We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Doha The City
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great rooms, but that's about it”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I wasn't too impressed by my recent stay at this hotel.
First, the good. The rooms are really nice, very spacious and modern with fantastic views. Also the location is great. Being able to walk to the mall was welcome and there are plenty of restaurants around.
However I have to say the price was quite high. Breakfast was not included and the buffet in the morning didn't have any hot food. This isn't so bad but it cost over $35!! i can't eat that much toast and muffin. Next day I ordered room service which was more reasonable but my selection of preserves were all apricot flavour. There were other few examples of this lack of attention to detail, eg, toiletries were not replaced by room service.
The other issue was that I must have been located next to a suite or apartment as there was a crying baby next door. Not the hotels faults but didn't make for a restful sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Vinda,
thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. It goes without saying that we can not be satisfied with 3stars and will continue our quest to consistently deliver 5star services at all times. Thank you for the great praise on rooms (except toiletry replenishment), for Breakfast we suggest the Lobby Lounge for quick & small bites. It is open from 7am and fresh bakery items start at 3U$. Maybe give it a try next time? We would be delighted.
Your Crew at the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    273
    67
    24
    15
See reviews for
126
103
76
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel and really tall.
Rooms are OK but if you don't smoke ask for a non smoking room. I forgot to and although room was ok it really stank of smoke when I checked in.
It is a bit confused at moment as the main entrance is not open.
Lifts can be a nuisance and very slow to arrive. Important not to get in the Residence floor lifts by mistake as tricky to navigate back to hotel.
Bar at the very top has great views but a bit soulless. One night was in there and the speakers cranked into a tango and the most bizarre grouping of people broke into some very dodgy Argentinian Tango moves. Not a conducive atmosphere for anything unless you found it amusing. The bar is disappointing.
We ate in the Steak restaurant the name escapes me - it was OK not great but OK.
Breakfast is a bit like how I imagine a Travel Lodge would be.
This is a hotel trying hard but with very tough competition in Doha.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Namshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Namshur,
thank you for your feedback. the Main entrance is currently being enhanced as our guests told us that the arrival experience does not fully match the hotel... your with is our command! Strata features the Latino night on Mondays on 56th floor, which is usually visited by 120-150 guests of the dancing community, we certainly could have done better by offering you a seat in our wine lounge or restaurant section on 55th floor... it is one of the most stunning places in Doha. Prime, our steakhouse usually has a very good track-record and is among the 10 best restaurants of Doha and its No.1 steakhouse. We take your comments seriously and will continue thriving for excellence. Our new Executive Chef and F&B Director are working on the overall offering and we are certain, on a return, you can feel the difference.
With best wishes and season greetings,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was the second year we were staying for several weeks in this hotel during an exhibition in Doha. And we will come back.

The size of the rooms and particularly the suites is amazing. The property, originally intended to be an Apartment house, is structured in a way that every room is huge. If you have been in London hotels (where rooms are so small you have to open the window so you can unpack your suitcase), you really appreciate that freedom.

There is plenty of space for hanging your cloths and stowing your stuff if you are not here just for a day. We traveled with 12 suitcases and had still plenty of space left in the closets. This would not be the case is most other hotels I have seen.

It is a rather brand new property and in great shape. The Managers were very caring and handled any issues we had perfectly well and fast (the GM and the Resident Manager). The hotel does give a lot of benefit for a Royal Ambassador of the chain and it is one of those experiences which honestly makes us keeping up the status. It is these "extras" that you really appreciate and make you want to maintain the loyalty to the chain.

The Club lounge is great too, lots of space, fantastic view, and specifically the Philippine staff are making you feel genuinely welcome.

Given the prices for good apartments in Doha even the Residence Suites of the hotel are an option that can be more economical. Worth checking into this if you are in for a longer stay. And enjoy the service at the same time for the same money.

Finally also the location is well chosen. West Bay is where most of the business is happening. Shopping mall in walking distance, anything we needed was within a maximum 15 minute drive.

Overall this was a pleasant stay, and I can recommend it to all who know Interconti hotels - one of the better ones.

Room Tip: All of the room are huge, but if you have a status, talk to a manager about the upgrade, and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoeldenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Mr Goeldenitz,
it has been a pleasure having you stay as one of our most loyal guests to the IHG group. Thank you for the attribute of being "one of the better ones"! Upon return we shall be further improved and hopefully qualify for being "one of the best"! Thank you for you input during the stay also and with best regards,
Your Crew at the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I would like extend my warmest THank you for the service that you rendered to our team during our stay in your hotel and apartment. Specially to Igor, Fredie and Maurine in the residence side extremely unforgettable the day to day how you assist us in our transportation taxi, asking our night and if we had our breakfast. During the afternoon, offering drinks in the apartment after a long and tiring day, makes especial, and when you are seeing the geniune care feels like home.

Excellent location nearby to city center and katara. Vallet parker sometimes very late to take he car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Karim,
thank you so much for your positive comments for our Residences and the entire team looking after our guests. We certainly take your comment on the valet on board and have already made changes to the parking access in order for them to deliver quicker and even better service in the future.
With best regards,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

There are some good places to go to in this hotel. Hive is a very good lounge to watch football games and it has very good service. Romany is one of the best guys in the hotel he is on top of the game on drinks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saleh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Saleh,
thank you so much for pointing out and recommending our facilities over and above the rooms with their stunning views and good size.
Hive is certainly one of the gems and the team deserves to be commended.
Thank you once again and see you back soon,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Even though there were some improvement works going on in the main lobby area, my two night stay was nothing short of superb. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out the hotel operated seamlessly and delivered on all levels. Fantastic room, awesome bathroom, great breakfast, lovely staff. Once again the Intercontinental hits the right balance between quality and value. Difficult to beat, in my opinion.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertOryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear DesertOryx,
thank you for dropping us such a great note on your most recent stay.
We are currently upgrading the arrival experience at the main entrance as this was something our guests had flagged to us as being slightly short of expectation... hope to show of an even greater product to you on your return... for the rest... we love your comments and will certainly work on a continuation and further improvements!
Until then we remain with kind regards,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My experience with this hotel is nothing but excellent from reception to concierge to breakfast at "The Square". Maitre D' Mary was unforgettable for her attention to detail and efficient service. It was a very pleasant stay throughout.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aknsu47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear aknsu,
thank you for the attribute of "excellent". This is gladly passed on to the team in general and of course "Mary" for her special mention in particular!
Hope to see you back on your next trip to Qatar to continue the journey with us.
Best wishes from the Crew of the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha
InterContinental Doha
#15 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
1.7 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#11 of 134 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Property: InterContinental Doha The City
Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing