We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay spoiled by terrible f & b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay spoiled by terrible f & b”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

As usual stayed here during my trip to qatar. Rooms excellent as usual very clean, easy check in/check out friendly reception staff. The problem once again lies with the food and beverage dept. room service order was not delivered as per the menu and request. Kampung satay was delivered without satay sauce as is stated on the menu, food was not hot, probably cause they delivered it without a hotbox and on a tray. Ordered ice and lemon with our drinks didn't arrive, and even delivered incorrect drink order. After checking out went to have lunch in the lobby area whilst waiting to go to the airport. After 30 minutes told the order had not been printed in the kitchen due to problem with the micros printer ok understandable these things happen. Then told the waitress if it will take a long time cancel the order as we had to go to the airport. She insisted it wouldn't take long. After another 30 minutes they delivered the salad. I will attach the photo ordered Niçoise salad which was terrible. 3 small chunks of tinned tuna, dry julienne cucumber and dry green beans. Quite obviously not fresh and probably from the mise en place the day before. The burger we ordered didn't even arrive. When I said we were leaving and refused to pay and asked for the manager no one arrived exept a supervisor or captain maybe with no customer service or answer. She was quite clearly incompetent. Please sort this problem out as the food standards seem to be getting worse and there is a clear lack of management. Credit to the chef I spoke to was clearly professional and dealt with the situation effectively.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your comments.We took note of your feedback and had been the issues with all the relevant staff .Measures are being taken to avoid any lapse in quality and services . We will intensify training for kitchen staff and ensure that special attention are given to maintain a high level of services. We thank you for your support and we hope to serve you again .Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    116
    58
    18
    22
See reviews for
28
27
29
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed on business for the entire month of Sept and half of October,2013. The hotel is big and the foyer is striking. Staff are very helpful. Lifts are on the smaller size for the number of floors in the hotel. Rooms are good sized, and I heard that the rooms on the periphery (the hotel is shaped elliptically) are bigger in size. Breakfast is great and towards the start of October, they opened a live eggs counter which was nice. Lunch and Dinner are available in the hotel, a bit expensive but generally good food. I tried the Café and the Chinese in the hotel premises. In the residence apartments around the hotel (in the same complex), there is a café, a salon, and a fast food Chinese/Filipino joint called "Chow King" which is good value for money. There is a conveniences shop in the basement which is very useful when you need something urgently.
There is nothing of interest close to the hotel. It is not easy to walk on the Doha pavements and the nearest area for shops etc is Al Muntazah which is a good 10-15 minute walk through roads with bad lighting and in some places no pavements. Not recommended in the night. There is a supermarket "Al Meera" which is a good 15 minute walk from the hotel. It has most things including food items etc.
Beware- Hailing a normal cab in the hotel area is not easy. Cabs in Doha are always in demand and in this area, you have to pray that some cab comes to drop somebody off at the hotel.
The hotel is peaceful and quiet and I enjoyed my stay. Will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rath_ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your comments.We trust that you had a good stay at our hotel and enjoyed our services. It will be our pleasure to serve you again and provide you with our finest hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel about 8 times in last 1 year. absolutely love it
It has great location, nice staff and affordable rates. Also good breakfast. The only trouble you may have is finding parking space in up season though they give you underground parking. But simply I like this place and always stay here when I go and possibly will in the future always

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syed Azeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are touche by your kind comments and we thank you for your support to Holiday Villa.We look forward to have you back with us and serve you with our finest services always. Thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I was first time in Doha, so hotel was recommended by my business partner.

Hotel is situated away from the centre and away from some nice restaurants. I did a short walk around, but there is really nothing to see or do there.

Hotel is combination of real hotel and living quarter. Stuff was friendly and helpfull.

I have booked nonsmoking executive room but as they did not have it upon my arrival I got upgraded to nice and spacious suite with big bathroom, relatively small but nicely furbished bad room and big living room.

So stay there was OK and there is planty of space if you need to work or have meetings in a hotel.

I was a bit disappointed with food offer. Asian restaurant seemed nice but they didn't have selection. There are a lot of dishes on the menu, but lack quite few of them in reality. They need to improve that.

It was good hotel but service level on the food side needs to improve as also breakfast is somehow below the standard for this kind of hotels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you on your feedback in relating to our food offerings. We will share your comments with our team and we will try to make further improvements in our services.It is our aim to ensure that guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us . Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Recently stayed here on a short business trip to Doha. Rooms are getting a bot tired but size is quiet good. Cafe in foyer area and International Cafe are quiet good and reasonably priced but if your a non smoker make sure you get into the non smoking area for the foyer cafe as there seemed to be a lot of chain smokers. Door staff are helpful, unless you want a taxi then they direct you t the main road to hail one.

Management need to address personal hygiene of room staff as I went into room just after it had been cleaned by house keeping to be meet by the strong smell of BO. On leaving I passed the housekeeping staff member and confirmed that this was an issue.

Overall not bad and there is a shop in the basement level, as well as a snooker hall, gym, beauty spa and another cafe in the courtyard near the main entrance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your comments.We thank you for highlighting your concerns and extend our sincere apologies for the setback that you had encountered .Rest assured that we are looking into your comments positively . Moving forward ,it is our aim to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed at this place for almost 10 days. Rooms are very comfortable and very spacious. Service is good however, I was not very impressed with the food. Everything in Qatar is imported so is non-veg and it's very different from what is available in India. Nevertheless hope you enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad that you had a good and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to see you again in Doha. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here for 1 week and found the hotel to be very comfortable. The rooms are large and clean and you can get a quiet nights sleep. The food in the ground floor restaurants is OK, I have had better, similarly the breakfast is also standard stuff but with lots of west and east style foods on offer.

The waiting staff are proficient and friendly however the reception staff are not always customer focused. I was told that I would be able to get a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel at 19:30 but when I went to the hotel kiosk at the airport at 19:20 it was closed and despite calling the number given there was no answer. I then took it upon myself to go to the shuttle bus parking zone but there was no hotel bus present. At 19:30 I went back to the hotel kiosk after eventually calling the hotel representative. I asked about the bus to be told that it left early, this is despite the hotel having my arrival details on his job sheet. When asked when I would get a shuttle bus the hotel representative told me it would be at least 30 minutes so I should "go into the terminal and have a coffee"; as a busy business traveller I can't afford to waste time sitting in an airport coffee shop. At my own expense I took a taxi instead which saved me a lot of time and wasn't so expensive. The issue here, however, isn't the lack of shuttle bus. When I told the reception staff of my situation they were dismissive and weren't really paying attention to my complaint. They were focused on getting me checked in only, i.e. doing the job by the numbers and not actually serving the client. They also lied to me saying I was expected at 17:00, I was never expected at this time and I showed the staff my booking with a 19:00 arrival, the same time on the job sheet at the airport kiosk. OK, make an excuse but don't make feeble lies to cover the hotel's shortcomings.

Would I stay here again? Probably, but it wouldn't be my first, or even second, choice in Doha.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milk_Sheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and apologized for the shortcomings and inconvenience caused while we strive to provide better services and ensure that guests' experience with us is to their satisfaction . Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.9 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#48 of 135 in Doha
208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Doha
Millennium Hotel Doha
#37 of 135 in Doha
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#23 of 135 in Doha
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Centro Capital Doha
Centro Capital Doha
#21 of 135 in Doha
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#40 of 135 in Doha
492 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
#54 of 135 in Doha
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre

Property: Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre
Address: Zone 25, Street 997 Ibn Abi Sulma Muntazah Signal, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Doha
#52 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Doha, the hotel is strategically located at Al-Muntazah Signal, opposite the Muntazah Park. It is located 15 kilometers away from Hamad International Airport and within reach from The Corniche, Doha Exhibition and Center, Qatar National Convention Centre, Aspire Zone, Katara and Souq Waqif. It has 357 lavishly furnished hotel rooms and 396 serviced apartments with modern facilities. It features 2 ballrooms and 6 meeting rooms equipped with internet access and audiovisual system. The hotel has four dining outlets. The Lagenda International Restaurant serves 24-hour all day buffet and a la carte dining. D’Chopstix Chinese & Japanese Restaurant is a trendy Far Eastern fusion cuisine. The Lobby Lounge is the perfect meeting point for business and casual chat while the Poolside Cafe that provides a tropical retreat in the heart of the city, offering healthy and scrumptious snacks indoor or al fresco dining by the pool. Watch live games at Kafe Ole. The hotel includes access to the Swimming Pool, Kids Wadding Pool, Gym, Business Centre. Other facilities and services include 24-hour In-Room Dining, Laundry and Dry Cleaning, Concierge Services, Cross Signing Facilities, Secretarial Services, Valet Parking. For health, beauty, wellness and entertainment Holiday Villa Doha features Activa Fitness Club, Amoaras Relaxation Spa, Snips Hair & Beauty Salon and Qball Room Billiard & Snooker Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Villa Hotel & Residence City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Hotel And Residence City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing