We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Property with spotless surroundings but away from city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #14 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant Property with spotless surroundings but away from city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The beach is nice, the pools are nice and while i was there it was March and not overcrowded The breakfast is good and have an option of taking your breakfast on the pool side. The beach / pool works till sunset. The room-cleaning is perfect. The only downside of this hotel is that this is property is bit far compared to some other big names in Doha. Most hotels in doha are impecable when it comes to quality and service. Intercon Doha is no exception.

Although i was unfortunate, i had booked a sea view room and when i stepped in the room all i could see is some traces of sea. The view was awful compared to what i selected. I was supposedly booked in a Sea view Duplex room and the view from my room is here !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear iimz,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our pool and beach, the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room. We have recorded your room preference and we'll ensure that you'll get a perfect view of the sea the next time you will stay at the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable experience at the InterContinental Doha.



Best Regards,


Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    233
    80
    21
    26
See reviews for
179
171
61
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice hotel with excellent service and good bedrooms. The Belgium Cafe has a nice atmosphere and happy hour between 4pm and 6pm then its down one floor to Paloma for another happy hour, mexican styled food and live music.

However beware the builders are in outting up additional rooms and a new spa right next door. The noise starts around 7am and seems to continue throughout the day. If sitting by the pool you need ear plugs or a iPod. I guess this will go on for many months.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you had the chance to try out our outlets: Belgian Cafe and Paloma Tex-Mex Restaurant.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the current extension project as we strive to provide better options and accommodation to our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property on your next visit to Doha.



Best Regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Was in Doha for a short business trip so was not fortunate enough to use the facilities on offer, however the suite I had on the 4th Floor was fabulous to say the least, with views of the bay, excellent furniture and fittings, comfortable bed - simply wonderful to return there after a days work and chill. The bathroom was spacious and very luxurious. Had breakfast at the 6th floor club dining room with a birds eye view of the Gulf and very attentive service. Dined at the Paloma Restaurant and would recommend the Steaks; one word Excellent. The Belgian Café on the Mezzanine floor had a great contemporary Bar/Pub atmosphere with a smart casual crowd, good cuisine and a good scope of beers and spirits, service was again commendable. The feeling you got from the Reception through to the catering and bar staff and even parking attendants was that you were a special presence there at the hotel. Definitely one to bookmark for any future stays in Doha.

Room Tip: Definitely a room facing the bay and if possible the suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKT1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your comments with us and the Tripadvisor community!

It is a pleasure to receive your positive feedback regarding your recent stay in our property. We are glad to know that have enjoyed our outlets and experienced the InterContinental service provided by our colleagues.

We hope to welcome you again at the InterContinental Doha very soon.



Regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a hotel with stunning views of the swimming pools and west bay lagoon. The hotel exterior itself perfectly embodies the beauty of middle eastern architecture. I enjoyed many good nights rest on the beds but such precious sleep could be made even better if the maximum temperature of the air-con is above 27 degrees. It takes quite a bit of time to adjust to the cold nights in Qatar. Also, I wished the hotel staff would be less forgetful in replacing amenities in the bathroom. Overall, I'm really glad to have found this hotel as a gateway to exploring the lovely lifestyle and culture of people in Qatar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliayil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Juliacious,

Thank you very much for your time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

Your review was a pleasure to read and so very pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us and found our hotel as a gateway to exploring the lovely lifestyle and culture of people in Qatar.

Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback regarding the AC and the service from our housekeeper. We apologize for the inconvenience that has caused you and rest assured that this matter will be taken into consideration for further action by the appropriate department.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


Regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were staying at the Intercontinental for 3 nights. The hotel building is rather old and not very modern, especially if you compare to the much bigger building behind the hotel. From the beach in front of the hotel you have a great view of the city center with quite an outstanding skyline. Unfortunately most of the rooms do not have this view. We were staying in a presidential suite with access to the club lounge. While the room was huge in size, it seemed to be a little outdated and in need for a renovation. The bed was very comfortable, but really annoying is the smoke detector that continuously flashes with a bright light, right over the bed.
The service is very good in general. We were annoyed a little by the transfer service person from the airport to the hotel, as he complained that he had too wait too long for us (not our fault given the immigration hassle). Not a very good start. Elsewhere the service was excellent, especially also in the club lounge. The breakfast served in the club lounge was great.
Outstanding food in the Coral Restaurant! The quality and size of the dinner buffet is hard to beat.
The pool and garden is very nice, but there is one big minus. The pool is either not heated at all or was just too cold. Even our two kids did not manage to be more than 10 minutes in the pool.
All in all a nice stay, but we would probably go to a more modern hotel in Doha next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTravellerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Swiss Travellerone,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your valuable time writing a review regarding your stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We are glad to hear that all in all, you had a nice stay with us mentioning about the outstanding food in the Coral All Day Dining, the pool and the very good service that you received from our team members.
We sincerely apologize if we haven’t met your expectations regarding the hotel design and the room. As we strive to improve our services and offer our guest more modern hotel and accommodation, we are currently working on our extension project and hopefully you can try them once it is completed. We also regret that your arrival experience wasn’t good due to the limousine driver who picked you up at the airport and surely this not what we expect from the team. We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by the blinking light from our smoke detector as well as the swimming pool temperature. We’ll assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and we’ll work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Please also contact us at icdoha@ihg.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again we regret that this has impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you’ll give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.


Sincerely,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I must admit I expected more. I was glad this hotel had a beach but the restaurant left me wanting. The food tasted fresh out of a can. You're better off eating at a restaurant in the city. the beach facilities were nice but bring strong sunglasses. This place seemed brighter than the sun! The rooms were great though.

Room Tip: If you want to look at something from your room get a view of the Pearl to the north east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Ed M,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your valuable time to write about your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Doha. Our hotel does review and address situations very carefully. Please contact me at icdoha@ihg.com so I may obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Arrived at the Intercontinental Doha last night for seven days day. Great reception, fast and efficient. This morning's breakfast buffet was wonderful - more options than I could ever choose. The only thing that this keeps this review from five stars is the view out my room. I asked when I checked in for an upgrade but received a room with a view that is terrible. Room 425 should be avoided if a view is important to you.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room high up and one that doesn't overlook the construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear edcccdfean,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Doha.

I am very delighted to know about your comments on our Front Office Team that they were fast and efficient and the wonderful breakfast buffet that provides you variety of choices. Our team will be very excited to know about your comments.

I would like to apologize if we haven't provided you your preferred room with a better view. Your comments regarding this matte will be addressed by our Front Office Manager to ensure that your preference will be noted accordingly for your future stay with us. Please also contact us at icdoha@ihg.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a room with a better view on your next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#7 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Property: InterContinental Doha
Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#14 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing