We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not even worth a rating of 1 star... disgusting!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safir Doha Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Safir Doha Hotel
Ranked #50 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not even worth a rating of 1 star... disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have been traveling for the past 8 months and living in hotels along the way, but I have never stayed in a worse hotel. This hotel is disgusting and has zero customer service.

This hotel was provided by Qatar airlines for a delayed flight that they assumed fault for. When we went to pick up the voucher at the Qatar desk, we informed the agent of the importance of having wifi internet in the room b/c it is necessary for work. The supervisor called the hotel and confirmed that wifi was available and working in the rooms.

The shuttle to the hotel was old an dirty and the driver didn't know how to drive manual b/c he grinded the gears many times during the short ride.

During check-in we were informed that our shuttle to the airport would be between 11am and 11:30 am the following morning.

When we arrived in the room, the bathroom looked like it was never cleaned. There were stains all over the walls, doors, and floors. There was only one small tow and a small bar of soap for two adults. Most importantly, the internet did not work in the room. We complained to the front desk and they acted like they had no clue and said they would have the IT manager check it. However, I knew that we were not the first to complain because there were at least 10 others on laptops in the lobby area.

We went out for a couple hours and hoped that the internet would work when we got back. The front desk told us the Souq was a 10 minute walk, but found out that it was really a 45 minute walk in the hot heat.

When we first arrived back at the hotel later that afternoon, we were parched and dehydrated from being out in the heat all day and the longer than expected walk. We went to the dinner buffet. I asked the waiter for a bottle of water, but he refused. I asked another, but he said I would have to pay. I insisted that the agreement with Qatar airlines allows for 1 free refreshment per guest, however he refused to give me a bottle of water and said there was soda and tap water available at the buffet. It was bizarre that a guest could drink 10 cans of soda, but not receive 1 bottle of water (which is 1/2 the cost of a can of soda).

The buffet food (which we ate 3 times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner) was less than average. It was cold, tasted bad, and had little variety. They used leftover steamed vegetables from dinner and served them as "sauteed vegetables" for breakfast. More importantly, the restaurant was disgustingly dirty.

We complained to the front desk about the internet again after dinner b/c it still did not work. The front desk said they were still working on it and they would let us know when it was fixed. We had to cancel business meetings back home b/c we could not access internet in the privacy of our rooms.

The next morning we received a rude phone call at 10:05 am stating that we were supposed to be downstairs for the 10am shuttle. We informed them that we were told the shuttle for us would be available between 11am-11:30.

We went to breakfast quickly and came back to the room at 10:30am, only to find that the lights, a/c, and anything else in the room did not work anymore. The key only allowed us to open the door. Also, the internet still did not work at this point.

When we went downstairs, the lady at the desk said that the internet was fixed but she "checked us out", so we couldn't access it. Lies, b/c it was the connection at issue, not the log-in. So, she checked us out before 10:30am and we had to pack up our things in the dark, hoping that we would not forget anything. (Also, the drapes were broke, so we could not open them, so it was very dark in the room).

In a hurry to send out a work email before we left the hotel, we tried to access internet in the lobby, but the staff was rushing us to get on the 10:30 shuttle (even though we were insistant that we were told we could take the 11:30 shuttle the night before). The internet never worked in the lobby and the front desk agent was unwilling to help, so we just left and grabbed the shuttle to the airport.

Unknown to us, rather than bringing all the people who had been waiting for the 10am shuttle to the airport, they had the shuttle wait for us, so we boarded the shuttle at 11:45 am with glares of anger from the other guests.

When we got on the shuttle, there was a foul smell. We noticed that two of the seats had throw up all over them. No one was sitting on the seats with throw up. The smell lingered with me even at the airport.

Ultimately, this hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff was rude and unhelpful. The rooms, hotel, and transportation was disgustingly dirty. And, most important, there is no internet available in the rooms even though they lie to guests and tell that there is.

If Qatar offers this hotel to you, reject it and ask for another. This hotel is disgusting!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. This hotel is not even worth 1 star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    79
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
36
38
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

since Qatar Airways assigned this hotel to my partner and me, we did not know what to expect during our 13 hour stay in Doha.
Arrived at the hotel at around midnight and there was a big buffet dinner still at that time with hot and cold dishes, plenty of fresh desserts and the staff was really friendly and polite.
The room was quite spacious, with comfortable beds, big LCD TV and a very clean and neat bathroom with really nice shower (created the rain effect). The only back-draw was that the air-conditioning was a bit loud.
Breakfast was very rich in the modern space of the mezzanine.
We asked for a 2 hour city tour and it was arranged by the front desk staff in 5 minutes.The price was pretty affordable and our driver-guide professional and friendly.
Free wi-fi and the only 5 minutes drive to the airport a big plus.
Overall a great hotel for short (and probably longer visit).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

When you select a four star (deluxe) hotel in Doha you do expect a little more for your money. In a city which is crammed with four and five star properties your expectations are quite high. I am reliably informed that the hotel is still quite new but the interior decor already looks jaded and tired. The staff that are available are very friendly and helpful but is noticeable that their are not as many as there are in other similarly starred hotels in Doha. The beds are very comfortable and the towels brilliant. The bedrooms are small and the aircon in my room sounded like an aircraft taking off. Food options are limited and the breakfast selection really is not good enough for a four star hotel. OOverall, OK if you are staying on business and do not want to blow the budget but that's about all it has going for it I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DezCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I had to spend a night in Doha, with my group, before our next connecting flight to New York. Booked into it by Qatar Airways. The staff were friendly and helpful, checked us in pretty fast except for having to retain our passports a while longer for them to be scanned. We had a sumptuous dinner with lots of fruits, veggies and meats and others to our choice (one of the other diners served the whole bunch of grapes to himself and I missed out :( ..The rooms were clean, quiet, with working aircon (Doha was blazing hot), great bed size and nice hot/cold shower. The view outside was not that catching though, white/cream buildings all over. Our cab to the airport arrived in good time. I would definitely stay over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

First time when I tried this hotel I landed at another hotel with the same name that was more a run down motel close to the airport. The Safir Doha manager later told me that cabbies generally do that to earn a few Riyals more!!! But later i discovered even seasoned residents of the city had a hard time locating this hotel. Apart from location, the hotel is very good. Good sized rooms, new decor. Considering the property is quite new, everything in the rooms still very good condition. Room service is prompt and hotel staff are courteous without going over the top ( a common problem faced in the GCC which they misinterpret as being good service!). Getting public transport in Doha is generally difficult, but especially so outside this hotel since it is tucked away in some bylanes. Good value for money especially on a short business trip.

Room Tip: Try and ask for the room facing the road as the other option is rooms facing other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jango67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I didnt actually book the hotel myself. I was assigned the hotel by Qatar Airways after being delayed for 12 hours in Kuala Lumpur and now on 10 hours layover in Doha. From the outside the hotel looked simple and shabby, I was just dreading another horrible night after one delay to another. After a sort of grouchy concierge ( its at 3 am in the morning- go figure), we were surprised to find the room extremely spacious and comfortable. Great bed , okay size TV with Fox Movies, huge bathroom with great showers, I have to say its the best stop if you are on a business trip. The breakfast was good - the usual american breakfast style and amazingly the staffs are friendly in the morning. They even have a decent size pool at their rooftop. All in all it allowed me to be slightly happy after the turmoil Qatar Airways given me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansnowcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Qatar airways arranged our stay at the hotel after mismanaging the connecting flight. Was not in a good mood when I arrived but the night at the hotel did make me feel good by the next day. The rooms were of a decent size with a comfortable bed and a reasonable washroom. The food was nice and the restaurant staff was friendly. Though we didn't pay for the room, I would not mind staying at the hotel again. Things can sure be improved but they are not reason enough to call the stay a bad experience.

Room Tip: Stayed at a deluxe room and it had a nice small seating area too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#37 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
#41 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#42 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
#56 of 141 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Doha
Copthorne Hotel Doha
#44 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#58 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Doha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Doha Hotel

Property: Safir Doha Hotel
Address: Al Arab & Najma Streets Intersection | Po Box 33003, Doha 33003, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safir Doha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Safir Doha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing