We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea garden should be KINDER GARDEN”
Review of The Torch Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Torch Doha
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We could not stand 5 minutes in the "tea garden" becuase of the noise that is not suitable for a 5 star hotel rea luange the childerns were every where screeming and crying and when we asked to change the table becuase of the noise the madam said that the other table was reserced by number which I find hard to belive we just left talked to the manger and he only say they will think about the noise he did not even bother providing an alternative table.
If you like an Applebeez experience that might work for you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Fatma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia O, Public Relations Manager at The Torch Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Fatma,

Greetings from THE TORCH DOHA!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the TORCH TEA GARDEN.

We would like to assure you that we continue to work on the aspects that you pointed out to be unsatisfactory to you.

Your honest review and constructive comments are very much appreciated.

Wishing you great success in your future endeavors.

Kind Regards.

Claudia O.
Communications & PR Manager
THE TORCH DOHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for The Torch Doha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Here on business and to settle in I needed to stay here while I waited for my apartment to be made ready for me. It was a lovely experience, close to the biggest mall in Doha and with some great views from the upper floors. The iPad made controlling the lights, curtains and tv really easy. The room was clean and spacious, but no iron, and when on business you need one of those. The only complaint is the walls are not sound proof and the couple next door were very noisy. And it's dry.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank nightboat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia O, Public Relations Manager at The Torch Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings from THE TORCH DOHA!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We are glad that to hear that our location and room facilties were to your liking.

As complete guest satisfaction is our goal we would like to assure you that we continue to work on the aspects that you pointed out to be unsatisfactory to you.

Your honest review and constructive comments are very much appreciated.

Wishing you great success in your future endeavors.

Kind Regards.

Claudia O.
Communications & PR Manager
THE TORCH DOHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I chose the hotel because of its location.
Basically it is next to a luxurious shopping mall, the Villagio (link with an airconditioned bridge), about 25 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from downtown.
The rooms are nice the bed of top quality. However: you must use a provided ipad to do anything in the room (TV, lights, etc).
Fitness closes at 10 pm! Disappointing.
Breakfast with good variety but the restaurant (flying carpet) has no reasonable decoration at all. One table next to the other. Staff very friendly.
Attention: the swimming pool is just about large enough to dip your feet. Do not even think to actually swim - too small. Nice pool deck with a few - ok for tan but not for fitness.

Room Tip: you will need to close the curtains even during the day because they have structure which will other...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia O, Public Relations Manager at The Torch Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings from THE TORCH DOHA!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We are glad that to hear that our location and some of our room facilities were to your liking.

As complete guest satisfaction is our goal we would like to assure you that we continue to work on the aspects that you pointed out to be unsatisfactory to you.

Your honest review and constructive comments are very much appreciated.

Wishing you great success in your future endeavors.

Kind Regards.

Claudia O.
Communications & PR Manager
THE TORCH DOHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Quick reservation & check-in. Nice suite & spacious bathroom. Fast service. In-room dining is okay. 1 point deducted for: water pressure in the bathroom is really weak, very annoying .. & breakfast was inclusive but you HAVE to have it down at the restaurant, otherwise you will pay for it, strange!! I have never experience this in any other hotel ever. Overall, nice experience

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank abdulaziz_alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia O, Public Relations Manager at The Torch Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings from THE TORCH DOHA!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We are glad that to hear that room facilities were to your liking.

As complete guest satisfaction is our goal we would like to assure you that we continue to work on the aspects that you pointed out to be unsatisfactory to you.

Your honest review and constructive comments are very much appreciated.

Wishing you great success in your future endeavors.

Kind Regards.

Claudia O.
Communications & PR Manager
THE TORCH DOHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We decided to visit the rotating 360 degree restaurant at the Torch Hotel for lunch. We were whisked up to the 47 th floor in the designated lift. First impressions were good. This is dry restaurant, we were given fruit juice on arrival at our table and offered soft drinks. It was a bit disconcerting when I realised the floor was gradually rotating. A complete rotation takes 90 minutes. I chose a set menu, my husband chose a starter and a main. The food was average. However the views are spectacular. Unfortunately whoever designed the restaurant obviously didn't plan to eat there. There is a 6 inch wide bar at the widow which is at eye level, so either you stretch up or crouch down to get a panoramic view whilst dinning. It is worth going and this is now on our list to take visitors to Doha.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surreyjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia O, Public Relations Manager at The Torch Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings from THE TORCH DOHA!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We are glad that to hear that the view from THREE SIXTY restaurant was to your liking.

As complete guest satisfaction is our goal we would like to assure you that we continue to work on the aspects that you pointed out to be unsatisfactory to you.

Your honest review and constructive comments are very much appreciated.

Wishing you great success in your future endeavors.

Kind Regards.

Claudia O.
Communications & PR Manager
THE TORCH DOHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is our second visit here, and glad to be back.
The Torch is built in the shape of an Olympic type torch and truly is an incredible feat of engineering with an amazing eternal light show at night. It stands plumb and is surrounded by stadium, pitches and arenas. The interior is built around the central circular pillars –an avant-garde art! It cannot be missed because it is visible from miles away and becomes even more attractive when it shows off its lights at night. It is spectacular!

LOCATION: Right at the centre of the Aspire Zone –the majestic sports city of Doha!

CHECK-IN: Quick check in, the service was efficient and the staff friendly.

STAFF/SERVICE: I was impressed by the customer service, and throughout our stay we were treated like VIP guests. A huge thanks goes to Claudia the communications manager who although very busy, she would call to see if everything was ok. You seldom come across such outstanding and impeccable service. I cannot say enough about this hospitable, delightful venue. I want to thank them all from the bell boy to the reception, and the management. They know well how to make guests feel important and valued.

ROOM: We were accompanied by Sahran to the glass elevators and up to our Deluxe room #1107, where with discreet he explained about the amenities of our fancy and high-tech room.
I cannot say that our room was big, but it was functional, designed to provide optimum relaxation to the guests.

With the iPad one can control remotely almost everything; depending on your mood, the colour of the back lighting of the bedroom changes to 12 different colours and you can create the atmosphere you wish. I guess this is the highlight of the rooms. In the same way you can call the room service, turn on/off TV, radio, music, create your own playlist from the song choices, open/close curtains/blinds.

The King Bed was extremely comfortable. Through the 3 week stay in Doha this proved to be the most comfortable of all.

The nice long and Work Desk clustered with magazines, leaflets & hotel info proved handy. Complimentary WiFi adequate for normal Internet usage with a reasonable speed throughout the premises.

The room has a huge double glazed wall (window) but the view is obstructed by the mesh system on the outside of the structure. However this is the character of the hotel and it cannot be otherwise. Desiring an unobstructed view one may get to the 47th floor (revolving restaurant).
A nice touch from the management which is highly appreciated is the Complimentary mini bar (first stock) after you finish the contents you pay the next lot. Coffee/tea facilities, an Espresso machine. Some fruit in a platter and unlimited water.

The Cupboard was normal with plenty of drawers and space. (Safe box, hair dryer, slippers).

BATHROOM: Elegant, spacious with impressive features. There is both a bath tab and a separate walk in shower room (rainfall style) Luxurious bathrobes and towels which pleasantly smell freshness.

Ample of toiletries (a signature scent) –the Asprey Purple Water products which are synonymous with luxury and refinement. The products reveal a fresh citrus fragrance blended with spicy undertones. I can’t think of any other brand or amenity that can enrich the guest’s experience better.

BREAKFAST: It was sumptuous! Live cooking stations. Judging from the variety, quality, presentation, taste, the impeccable and professional service of the staff at the Flying Carpet and the ambience, I can tell that it was one of the best I had for years….if not the Very Best! Mouna, Mari and Jane were exceptional as well as Wael. Thank you guys for this extra touch of customer service. You are precious to the Torch.

BEVERAGE: An alcohol free hotel like most hotels in Doha, but at least here there is an excuse. Many of the customers are athletes so the hotel promotes healthy alternatives/ sports lifestyle, but of course there are excellent mock cocktails (mocktails) which are irresistible.

POOL: When you come to the pool you feel as if you are in the air. The views are stunning, the pool is not that big but once you are here you should experience this feeling of swimming out on the 19th floor.

RESTAURANTS: Last year we had dinner at the Three Sixty which is located on the 47th floor. The view from out there is stunning and you can see the whole of Doha as the floor revolves around. Gourmet dishes, and amazing piano music ideal for a romantic outings. I did not dine here this time so I cannot comment further about this specific restaurant.

FLYING CARPET: Located on the Mezzanine 2nd level, this amazing all-day dining restaurant exceeded our expectations.

STAFF/SERVICE: An unbeatable team of professionals in every way, courteous and attentive. They made sure that we were perfectly content throughout the entire meal.

AMBIENCE: Seeing the flying carpets hanging from the ceiling and its beautiful interior that carries the guest, I felt as if I were part of an Arabian Night’s tale. If the theme of the cuisine was dedicated to the Arab (Persian Gulf Cuisine) that night, it would have by all means be the perfect experience!

It was the Mexican theme night instead. I have to admit I was reticent at first as I am not a huge fan of this kind of cuisine and thought I would be disappointed. How wrong I was!

The first impression was the presentation. Wow! Everything was nicely laid out, the buffet was rich with a great selection of Mexican delicacies. There were amazing dips, salads and a variety of Mexican salsa, hot appetizers, Guacamole, Tortilla, Enchiladas, Tacos, Mexican spicy rice and many more. The selection was impressive, and I enjoyed nibbling different things. I loved the hot appetizers!

Of course there was the open kitchen with (salmon fillet, Beef Rib Eye, Chicken Skewer, Prawns) cooked fresh in front of you. Of course that night, I preferred to try the Mexican cuisine instead and I did not regret it.

The taste was great, -a proof that the ingredients were excellent, and I enjoyed everything I put on my plate. There was a great selection of delectable desserts, puddings, and cakes, all nicely presented and of exquisite taste.

THE ROUND AREA: The perfect area to combine sports and leisure where guests of the Torch have complimentary access to the Aspire Park -an oasis of 88 hectare precinct with running tracks and open green spaces. The small internal lake is a center of attraction ideal for picnics, jogging, or simply having a stroll.

VILLAGIO: A paradise for shopping and entertainment. It is amazing how the Torch is connected to the Villaggio Mall through an air-conditioned walkway. It makes it convenient for guests of the hotel avoiding the heat and walk to the Mall through this tunnel. The experience of shopping out here is unique and you have a feeling that you are doing your shopping in Venice. There are gondolas and balcony interior settings. It is a place where you can find plenty of entertainment for the kids, fashionable line restaurants, themed retail areas, cinemas, even an ice rink. During our 5 day stay in this area and even though we spent much time in the Mall, we hardly saw one or two gondola rides. This is probably because the fee is still quite expensive.

IN ALL: The Torch is a beautiful hotel with great potential, a haven for sports enthusiasts, businessmen, for the discerning travelers and health and wellness seekers. I long to return when back to Doha again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia O, Manager at The Torch Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Good day,

Greetings from THE TORCH DOHA!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We were delighted to welcome you to the hotel and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel and service.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Pawel Mrozek

Food & Beverage Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It was our first visit to the Torch today and a special occasion for my dad's birthday. We were a party of 6 adults and 4 children aged 3-6 years. We all enjoyed the experience thoroughly. The view from the 360 revolving floor gave us an amazing view of Doha and kept the kids interested for 2 hours. The menu choice was varied and suited everyone and the quality of food and service was outstanding. We will be back again for sure…..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazza1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Al Aziziyah Doha
7.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
7.1 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#13 of 136 in Doha
705 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Marriott Marquis City Center Doha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torch Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torch Doha

Address: Al Waab Street, Aspire Zone, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £133 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Torch Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 300 meters high and with 360° panoramic views across Doha, The Torch is haven for discerning visitors, from sports enthusiasts and business leaders to health and wellness seekers.Currently the tallest hotel in Qatar, The Torch is the centerpiece of Doha's majestic Sports City - Aspire Zone. The iconic hotel is spread across 51 floors with rooms and suites featuring a unique iPad in-Room Solution, mood lighting system in 12 different colours and Interactive LED TVs. The Torch Doha is located on Al Waab Street, 30 minutes north of Qatar International Airport and 20 minutes away from the city centre. Hotel guests have private walkway access to Doha's largest shopping mall Villaggio. Our meeting rooms feature state-of-the-art technology including built in LCD projectors, high speed internet to support real-time video conferencing and smart TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Torch Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing