We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not excellent though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad, not excellent though”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I chosed this hotel for my short weekend escape to dohs with my husband and my 3 years old baby, choosing it was based on trip advisor rating beside its price, it was no. 10 out of 96 hotels in doha..
Stayed for 2 nights in a standard room including breakfast.

Positives: hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious, price are not bad.

Negatives: poor old neighbourhood, SMALL BED, small queen bed , while king bed is kept only in the suites, poor breakfast.

The hotel offers sauna and indoor swemming pool that are good.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctor_rehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    96
    53
    14
    14
See reviews for
35
49
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed there for a night on a long layover in Doha. This place is perfect for a brief Doha visit - super close to Souk Waqif (sp?), the Corniche, and the Islamic Art Museum. The staff is friendly, the breakfast was great, the place is clean, elegant, and the pool and gym, while not huge, are a nice convenience. Overall, I'd highly recommend this place. There are a few details they still need to work out (e.g. my shower curtain wouldn't stay up), but overall, great value for money and the staff I met were all very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancisFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

great place! suitable for short business trips as well as for long family stays. excellent staff attitude. undoubtful cleanliness and super comfortable place .The rooms are large and very comfortable.Great panoramic view on the city or sea. Excelent living room integrated with the bed room.the hotel is located at a walking distance from the Souq Waqif, Islamic Museum and other city attractions.high speed WIFi. delicious food.quick service.lovely spa.worth every single $

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomsmithNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

New boutique hotel with nice new facilities.Great location ,near many attractions , particulary Souks and museum.situated in the heart of the city center which allow the guests to many options for shopping and sight seeing. Doha's beautiful boulevard and green gardens are few steps away. The hotel staff are extremely pleasant ,friendly and cooperative. They really make your stay as much relaxing as possible. Breakfast is complete with many choices and varieties that meets all taste. The hotel is newly opened , and its rooms, and other facilities are so clean and fresh.the rooms are very spacious ,warm and have great view .the swimming pool is amazing and the gym is very big and fully equipped, spent many hours there with the kids. I booked three night , but I extended for another three after staying there. i highly recommend this hotel for travelers on business or with their families

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny with great sea view. i highly recommend this hotel with all its ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dirkmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I really don't know how to rate this hotel. It is billed as 4 star, which frankly it simply is not. We had just come from the Marriott Courtyard, so the difference was obvious. Marriott is 5 star, but also more than twice the price of the Kingsgate.

Positives: great location (near the souq area, corniche, Islamic Art Museum), friendly staff, free wifi, clean (the hotel is open barely a month), a decent breakfast selection (with better coffee than the Marriot!!) and decently priced mini bar so you do not feel nickel and dimed.

Negatives: well, this would be an excellent 2-star or a very good 3-star. For a 4-star, which it claims to be, I would say it is average. For the price we paid, however, it was very good - but we got a special deal because it is a new hotel. If they raise their prices, you could end up feelign short changed, since there are a lot of hotels in Doha. i.e. how good you think this hotel is will depend on what price you get it for... I would not pay 4 star prices, but for what I paid, I was very happy with what I got.

It lacks that attention to detail which would elevate it ... the corridors look a bit institutional - like a hospital or office block - with no warm colours, the decor is a little plain, and then small but annoying things like the lack of plug points and multiplugs in the rooms so that you have to unplug things to plug in your own appliances. But rooms are clean (for now... some rooms have a kitchenette so could get mighty smelly after a few months of use), microwave, kettle - things which would be handy for longer stays.

Overall, I give it "very good" because of our own experience, and if you can get it for a good price, its absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the souq and corniche
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I visited Doha many times but this hotel was one of the best hotels I have been in. Usually I stay in 5 stars hotel , booking this hotel was a risky
Thing but the moment I entered in I felt the elegance and the high quality of services . It is so fresh and new! The interior is amazing, the services are perfect, the location is great , close to souk Wakef , corniche and all the important districts of Doha . In addition the suite is very big so comfortable with an amazing view and a very competitive rate as if I m booking a normal room. At last, the food was excellent with many varieties! I will always return to this hotel and will highly recommend it without missing the great massage treatment I had.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are great since my friend was having a deluxe room not a suite and he was very sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woodtem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#39 of 135 in Doha
477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#46 of 135 in Doha
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#43 of 135 in Doha
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 135 in Doha
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn Doha
Plaza Inn Doha
#70 of 135 in Doha
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#49 of 135 in Doha
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Doha

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Address: Ali Bin Abdallah Old Ghanim, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Doha 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing