We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Having stayed in a construction camp for a week will make every decent hotel look and feel excellent but this one really is. Just a few comments. I missed a place where I can have breakfast outdoor, they were reconstructing the patio I understand. And the ladies at the reception of the spa/pool need to fut a bit more smiling on their face. They look and act depressing. The Belgian Cafe is a great place, can be very crowded, noisy and the smokers make you sick. But it is certainly an attraction.
I will go back to the Intercontinental Doha.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Doha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Second stay within the year to a decent resort hotel. Relaxed rules mean we can squeeze into one room. Great breakfast, though there always seems a long queue for eggs! The Mykonos has great Greek food and the Belgian Cafe an excellent beer selection. We have sailed, played tennis and enjoyed the heated pool and have not been too bothered by the construction noise - on both visits! No major complaints - worth knowing you can still take b'fast downstairs if you have a Club room. Hotel is a little out of the way, though the hotel runs a shuttle, taxis are reasonable and the Katara Cultural Village is a 15min walk away for some excellent alternative restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpottyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We booked this hotel+flight via e-bookers. This was the first time we used this booking site but everything went fine, or almost everything. Breakfast was not included, maybe I overlooked this detail or was it deliberately unclear?

1. Travel to Doha:
Valid (d+6 months) passport suffices for most Europeans. Visa at arrival: 100 QR (only credit cards are accepted and no Amex). EU driving licenses are valid for 7 days, after which a temporary license has to be requested. Taxi's and limousines are affordable.
The service on Qatar Airways exceeds what we're used to with European or US airliners, and of course there're direct flights from most EU capitals.
Although the Qatari are welcoming and relatively liberal, it is not allowed to bring alcohol into the country.
Swimwear on the beach is ok. In town woman are expected to be dressed decently.
Note that there's not yet equality between Qatari women and men.

2. The Doha Intercontinental:
Summarized: It's a 5 star hotel with a genuine 5 star service. Furthermore, it's clean everywhere.
- Check-in went smoothly;
- The rooms are a bit dated (especially the once sky blue carpet) but clean, large and very comfortable. Included free WiFi and internet on TV;
- Room service within minutes;
- Large outside swimming pool and beautiful beach. Note that most hotels are not on the beach despite 500 km of coastline. As far as I know there're currently only 3 beach hotels in Doha;
- Excellent breakfast until 10.30 (officially 11.00) with plenty of choice, cold and warm, sweet and salty;
- The food: there're many excellent dining options in Doha. You can eat early or late, European, Asian or Arabic. They have everything.
Be it in the hotel with many different restaurants. Consider certainly the beachside "Fish Market" restaurant where you order as on a market, after which they prepare it in your chosen way.
If you want to have dinner outside don't miss the " Market by Jean-Georges" in the city centre W Hotel. Tip Top! Be advised that a bottle of decent wine is more expensive than the food itself.
Tip: have a Kefta in the Souq Waqif (3 €). On the other hand I do not recommend the "award winning" al Mourjan on the Corniche, except for the exceptional setting;
- Is there something to do? The hotel has a free shuttle to the city centre (10 minutes) and the Souq Waqif (must see). Furthermore you can visit the Modern Art museum or the Islamic museum, the (rather spooky) Pearl, the inland see with a 4WD, the Villagio mall (nice but Dubai is better), or stay in the hotel using their amenities;
- Kids: there are many amenities in the hotel (separate 50 cm pool, in and outside playground,...). Having kids ourselves, I'd rate the hotel as child friendly and one of the few options to stay with small children anyway;
- Drinks and nightlife: Doha is not Dubai, which doesn't mean that there is no fun. Well on the contrary. Alcoholic drinks, bars and disco's are available in the 5 star hotels (and some other licensed places). In the Intercon you're lucky to have the resident dj Paul Mendez (UK) now playing in the "Lava" nightclub. Of the places we've been to, he's probably the best ambiance bringer. Also in the hotel there is the Belgian café with a.o. draft Leffe or the Paloma bar with life music. Otherwise a limo can drive you to another 5 star hotel such as the W, Marriott or the Ramada.
No offense, but I'd avoid the Sheraton.
If you go out dancing, take your passport with you. Otherwise they won't let you in;
- Check-out went smoothly.

Having visited several other hotels we're pleased for having chosen the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrusselStardancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel postion is great but service is very bad...the concierge does not actually exist even it has a big desk and the staff is under two star level

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights. Had a wonderful time there. The hotel lives up to its 5 star status.

Service Staff did exceptionally well. The manager from the poolside bar got me my request of a bowl of mussels from the Belgian Cafe to the beach. Talking about going the distance.

Front desk staff were also excellent in providing information.

Travel desk staff, not under the hotel, was a disappointment. He wasn't helpful. The information he provided can all be found on the brochure.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdridwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This hotel was nice and the room was very spacious and clean but the carpet was obviously very old and it had some stained areas. They clean the rooms very well but they changed the bedding on the bed that I wasn't even sleeping in until I started leaving notes to not have them changed. The staff was nice and very polite, especially in the cafe restaurant. The hostess was always very nice! The food at the cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner was an international buffet that was very good but they had the same stuff day after day. The pool was huge and very clean and very peaceful in the early morning. Another thing I didn't like was the noise that I heard at night from the room above me. I heard crashing and scraping like they were moving furniture or large boxes. I'm not sure what it was because I didn't ask the front desk but it was somewhat distracting. Overall it was a good hotel but there are something's that could be improved.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaEuropeAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

There's a free shuttle bus to and from the airport, however for extra convenience on choosing our own departure time we took a Taxi at 40QR (about £7) directly to the hotel. For 85QR, you can also take a limo back from the hotel at the end of your trip if required.

The hotel is located outside the city, however Taxis are cheap and the free shuttle bus also has trips to the City Centre, Souqs and Islamic Museum as needed.

The lobby is very nice, along with all interior areas of the hotel, with a great range of restaurants, including one of the Belgium Beer Cafe chain venues, although it can get quite smokey when busy. The Paloma restaurant is highly recommended with great Tex Mex food and a live band from 9.30pm, plus a "secret type" door connecting through to the hotel nightclub.

We'd also recommend booking a club room to get access to the lounge, which serves free breakfast, afternoon tea plus evening canapés (containing a selection of both hot and cold dishes, plus cakes/deserts) along with drinks (including alcoholic ones) during happy hour from 6pm to 8pm.

The pool area is very nice too (the biggest in Doha apparently, although it's not heated). Poolside snacks are probably too large in terms of portion sizes and we'd prefer more local type food and perhaps light bites such as samosas or pizzas which could be shared.

It also has a great gym with high-tech machines and facilities.

Prices are very reasonable considering this is a top quality 5 star hotel. Thanks for a great stay and also for the nice upgrade to a large sized Diplomatic Suite. We're at the Royal Ambassador level of the hotel chain's loyalty programme.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loyalty-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#10 of 136 in Doha
1,316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 136 in Doha
1,855 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#13 of 136 in Doha
707 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#17 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: £125 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing