We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great service but very poor internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I'm staying here for around 3 months and I am about half way through my stay. The level of service and staff is excellent. We are in a 3 bedroom apartment and the views are spectacular. The rooms are very clean and the car parking facilities are good too.

Complaint.

There two major things wrong with the hotel and it relates to the internet the West Bay area of Doha has fibre and speeds of up to 100Mbs are available yet this 5star hotel only downloads at 200 kb/sec. We've asked several times to have our bandwidth increased and to be told that's all we can have. At peak times we also struggle to watch the TV at peak times during the weekend as it does have the bandwidth. In terms of TV they also don't allow any flexibility of packages for long term stays so don't expect to watch any decent sport channels.

I hope the management see this and resolve these issues as they have a 5 star hotel, with 5 star service with 1 star internet and TV

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a pricey hotel but it is well worth it in my opinion. This is the best room in Doha and the fact that it is in the tallest hotel tower means you great incredible views. I was on the 40th floor in a 2 bedroom suite. The staff were amazing, the spa, gym and pool facilities were top class. They have a great bakery called Gourmet which serves amazing breads and pastries. If you go between 5 pm-7 pm you get the pastries for 50% off. The only negative is the Aroma cafe for breakfast it was a weak breakfast compared to what you get in other hotels and they actually charge extra for Salmon (ridiculously expensive surcharge) so watch out for that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SinbadSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in August to break up a long haul journey with two young kids. Hotel fab lovely pool and gym facilities. Mini market over the road and large supermarket 5 mins away. Breakfast on the expensive side. Staff very helpful rooms large and kitchen well equipped. 15 mins in a taxi to souq wafiq and 10 to central corniche. Not bad in terms of things to do with young kids just we were unlucky in that it was Ramadan so everything closed down during the day and opened up after dark. If u don't do Ramadan not sure how u would fill your time as weather too hot in August for beach, parks and walking. We used kids play area and pool in hotel. Overall good stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gina_wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Though Kempinski Hotel is not well known, at least not in the US, truly a great 5-star hotel. The gym facility is great and there is a lovely Kids Club with lots to keep children entertained. The staff at the Kids Club are very friendly, so you have a place for the kids to play while you work out or enjoy some well deserve pampering at the Spa. Though it does not have a great selection of restaurants to choose from, it has a nice bakery with great selection and the restaurant offers a yummy breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We are a family of 3 living at the Kempinski Residence for 9 months and we are very fond of it: large and well decorated appartment (200 sq.m), with high quality furniture and appliances, extremely kind and friendly staff, always here when you need them, without being intrusive. We could live here forever :-). Sleep quality is excellent due to good soundproofing, even considering several new buildings are being built within the area. We would have loved an outside swimming pool but the building structure does not allow it.
Cevinc is our salesmanager and is the kindest and most committed person we know of.
In conclusion, it is a bit expensive, but we love the Kempinski as residence to live in Doha.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There are many good hotels with serviced apartments in Doha but the Kempinski is not one of them.
I had the misfortune of living there for 6 months with a view of the derelict building across the road. I had 4 other apartments for my colleagues who either had the same view or the active building site with jack hammers going night and day. Unless you are on the very top floors you have no view.
The pool is in doors and there is no terrace so if you want to go outside you can only walk round the car park. The steam room and sauna broke down frequently which the management took as normal. At the weekend it is popular with Arab families but unfortunatley the women had no regard for the male changing room to be off limits. Management took no effective measures to prevent this. The forecourt is too small so with the thoughtless drivers that we have here it only takes one car to block the entrance exit. No GHA loyalty points were awarded which you get in other hotels and the deposit for incidentals takes repeated requests to be refunded. Even weeks after leaving the place. I wouldn't go back even if it was for free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, recieved late check out and upgrade. It wasnt any problem. Very hospital and helpful. Restaurants and f&b are very professional and friendly atmosphere.

Good location and as we had a room high in the tower with beautiful view, perfect memories.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
3.5 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Somerset West Bay
Somerset West Bay
#62 of 137 in Doha
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.1 mi away
Governor West Bay Suites And Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha

Address: Al Qassar Street, West Bay, Doha 32129, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Doha
#17 Business Hotel in Doha
#18 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#22 Spa Hotel in Doha
#31 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: £99 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown that graces the skyline of Doha has truly left a footprint in the sand. Indulge yourself with ultra modern luxurious residences. Experience a passionate sense of style and comfort. Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha is ideal for the business and leisure resident whom requires privacy and intriguing surroundings. Absorb the Arabian air, warm gulf waters and beautifully designed mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Residences And Suites, Doha
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing