We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...details make the difference”
Review of Safir Doha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safir Doha Hotel
Ranked #48 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Piraeus, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“...details make the difference”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

since Qatar Airways assigned this hotel to my partner and me, we did not know what to expect during our 13 hour stay in Doha.
Arrived at the hotel at around midnight and there was a big buffet dinner still at that time with hot and cold dishes, plenty of fresh desserts and the staff was really friendly and polite.
The room was quite spacious, with comfortable beds, big LCD TV and a very clean and neat bathroom with really nice shower (created the rain effect). The only back-draw was that the air-conditioning was a bit loud.
Breakfast was very rich in the modern space of the mezzanine.
We asked for a 2 hour city tour and it was arranged by the front desk staff in 5 minutes.The price was pretty affordable and our driver-guide professional and friendly.
Free wi-fi and the only 5 minutes drive to the airport a big plus.
Overall a great hotel for short (and probably longer visit).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    80
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
38
39
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When you select a four star (deluxe) hotel in Doha you do expect a little more for your money. In a city which is crammed with four and five star properties your expectations are quite high. I am reliably informed that the hotel is still quite new but the interior decor already looks jaded and tired. The staff that are available are very friendly and helpful but is noticeable that their are not as many as there are in other similarly starred hotels in Doha. The beds are very comfortable and the towels brilliant. The bedrooms are small and the aircon in my room sounded like an aircraft taking off. Food options are limited and the breakfast selection really is not good enough for a four star hotel. OOverall, OK if you are staying on business and do not want to blow the budget but that's about all it has going for it I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DezCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisumu, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I had to spend a night in Doha, with my group, before our next connecting flight to New York. Booked into it by Qatar Airways. The staff were friendly and helpful, checked us in pretty fast except for having to retain our passports a while longer for them to be scanned. We had a sumptuous dinner with lots of fruits, veggies and meats and others to our choice (one of the other diners served the whole bunch of grapes to himself and I missed out :( ..The rooms were clean, quiet, with working aircon (Doha was blazing hot), great bed size and nice hot/cold shower. The view outside was not that catching though, white/cream buildings all over. Our cab to the airport arrived in good time. I would definitely stay over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

First time when I tried this hotel I landed at another hotel with the same name that was more a run down motel close to the airport. The Safir Doha manager later told me that cabbies generally do that to earn a few Riyals more!!! But later i discovered even seasoned residents of the city had a hard time locating this hotel. Apart from location, the hotel is very good. Good sized rooms, new decor. Considering the property is quite new, everything in the rooms still very good condition. Room service is prompt and hotel staff are courteous without going over the top ( a common problem faced in the GCC which they misinterpret as being good service!). Getting public transport in Doha is generally difficult, but especially so outside this hotel since it is tucked away in some bylanes. Good value for money especially on a short business trip.

Room Tip: Try and ask for the room facing the road as the other option is rooms facing other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jango67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I didnt actually book the hotel myself. I was assigned the hotel by Qatar Airways after being delayed for 12 hours in Kuala Lumpur and now on 10 hours layover in Doha. From the outside the hotel looked simple and shabby, I was just dreading another horrible night after one delay to another. After a sort of grouchy concierge ( its at 3 am in the morning- go figure), we were surprised to find the room extremely spacious and comfortable. Great bed , okay size TV with Fox Movies, huge bathroom with great showers, I have to say its the best stop if you are on a business trip. The breakfast was good - the usual american breakfast style and amazingly the staffs are friendly in the morning. They even have a decent size pool at their rooftop. All in all it allowed me to be slightly happy after the turmoil Qatar Airways given me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansnowcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Qatar airways arranged our stay at the hotel after mismanaging the connecting flight. Was not in a good mood when I arrived but the night at the hotel did make me feel good by the next day. The rooms were of a decent size with a comfortable bed and a reasonable washroom. The food was nice and the restaurant staff was friendly. Though we didn't pay for the room, I would not mind staying at the hotel again. Things can sure be improved but they are not reason enough to call the stay a bad experience.

Room Tip: Stayed at a deluxe room and it had a nice small seating area too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The room provided did not have a working airconditioning, and I had to call the front desk 4 times before they gave me a new room which was not much better. The shower area does not drain well! Would recommend avoiding this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#39 of 134 in Doha
482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
#42 of 134 in Doha
100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 134 in Doha
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
#51 of 134 in Doha
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Inn Doha
Plaza Inn Doha
#62 of 134 in Doha
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Doha
Copthorne Hotel Doha
#44 of 134 in Doha
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Doha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Doha Hotel

Property: Safir Doha Hotel
Address: Al Arab & Najma Streets Intersection | Po Box 33003, Doha 33003, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safir Doha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Safir Doha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing