We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Teppanyaki Dinner at Asia Live (Doha Marriott)”
Review of Asia Live!

Asia Live!
Ranked #238 of 861 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Teppanyaki Dinner at Asia Live (Doha Marriott)”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a New Years Day Teppanyaki Dinner at Asia Live in the Doha Marriott. The Teppanyaki meal - courtesy Chef Mark - was excellent. We went with the Asia Live set teppanyaki menu including veggies, chicken, scallops, shrimp and steak. It was a memorable visual as well as gastronomic experience for the entire family. The seafood was fresh and spectacular - as was the chicken. We had several drinks - the standout on the non-alcoholic side - was the fruit cocktail. Very refreshing indeed. Highly recommended for the ambiance (nice pagoda setting with rich cherry wood paneling), food and drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NivyUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely average....”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant had been recommended to my by my friend. I had a few expectations walking into the Marriott, but was quite disappointed with the quality of food served.

The decor is quite nice and staff very courteous.

We ordered Wanton soup, Pad Thai and Vietnamese Chicken with rice.
The soup was quite average. The pad thai was excessively sweet and some noodles burnt. The Vietnamese chicken was not worth writing about.
My wife had the Frozen Samurai which was quite good.

When evaluating the price against the quality of food I would rate this as average to poor. Considering the other Asian options available in Doha I do not believe there is anything at this restaurant that would warrant my visiting this place again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyviyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The faux pagoda setting was fun and the staff very welcoming. We had booked a teppanyaki table and Chef Mark didn't let us down. All of the entertainment that you expect and beautifully prepared food. We chose the meat and seafood set menu and loved it. I could have eaten the scallops until I burst.
Only negative was the wine list, very limited for such a good restaurant. I would like to see some of the South American wines and Spanish cava offered in some of the Marriott's other restaurants added to the list.
We will visit again, thanks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great variety of food, drink and service”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I visited this venue last year and was impressed by the variety of food and nice bubbly to match!!! From tender rib steak to spicy indian food, there is something for most people. I really enjoyed being able to move from food stall to food stall and sample so many styles. The staff(mainly expat) were always quick to help or recommend- most efficiently too. There is a leisurely pace which allows you to feel relaxed and savour the dishes. Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sushi and Sashimi Buffet”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Whilst the Chef and the restaurant service staff was good and attentive. I give them top marks for the service. However, my honest assessment is that the food is below par for an authentic Japanese meal. If you are a Westerner or South Asian then you will probably be thrilled by the teppanyaki display.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Chan9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asia Live! also viewed

 

Been to Asia Live!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing