We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Graz
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My taxi driver found it only after a while (and some calls). Entrance is in a narrow side road with almost no chance to park, even in front of the entrance.
Room was very spacious, equipped with a kitchenette. Room had an awesome floor-to-ceiling glazing, allowing a very impressive view. Only the bathroomw was really narrow, unfortunately there was a terrible sewer smell (but just for one night ...)
Acceptable breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steirerbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    89
    51
    14
    15
See reviews for
34
44
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Really enjoyed Kingsgate hotel. It was literally 1 block away from the souq area, so it's easily walkable, even in the 40C heat and humidity. the Corniche is only 2 more blocks away. Don't be scared by the descriptions of the more "run-down" area. If you've been to any developing country, then this area is just fine, actually better than a lot of the countries I've been to.

The gym was quite small, but there is a trainer there to help if you need it. The room was big and nice, with a counter area and a kitchenette, very helpful for reheating some food from the restaurant. The only gripe I have with the hotel is the complete lack of power sockets. I had to unplug the microwave to charge my computer, and even then there were only a few sockets around the entire place.

The final thing is the lack of cold water. I've experienced this so far in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Muscat. Not sure why this is. I can't imagine that all the cold water in the city got heated up by the weather, right?

Overall, a great stay in a new hotel apartment and I would come back here again if I visit Doha in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

It's a new hotel, clean and well located, an easy walk to Souk Wakef and even the Musuem of Islamic Art. The standard hotel room tries to pack in everything including a good size wardrobe, kitchen counter, so after we added an extra bed, it became quite hard to walk around! But it will certainly be of a good size for two. The children liked the gym which comes with a warm water indoor pool and a steam bath, staff at the gym were especially friendly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LThang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Staff were all very friendly and helpfull. there is free wi-fi and free internet on the computers in the business center. the room was a delux sea view. had a queen size bed (unusual for the middle east), a kitchen and a small bathroom (with massive water presure). the room was very clean, but it was very windy and there was a whistling noise from the window. maint came and taped the window closed. the breakfast was typical mid east fare, all fresh and plentiful, would have been nice to be able to have eggs to order. The area that the hotel is in is quite an old and run down souq. the view from our room was very run down houses inhabited by labourers. the car park is a small piece of rough waste ground opposite the hotel.

with all that said I would stay here again, but only if I got it for the rate that I did from a hotel search engine, otherwise there are a lot of other hotels in Doha

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuInSaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We transited in Doha in May and stayed at this property.

The rooms are clean and well appointed. However, their double bed is a bit small so we gave some feedback and they were nice enough to upgrade to a room that had 2 single beds combined as a king sized bed. The room had a small balcony that came with a single seater to look out to the souk and the Corniche skyline.

The hotel is 15 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes walk to the Souk. For us, it was quite an ideal place for a short lay over.

It is a new hotel recently taken over by the Millenium group, so there was a lot of effort in making the stay pleasant, especially the attention to our children needs during breakfast. Great effort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights with the wife and thoroughly enjoyed it.

We had Room 312 which is a deluxe suite which consisted off a large bedroom and bathroom, living area, kitchen area and a balcony.

Very well decorated and airy with lots of lights and high ceiling. Comfortable bed, large sofa and a dining area with sink, microwave, fridge and cutlery. Not much off a view from the balcony as most of the buildings are under construction or refurbishment.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent gym with very good gym trainers who are really informative and willing to assist. Very good Steam room and Sauna as well but Swimming pool is small.

Breakfast area is not adequate. Very small restaurant and the buffet breakfast choices are not the largest choices but just satisfactory. However, waiters are great and very helpful and attentive.

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Location is good as its close to Souq Waqif, Museum of Islamic Arts and shopping areas.

I would recommend this hotel as it tick nearly every box and is a great 4* hotel. Dont hesitate, go for it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javed817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Good hotel, New, Comfortable rooms, very good location (walking distance to the famous Souk Wakef), clean, spacious rooms, warm atmosphere, very Friendly staff and excellent value for money....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELAND_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#37 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#50 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa Hotel
La Villa Hotel
#121 of 141 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#54 of 141 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#41 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#16 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Doha

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Address: Ali Bin Abdallah Old Ghanim, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Doha 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing