We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Doha The City
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good rooms and central location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in Doha, the room was quite nice and big, with a separate sitting area and a study.

The lobby is too small, but the overall place is ok, nothing exceptional or unique. Internet was reasonable although not fast, and the room service food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mohamed,
thank you for the good feedback on our rooms... the smallest is indeed 45sqm big and starts from floor 27th... amazing views guaranteed! You must have surely arrived at the Residence Lobby of the Hotel... the main entrance is now open and the only point of arrival to the hotel and certainly leads into an impressive lobby which stretches over 4 floors and is all in glass (see also the pictures on TripAdvisor).
Hope to see you back soon and receive you in style in our Main Lobby.
Brgds,
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    282
    69
    25
    16
See reviews for
127
104
77
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

15 days at this hotel in May 2014. Long enough to assess the place. This is a very efficient and well run hotel. No complaints with staff or services. Great views across the city, well kept modern rooms. Drawbacks? A first floor bar that's like something from a London hotel in the 1980's. Smoking, decades old music, karaoke nights and it's dingy.......The Strata bar is the same. Come on guys, you have a city with such exuberant architecture but your taste in bars for westerners is 30 yrs behind the times.
The breakfasts are very good and not to be missed, the coffee bar on the ground floor is pleasant too but the other restaurants and bars are the hotel's weak spot. Oh, but they do have a well equipped gym and pool on the 46th floor that you shouldn't miss. So perhaps spend your free time there.

Room Tip: Facing out to the bay to look at the architecture of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCdop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear TCdop,
thank you for your balanced feedback. Hive (the 80s bar :)) is actually been awarded one of "the" nightspots in Doha... probably down to taste... Strata is its counterweight and caters for contemporary music and events and surely has the best view in town for a meal or cocktails... however we hear you and working intensively to further improve all our products, because you are right... WE ARE THE CITY!
Hope to see you back soon to let us know how we did!
Best wishes from your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had a great first stay in this hotel. I checked in very late at night, but my room was ready and my bags were taken up ahead of me while I grabbed a quick bite to eat in the steakhouse.

The room was very big and very comfortable with an expansive view over the city.

The breakfast was very good, and there was a good selection of Arabic food, Western food and healthy options like yoghurt and fruits.

Overall a very good stay and a great base for my business travel in Doha.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_YTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear The_YTT,
thank you for the great words on your recent stay and the recommendation! "Very Good", "Great", "Comfortable" are certainly attributes we like reading and to be shared!
See you back on your next trip to Qatar!
Your Team at the InterContinental Doha The City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very friendly staff. Helpful in nature. Location is very good. Near to our work place. Break fast variety in yammy. Room attendant are very good. No need to wait in reception. Check in check out is very easy. Frontline good staff.
House keeping will be excellent. Rooms are very clean and neatly maintained. Mylene who is looking after of my room is very pleasing and keep room in excellent condition. This is because of the good nature of the supervisor Rezhel who is also approachable for any requirement.

Naveen Kumar, the assistant executive who is excellent in guest appraoch and is looking after guest requirement very friendly.

Room Tip: Every room is having excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaroopgangolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear swaroopgangolli,
thank you very much for your detailed review. We proudly have shared your comments with the team members mentioned and all who support them and others in the cohort to deliver the InterContinental Doha The City hospitality you can rightfully expect. It will be our utmost pleasure to serve you best also on your next trips to Doha.
With best wishes from the entire team of the InterContinental Doha The City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in InterContinental Doha - The City from 13-15 May 2014 for a business purpose. In general I liked the hotel environment which allowed me to achieve my goals. In particular I found the housekeeping services is Excellent under supervision of Mr Prabhat Shukla, Executive Housekeeper who met in my room to make sure that I feel good about Hotel services. I will not forget to mention here that Mr Mir Mostafizur from Housekeeping is dedicated for his job and provided me with a special care during my stay.

Room Tip: No need to bring your Personal health kit, it available in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Ebrahim,
thank you ever so much for sharing your great feedback with us and others. We gladly shared it with the entire team who is delighted to see you leave (and hopefully return) as a happy guest!
Looking forward welcoming you back soonest!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great staff that were very helpful. Hotel was extremely clean and rooms were HUGE!
The buffet was very rich and had a huge variety of foods.
The only negative was that the swimming pool was actually in the shade, however, everything else was amazing and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Roberta,
thank you very much for the review and the great feedback and recommendation! It is true that our open roof top pool (the highest in Qatar) is partially shaded... in mid-summer this is a very positively perceived feature, for the ultimate sun-seekers however it might be a little inconvenient. Nevertheless, we hope to see you back, independent of the season!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team awaits you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'm not kidding when I say I think this hotel outclasses the Sheraton.
I was given an Executive Suite on my recent stay - so many rooms I didn't know what to do with myself. To be fair it was an upgrade but the regular rooms are equally well appointed. If you have access to the executive lounge you won't be disappointed - it's larger than many I have visited before, the choice of food & beverage is very good and the staff very attentive.
As the hotel is fairly new (2.5 years) not everyone knows how to find it if you're there for business but the taxi drivers should be ok.
Alternatively use their own car service - BMW's.

You have to try Prime, their steak house - excellent.

Room Tip: Be lucky and get an upgrade - executive suites are something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myshelbyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at InterContinental Doha The City, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Myshelbyford,
thank you very much for trying us as your new option in Doha! Obviously your recommendation and ranking is an honor for us and we shall be doing our utmost to keep this up and continue to improve daily.
Looking forward welcoming you back!
Your InterContinental Doha The City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha
InterContinental Doha
#18 of 135 in Doha
929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.3 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha The City

Property: InterContinental Doha The City
Address: P.O. Box 22178 | Off Al Wahda Street, Doha 8299, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha The City 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Doha The City is perfectly located in the exclusive area of West Bay, and stands tall amid the financial district, the Diplomatic Street and is only 5 minutes away from Qatar Exhibition Centre and 15 minutes from Doha International Airport. At close proximity from Doha Golf Club, Souq Waqif and Katara Cultural Village and is opposite the City Centre Shopping Mall it is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Doha The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing