We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixture of the great and the terrible...”
Review of The St. Regis Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Doha
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The St. Regis is undeniably an impressive hotel, the architecture and interior design are stunning. Clearly a lot of money and thought has gone into designing it, and this shows. Our twin room had two of the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced. The decor is tasteful and extremely comfortable. This runs throughout the hotel with all the function rooms, and especially the spa, living up to the St. Regis name- and even higher.

What massively lets this hotel down is the staff. To be fair first, there were some fantastic members such as those who serve in the front lounge who were polite, smiley, and eager to please.

But the majority were rude, ineffective and dismissive. There is a strong culture in Qatar of complete ignorance (try and tell a taxi driver to turn his meter on) and this comes through to the staff.

If they acknowledge your request, they do it with a bewildered smile- and then don't act on it.

Worse than that was the staff who thought it fit to giggle. There were two smug front-of-house who seemed to spend their time laughing at everybody. It was the same in the spa. Honestly, I'm not that amusing, they're just rude.

It's such a shame because if there was an American-approach to service, the hotel would be beyond compare.

Other problems came in the layout of the hotel, you have to work out where everything is, given its poor signage. Duke of Edinburgh awards should be given to those who find the pool.

The shower also leaks, in every room.

This is the only hotel I have tried in Doha but I wasn't impressed. If you have to stay there, you will be fine. But my recommendation is not to choose it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWheeler4286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and comments. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the design and architecture of the hotel along with the signature St. Regis bed. It is disappointing to learn however that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and that all comments have been passed to the management team allowing us to continuously improve the St. Regis service we are dedicated to providing.

I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your stay further. If you could please e-mail myself at tareq.derbas@stregis.com or call 4446.0003 at your earliest convenience it would be a pleasure to speak with you personally.

Regards,

Tareq Derbas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are local to Doha and my husband and I had a previous experience during a busy weekend that was less than expected. This time however the hotel went above and beyond to make our experience great and added little touches that made it all worth it. This is a great hotel for all cases. The pool as a facility is wonderful and all of the restaurant offer great food.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the north tower if you are a light sleeper during the winter months as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for taking the time to share with us such positive comments regarding your stay. It is a pleasure to read how you enjoyed the facilities, restaurants and that the St. Regis service went above and beyond your expectations. All of your feedback has been passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Tareq Derbas,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights with our kids and we had a great time. Although the hotel
is only 10mins from home we felt like we were on holiday all weekend. We booked a poolside cabana on the Friday and it was excellent and very private and the food in the restaurants was first class with the highlight being our meal in the Gordon Ramsey on the Thursday night. Great hotel for couples or families with a first class service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacsOnTourQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Doha for your family staycation and for sharing your positive comments regarding your stay. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our private cabanas and dinner in Gordon Ramsay. Your feedback will be shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon for your next mini break.

Regards,
Tareq Derbas
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The St Regis Hotel in Doha Qatar is a business travelers dream. On my arrival the line to check in was long and I was immediately escorted to a separate area as a gold SPG member and offered a comfortable couch to sit on and a beverage. I was then assigned a butler who took me to my room and my check in was accomplished in my room. This experience was amazing. Thank you for the superb service!

Room Tip: View of the pool and the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive experience. Here at The St. Regis Doha we recognise the importance of ease and comfort as a business traveller and it is a pleasure to read that as a Gold SPG member the signature St. Regis service exceeded your expectations.

The entire team and I here look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit.

Regards,
Tareq Derbas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a lovely place with very nice people to our service. I hope it will be possible for me to come another time in your hotel.
A very good choice of food of every part of the world for the breakfast. A room with all the falicities and with a amazing view on the new "Doha Manhattan"

Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gérard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive comments and for choosing The St. Regis Doha as your preferred hotel. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast selection in the Vine restaurant, hotel rooms, facilities and St Regis service. Your feedback will be passed onto the team and the entire team here at the hotel look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Regards,

Tareq Derbas,
General Mager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

i been in this resort last weekend, but it seem to me the resort not like before and there is shortage in human recourse maybe because it was full, the room and bath still good but the bath TV doesn't work like last time and the there is limit of TV channels also the housekeeping broke my charger and never write apologies for that or try to fixed it, but the good thing the butler send charger to us immediately. i demand in last trip to provide coffee maker but it look like the hotel ignored me :(

any way the resort still great but need lot of improvement in term how they treat their guest

Room Tip: west wing +higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsheikh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and suggestions for improvement. As a regular guest your feedback is extremely valuable to us and all comments are passed along to the management allowing us to continuously improve the operation.

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis as your preferred hotel and I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Regards,
Tareq Derbas,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

It took a very long time to check in. Once in my room I had to get an IT guy to connect me to the Internet. Business travellers just want to get checked in, get their email and go to sleep. This hotel gets in the way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TareqDerbas, General Manager at The St. Regis Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow me to express my gratitude for taking the time to share with us your feedback. It is disappointing to learn that elements of your stay did not meet your expectations and please rest assured that your feedback and suggestions have been passed onto the IT management allowing us to continuously improve.

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Regards

Tareq Derbas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
2.2 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 140 in Doha
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
7.8 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
1.8 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 140 in Doha
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Doha

Address: Doha 14435, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £117 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Doha’s glittering West Bay, the St. Regis Doha is a five-star luxury hotel with 336 guest rooms including 70 seductive suites, aiming to set new standards of luxury service & excellence with the signature St. Regis Butler Service.The hotel introduces a collection of ten signature restaurants & bars, extensive recreation facilities including world-acclaimed Remède Spa. The St. Regis Doha is the finest address for leisure & business travelers in Doha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The St. Regis Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing