However, as Doha is a very cost intensive city this hotel is very high recommended for people with a low budget.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frawey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed at this place for two days and must that it is all in all a very functional hotel for business use. I would not recommend it for leisure. Situated in the middle of market place, it tends to be noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Finding the hotel could be one of the tricky tasks and google maps mis-calculated the location and took us to another street, however after some searching we managed to reach this hotel at the end of an alley. Booking.com stated it was a 3 star hotel, but from the looks of it, I would say it is a 2 star hotel and it delivers much more than what you paid for. The bell boy was very kind and gave us a nice welcome by helping with the bags. The lobby is pretty small, but elegantly designed for Arabic style. Much before coming to the hotel, I was anticipating a completely shabby place for 200 QR a night, however I was surprised with what I got.

The lifts are pretty old, but the hotel seems to be renovated. The carpets looks clean and the rooms fit to be named at least a 3 star one. There is a large wardrobe with an in-room safe (which I didn't use as it was locked - maybe by an earlier guest) and iron + ironing board. In the middle east it is difficult to find a hotel for 200 QR/AED which has such amenities. The room has a 32" LCD TV with quite a many channels mainly catering to Arabic speaking people, but also has CNN, BBC etc.

The toilet has a nice comfortable shower tub, but it was stained in a few place so I didn't use it and only used the standing shower in it. The toilet was large and very spacious with a hair dryer and clean white towers. I was starting to feel that the place might be a dream. The same kind of hotel in Dubai or Oman would be double the price. The bed is nice and soft making a good night sleep possible. Also broadband wired internet was provided in the room. Isn't it a great deal?

My complaint about the room was basically the lighting was very bad and not suited for business travellers, even though the facilities indicated that the place could be a business hotel.

The access card stopped working a couple of times during my stay (same with my colleague) and I learn from the front office that whenever the master key to open your room by the housekeeping staff, the access card already programmed becomes invalid and needs to be reprogrammed. This got a bit annoying after a while.

The hotel has limited parking spaces, but on all occasions I managed to get a decent parking space. The parking is basically an open area parking and the staff allow you to park in the handicapped parking spaces if there are no spaces available. In total I think the hotel has 5-6 parking spaces.

There are no restaurants around if you would walk around. However if you can keep walking for at least 15 minutes you can reach Souq Wakif which has some fabulous multi cuisine restaurants and really worth the long walk.

The breakfast in the hotel is really terrible and mainly caters for Arabic people having some weird items. Even my Arabic colleague didn't like the breakfast. The only life saver here could be the omlette they would prepare for you. Also the breakfast has bread, jam, butter along with cereals and juices which is just enough to survive till afternoon where you can have a hearty meal at some of Doha's many restaurants away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtravelwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

was so disappointed when i reach the hotel main door..
i booked a 4star hotel and saw a 2star building in-front of us
was given two queen bed for a couple.
room is old. room freezing. staff stil cleaning when we arrived.
small shop opp hotel. nothing around hotel area.
only good thing is with a small kitchen but we never use.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 17 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The standard of the room was very poor. There was a leak in the bathroom, the toilet leak caused water all over the floor.

There was no hot water

We found a mouse in our room. The cleaning staff were helpul but there was no apology or acknowledgement from the management

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank susie2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
La Villa Hotel
La Villa Hotel
#123 of 140 in Doha
137 reviews
0 mi away
Doha Dynasty Hotel
Doha Dynasty Hotel
#83 of 140 in Doha
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elegance Castle Hotel
Elegance Castle Hotel
#116 of 140 in Doha
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gulf Paradise Hotel
Gulf Paradise Hotel
#89 of 140 in Doha
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chairmen Hotel
Chairmen Hotel
#113 of 140 in Doha
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#100 of 140 in Doha
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Palace Hotel

Address: Al AsmakhStreet 11, Doha 200408, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £24 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villa Palace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Villa Palace Hotel brings to you a wide selection of room’s /suites designed with the exclusive intention of pampering guest by providing elegant and comfortable rooms. Well-designed interiors, a pleasing ambience and the most indulgent service. It has a 24-hour front desk and a Buffet restaurant. All rooms and Suites equipped with tea & coffee maker, Fridge, Iron & Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, In-Room safety box, Fully Air-Conditioned Rooms, Satellite TV 32 – Inch, high speed internet connection and direct dialing telephone facilities, laundry and dry cleaning. Car rentals are available at Hotel. Newspapers and luggage storage are available at the front desk. LA Villa Palace Hotel is a 5 minute Drive from Souq Waqif and Bank Street. A high-tech fully equipped business center, secretarial assistance with high speed internet access and a banquet hall for business meetings and events will guarantee a perfect environment for business guest to do business and enjoy. Closest Landmarks :  2 Minutes’ Walk from Qatar National Library & Doha Sports Stadium.  10 Minutes’ Drive from Hamad International Airport,  10 Minutes’ Drive from the West Bay Business District.  5 Minutes’ Drive from Souq Waqif, Gold Souq, Corniche, Bank Street, Fanar - Qatar Islamic Cultural Center and the Museum of Islamic Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Villa Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Palace Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing