We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of The Torch Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Torch Doha
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights, it's a good hotel with an excellent location connected to Villaggio mall, the room are Higj-Tech and clean, the breakfast is great and the overall stay was good.

I think the service can be improved, especially with staff as many of them are probably new, but this is not a big problem.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TariqAlsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    82
    16
    6
    10
See reviews for
77
69
19
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My family and I had a very wonderful experience using Double Deluxe room connected to a Suite. It was marvelous accommodation and the hospitality was in top shape. Welcoming Smile and drink (during hot season) is all what we first need once we enter the Hotel and felt the cold breath. Waw, was the first impression of all my family members for the decoration and all setup of the hotel (inside and outside),
Its lights of the building in the night can be seen from a long distance and all can enjoy its light dance ... etc.

For all of us (family), YES we give the hotel 10 out of 10.
Naser

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NASER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hotel very cool

Very strong beautiful location and next to the best shopping in Qatar Villagio mall

Very cool to use iPad in control in everything inside the room of conditioning, TV and illuminations

Room Tip: all the rooms out sided these is a bridg
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mubarak d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What an incredible feat of engineering. Built for the 2006 (?) regional games this hotel sits plumb in the middle of a sporting area surrounded by stadium, pitches and arenas. As the name suggests it is built in the shape of a Olympic type torch and has a fantastic eternal light show at night. Everything is built around the central circular pillars and hence the reception and public areas are huge and roomy although not as noisy as expected. The bedrooms fan out from the circular corridors with large panoramic windows and are large, modern and very comfortable. Everything in the rooms is controlled by a cleverly designed application on an iPad so you can lie in bed and change the mood lighting, open & close curtains, turn on/off the radio TV or music CDs and even order room service. There was nice big desk to work from for these needing to complete reports etc. Laundry was efficient and reasonably priced. The bathroom, with separate shower and bath, was very luxurious and obviously used desire parts. There is only one problem is if you want a sink of hot water, i.e: for a wet shave, the designer sink doesn't have a plug as the drainage is a long slit! The sink is nice to look at but impracticable?
Food was on the whole good and breakfasts (in the Flying Carpet restaurant) consisted of the usual huge buffet arrangement in all large international hotels. The disappointment was the 360 Restaurant where the food was average considering the hype and the magnificent view that constantly changed as the restaurant moved around.
Staff where always very helpful and attentive.
Overall it's a great hotel that is something different and interesting.

Room Tip: Rooms all fan out from the central corridors so there should be much to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Refardless of the absolut perfection of all of the hotel details, service, food, rooms, quality, architecture, personal .... Doha and Qatar are a must if someone wants to taste the oriental luxus !

My coingratulations to The Torch staff and my respect and admiration to Aspire !

Don't miss it !

Room Tip: All of them with an impresive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmechano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Went to Doha to watch a football match, so expected traffic in the approach to the hotel (as it is located next/adjacent to the stadium) and we landed in Doha a few hours before the match. So no blame to the hotel or its location for that. Location is remote, but there is a mall attached.

There was chaos at the door as fans were waiting to see the stars, but the doorman immediately identified me as a hotel client and came to the car to get the luggage. Well done.

Check-in
Staff at check in very friendly and polite, but the check-in procedure was a little slow. Scanning of passports could be faster or even requested by email when booking and this could speed up process (unless they need the Doha entry stamp).

Room
Room comfortable in size. The high tech system of controlling all from the iPad made my 9 year old thrilled, and honestly easier than having a remote for the tv, and hundreds of switches for lights in the room. Software very easy to use. They could add the hotel services (restaurants and others) and city information to the iPad.

Complimentary mini bar (first stock), after you finish the contents then you pay for next lot. Though remember its a dry hotel and therefore no alcohol throughout.

If you need pitch dark rooms to sleep, the room lacks a blackout curtain, light gets in from the floor as curtains are a little short (i presume so they flow easily with the electric system) and lights from phone system and iPad dock are on throughout. Light is not strong in the morning, but room is not pitch dark.

Bathroom excellent with separate shower box, and good amenities. Shower box had a rain shower, but it was so high that by the time the water got to you the pressure was not that strong, but still was a good shower.

Cupboard/drawer space minimum if a couple is together and the trip is longer than a few days ( I was with my son and there for one night).

Bed very comfortable. Excellent in size and comfort.

Work desk relatively small and too clustered with typical hotel literature, which should be placed somewhere else (coffee table, under tv furniture) to allow the desk to be used.

View is obstructed by the mesh system on the outside of the structure, but this is part of the design and it is what gives the hotel its character from the outside.
The outside lighting system is incredible and on that day they had changed the whole color of the hotel lights to the national colors of the Spanish football team. Spectacular.

Room service
Ordered a quick snack before the match for me and my son. Order done effortlessly through the in room iPad. Ordered a Burger and meat was a little dry and quality of the meat was average. A top hotel should be offering much better quality. Quality can always be compared in simple dishes.

Breakfast was good but pancakes arrived a little cold.

Lobby snack bar
After the match my other son (he only came to Doha for a few hours and did not stay at the hotel) was hungry so we ordered some snacks at the lobby. The ordering procedure was very slow. Staff was always smiling and polite but VER VERY, slow. It took 15 minutes to get a coke and water, and the lobby bar was not full at all (4 tables occupied) and 5 staff at the lobby bar. When we ordered the food that did not take too long. Again when we finished, the bill took too long. The staff are not good at all at Multi-tasking though very courteous.

On the day of departure we wanted an afternoon snack and the staff was eager to accommodate an order of a fresh soup off the menu as kitchen was not too busy. This is what a 5 start hotel should do, we'll done.

Special mention
Around midnight I needed to print some documents so one of the ladies came from the reception to the business centre and she was very competent and helpful. I found the business centre a little small. It was an open one and many tables but actually workstations with laptops I only saw one. The lady was very helpful and competent with this.

We had seen the same lady before in the lift and my son had forgotten his pen (he was in a mission to get autographs from players), and she immediately came forward and gave him her pen. Great of her! her name was Sam.

Wifi
Complimentary wifi throughout hotel which is great, and though one of he comments says it was slow, I found it adequate for normal Internet usage (did not download heavy documents). Lack of passwords and possibilities of connecting multiple devices makes it a hotel of the era. Great step.

Conclusion
Great property. Pleasant staff. Needs more movement to keep staff more dynamic.

Recommendation:
More aggressive in marketing to increase room occupancy, but should not lower prices to filter clientele, so maybe packages including meals, massages or something complimentary to bring more people in. Would not like to see such a great hotel wasted.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArBy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
822 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Restaurant 360 is located on the 47th floor of the incredible Torch Hotel. The Hotel is a stunning construction, super sleek and futuristic but clearly not yet heavily frequented as there was hardly any one around either the hotel or the restaurant during our lunch time visit. In 360 there were just 2 other diners. It is a long trek from central Doha, around 30 minutes and 50 QR in a cab so perhaps that is why. The restaurant revolves and the views are far reaching across the city. We had a good time and the moving views are a talking point but the atmosphere was a tad surreal given the lack of punters in a place on such a scale. A pianist/singer entertained whilst we dined. Food was good, not highly memorable but enjoyable. Service was first class. The restaurant is dry but they make excellent mocktails. We enjoyed the experience and it is worth a trip just to view the striking design if you can be bothered to trek out of town. Aspire Park is next door as is Villagio Mall so there are other reasons to visit the area if these would interest you. Children are not allowed in 360 on an evening which is why we came during the day. There is another restaurant within The Torch where children are welcome at night called The Flying Carpet and this looked amazing also.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Al Aziziyah Doha
7.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
7.1 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
10.3 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torch Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torch Doha

Property: The Torch Doha
Address: Al Waab Street, Aspire Zone, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Torch Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 300 meters high and with 360° panoramic views across Doha, The Torch is haven for discerning visitors, from sports enthusiasts and business leaders to health and wellness seekers.Currently the tallest hotel in Qatar, The Torch is the centerpiece of Doha's majestic Sports City - Aspire Zone. The iconic hotel is spread across 51 floors with rooms and suites featuring a unique iPad in-Room Solution, mood lighting system in 12 different colours and Interactive LED TVs. The Torch Doha is located on Al Waab Street, 30 minutes north of Qatar International Airport and 20 minutes away from the city centre. Hotel guests have private walkway access to Doha's largest shopping mall Villaggio. Our meeting rooms feature state-of-the-art technology including built in LCD projectors, high speed internet to support real-time video conferencing and smart TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Torch Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing