We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, good food.”
Review of The Torch Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Torch Doha
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Ended our break in Doha by dining out in the 360 restaurant at the top of the Torch. The food was very good, had a selection of starters, including stuffed vine leaves, but the main course was fantastic! I had King Prawns, and King was the correct word for them!! They were huge!!! I struggled to eat them - although I did manage to squeeze a dessert in!! The "mock tails" were lovely, and it was nice to have a restaurant with no alcohol!! In fact that was one of the best things about Doha overall, no alcohol in most places, so there was no drunkenness in the street that you get in many destinations!! A very pleasant change!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen25364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for The Torch Doha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

The torch is an impressive hotel. The service is very efficient and extremely kind. Always with a smile. This hotel is a very cosy or intimate for a dinner or breakfast but the quality of the food is excellent. Some little problems with the IPAD control of the room functions but again this was solved in 5 minutes!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DirkSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

What a hotel, ultimate luxury and unbelievably excellent service. Our room was spectacular; comfortable, spacious, clean with state-of-the-art 5-star comfort and facilites. The service and hospitaltiy was outstanding, location is convenient although some distance from the city centre but has the fantastic "Villaggio" shopping mall next door. Breakfast was excellent, room was excellent, service is excellent. Would not hesitate staying there next time in Qatar.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and comfortable. With a hotel of this quality I would think all rooms are on equ...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights, it's a good hotel with an excellent location connected to Villaggio mall, the room are Higj-Tech and clean, the breakfast is great and the overall stay was good.

I think the service can be improved, especially with staff as many of them are probably new, but this is not a big problem.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TariqAlsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My family and I had a very wonderful experience using Double Deluxe room connected to a Suite. It was marvelous accommodation and the hospitality was in top shape. Welcoming Smile and drink (during hot season) is all what we first need once we enter the Hotel and felt the cold breath. Waw, was the first impression of all my family members for the decoration and all setup of the hotel (inside and outside),
Its lights of the building in the night can be seen from a long distance and all can enjoy its light dance ... etc.

For all of us (family), YES we give the hotel 10 out of 10.
Naser

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NASER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hotel very cool

Very strong beautiful location and next to the best shopping in Qatar Villagio mall

Very cool to use iPad in control in everything inside the room of conditioning, TV and illuminations

Room Tip: all the rooms out sided these is a bridg
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mubarak d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What an incredible feat of engineering. Built for the 2006 (?) regional games this hotel sits plumb in the middle of a sporting area surrounded by stadium, pitches and arenas. As the name suggests it is built in the shape of a Olympic type torch and has a fantastic eternal light show at night. Everything is built around the central circular pillars and hence the reception and public areas are huge and roomy although not as noisy as expected. The bedrooms fan out from the circular corridors with large panoramic windows and are large, modern and very comfortable. Everything in the rooms is controlled by a cleverly designed application on an iPad so you can lie in bed and change the mood lighting, open & close curtains, turn on/off the radio TV or music CDs and even order room service. There was nice big desk to work from for these needing to complete reports etc. Laundry was efficient and reasonably priced. The bathroom, with separate shower and bath, was very luxurious and obviously used desire parts. There is only one problem is if you want a sink of hot water, i.e: for a wet shave, the designer sink doesn't have a plug as the drainage is a long slit! The sink is nice to look at but impracticable?
Food was on the whole good and breakfasts (in the Flying Carpet restaurant) consisted of the usual huge buffet arrangement in all large international hotels. The disappointment was the 360 Restaurant where the food was average considering the hype and the magnificent view that constantly changed as the restaurant moved around.
Staff where always very helpful and attentive.
Overall it's a great hotel that is something different and interesting.

Room Tip: Rooms all fan out from the central corridors so there should be much to choose from.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Al Aziziyah Doha
7.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
7.1 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#13 of 136 in Doha
705 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torch Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torch Doha

Address: Al Waab Street, Aspire Zone, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £132 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Torch Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 300 meters high and with 360° panoramic views across Doha, The Torch is haven for discerning visitors, from sports enthusiasts and business leaders to health and wellness seekers.Currently the tallest hotel in Qatar, The Torch is the centerpiece of Doha's majestic Sports City - Aspire Zone. The iconic hotel is spread across 51 floors with rooms and suites featuring a unique iPad in-Room Solution, mood lighting system in 12 different colours and Interactive LED TVs. The Torch Doha is located on Al Waab Street, 30 minutes north of Qatar International Airport and 20 minutes away from the city centre. Hotel guests have private walkway access to Doha's largest shopping mall Villaggio. Our meeting rooms feature state-of-the-art technology including built in LCD projectors, high speed internet to support real-time video conferencing and smart TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Torch Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing