We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and very good food... Pity about the noise !”
Review of Aroma

Aroma
Ranked #84 of 857 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aroma is the award-winning stylish restaurant of Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha. Aroma has been selected as the Best Contemporary European restaurant in Doha and its Rushed for Time business lunch was chosen to be the Highly Commended Business Lunch at the Time Out Doha Restaurant Awards 2012. Kempinski's attention to admirable service and the highest quality food, gives the resident and visitor a dining experience unparalleled in today’s busy world. With an array of choice, it's just another benefit Kempinski residents enjoy every day. Partake in a showcase between classic recipes and fine dining. Be taken on an inescapable journey of culinary indulgence, where sharing is a pleasure. Admire gastronomic artistry transpiring from within the theatre kitchen while selecting cultivating breads and home-made desserts from our patisserie.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and very good food... Pity about the noise !”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Aroma is the only fine restaurant at Kempinsky hotel.
The menu is attractive and well-balanced, priced OK (not cheap but value for money is OK).
Very good food overall.
The service is absolutely fantastic, friendly and helpful and attentive.
Wine list is very expensive as everywhere else in Doha, but if you look long and hard enough (or by trial and error and with the waiters' competent help) you can find some hidden gems and/or some very pleasant wines for a relatively acceptable price.
The decor is a bit cold post-modern but why not, that's the style of the place anyway and it's a style like any other.
Only snag - but big, big snag for me : the restaurant is in quasi-open space to the bar, where almost every night live artists (good ones, too) give concerts at completely ear-deafening sound levels. As a result the restaurant is EXTREMELY noisy and it is often hard to entertain any conversation with fellow diners at your table, let alone to spend a relaxing time dining if that is what you wanted.
After several dinners there and several relatively unfruitful remarks (they can't really help it, can they ?) I had to stop dining there even though I lived upstairs. What a pity for the good food and the great service...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DemandingGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“First and after”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I went to Aroma 2 years ago and I remember it was very nice.
It was dinner; surely another atmosphere.

Today I went for lunch. The restaurant was so empty thare were only 2 tables to serve. The kitchen had at least 4 people cooking.
Service was so slow, because the kitchen was slower even more.
Now they do Pomodoro e Basilico brunch. Don't go! Of course, as usual there is no Italian in the kitchen by a German. Sorry, I am Italian and I know what is Italian food.
Their brunch consists of pasta and pizza and light sandwiches.
Pizza looked more like a buiscuit and the supposed mozzarella cheese was gummy, it would come off the pizza in block. Of course no need to mention the lists of pizzas: Hawaii, salami, all things we don't have in Italy. Pasta was even worse: pasta alfredo, which we dont have in Italy or with meatballs.
I think Doha's restaurants should start to be aware of something called tripadvisor.....so far, they are not! Otherwise the restaurant scenario would have improved!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank basbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, excellent service”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Had a dinner last night here, great experience!. Very good selection of dishes, interesting dishes, hard to decide what to order, but the service, Mohsen and Dominik, will give you knowledgeable advice and will take care of you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MajkaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
“Beyond the expectations....”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Went to Aroma for dinner by coincidence about a year ago and have since become my favourite restaurant in Doha, the last of which I was there being 2 weeks ago. The place is not too large and has a cosy ambience and is tastefully decorated. Tables are beautifully set-up and the tea lights and floral arrangement on every table sets the mood for the evening.
The selection of bread was fresh and with a variety of dips, mouth watering amuse bouche and my medium-rare angus beef sirloin steak was grilled to perfection and just melts in my mouth.
To end on a sweet note, we were recommended the chocolate fondant which is awesomely rich, yet heavenly and is a 'must have'.
The experience was priceless and though the price is a little above average, is worth paying for and highly recommended, all thanks to Mouhcine, a staff who attended to me. He was very professional and remarkable with his communication skills, customer handling and product knowledge, often going beyond what i expected.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The restaurant is small and cosy. The menu has interesting items such as camel burger. The waiter and supervisor were sohelpul and responsive. Though the restUrant is quiet, the music from nearby Lounge was noisy a little bit. The food is so good and of great taste. We ordered steak and they have a menu that pair the type of steak with the appropriAte type of wine. Very interesting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wh0208674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aroma also viewed

 

Been to Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing