We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going strong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Doha
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Take a taxi from the airport and make sure the driver brings you to the right InterContinental. Words like 'the beach', 'the old one', 'Katara', 'not The City', might be useful to add. Chances are that the driver arrived on the same plane you did. Driving up to the hotel, the place looks a bit small between all the huge buildings now built next door (like the St. Regis), but it stands proud like an Arabian palace. Taxi by meter. Pay about QR 50.

Expect a very professional and efficient welcome. Well trained front desk, friendly support to any of your questions by concierge. We are InterContinental Ambassador and were welcomed as a very important guests (a bit over the top with our 7-10 nights a year). All the benefits, including the room upgrade, in place.

You arrived at a hotel where it all happens. It might be a bit older (although extremely well renovated and maintained), but this it still the place to go to. The buzz is evident.

There is a tour desk in the hotel lobby offering the standard but reliable dessert tours. Beware that they do not accept AMEX. The hotel has two ATM's. Upon arrival the tour desk was closed. But concierge made sure the tour we wanted was booked. They even came to visit us at the pool to tell me all the details.

The room was spacious, nicely renovated, silent airco, effective bathroom. The bed guaranteed a good sleep. Our personal preferences like flat non allergic pillows and a soft deck on the mattress were already in place when we entered the room. The bed light was living it's own live by switching on each 15 minutes. Of course, this was acted upon promptly. If you want, you can ask the staff to open your window, which might be nice during a cool night. Housekeeping appeared to be friendly and efficient. One evening they did forget the turndown service. Do not know why (no, we did not use the do-not-disturb sign). Our room keys were blocked the third day. For security reasons they told us. Had to go to reception, but housekeeping was so kind, after identifying myself, to open the door. Good to hear they take security seriously, but we still disliked we could not enter the room.

Breakfast was great. Serious choosing stress. You can eat both inside and outside.

The beach location is a real plus. Do no expect to do a nice Corniche walk from the hotel (it is too far), but expect a well run beach/pool club with all the services you can wish for. I liked the friendly guys at the pool bar, especially Albert from Goa. A pity I had to go to the Carrefour to get me some Coca Cola (they only serve Pepsi. I am not at the Mariott, am I?).
The pool site is a good meeting place. So happy we are not expat's wives! Met some really nice people for a nice chat nevertheless.

Doha is a building spot. The InterContinental is no exception. A new wing being build next door. So there is a lot of noise. Just like at any place in Doha. Rooms are well isolated, the gardens are relaxing. It did not bother us.

Getting a taxi can be a bit difficult at many hotels and sites. But somehow the InterContinental managed to get a taxi fast when someone needed one. If you want to be absolutely sure, book in advance. The free shuttle service to the city and to the airport did prove to be a very good alternative to us as well.

On the night of departure, we found it difficult to get a quick and light dinner. The Belgian Cafe is really cozy and the Mexican restaurant looks nice, but the cigaret smoke was just to much for us. Would have liked a light dinner with some Italian food, but you could only use the expansive (and expensive) buffet. We did not want to use room service and decided to sit outside at the Greek restaurant. The food could be better (lobster a bit chewy, other dish a bit cold), but our host Dionysos (the right name for the right place) gave us a dining experience we will not forget. Had to run to catch the shuttle to the airport...

I do not think I will return to Dona as a tourist soon. But whenever we will (have to) come back, we will not hesitate to chose the InterContinental again. There are other great hotels (like the Grand Hyatt I visited two week before), but here the staff goes the extra mile and the ambience feels just a bit warmer.

Room Tip: Seaview, high floor, west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Keese,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your detailed feedback with us and other travelers here on Tripadvisor!

We are thrilled to know that your experience at our hotel was up to your expectations . As our most loyal guests like you, we are so thrilled to hear comments from you. Positive feedback such as yours keeps us motivated to help our guests get the most out of their stay with us. Thank you too for your constructive feedback regarding the turn down service as well as the food in Mykonos. We will surely look into this matter and exert our effort to improve.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at the InterContinental Doha on your next visit to Qatar.


Warm regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    242
    81
    22
    26
See reviews for
188
175
65
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Doha Intercontinental for 1 month for business. I felt like it was my home away from home. The room was comfortable and spacious with a comfortable work area and loveseat. Although I had a "city view" I had a very nice view past the St Regis and overlooking the Katara beach, with the zigzag buildings in the distance.
The best thing about the experience was the level of the service. I would like to especially thank Randy, the best concierge I have ever known. He was able to arrange tickets for me as well as several dinner reservations which were unforgettable! I would also like to thank Szilvia, April, and Ehad, and many, many others who helped make my stay wonderful. There were many of the staff at the Coral Buffet who became like my second family while I was here.
Although the hotel is a bit away from the downtown the shuttle is an easy option, and the taxi's were usually at the ready.
When my travels bring me back to Doha I will definitely be staying at the Intercon, hopefully on a sea view room next time. I can't wait to see my new friends again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the sea side are obviously better. If you are going to stay on the city side the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Jeff K,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us and other travelers here on Tripadvisor!

We are thrilled to know that your experience at our hotel exceeded your expectations. Positive feedback such as yours keeps us motivated to help our guests get the most out of their stay with us. Your commendation to Randy, Szilvia, April, Ehab and the Coral Team has been extended to them and praise them for the job well done!

We have taken note of your room preference and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel on your next visit to Doha.

Warm regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

now they will add a new wing and likely be under major construction for another year

this should be a better hotel but they just fail to put it all together

the Club Lounge is still like some old people's home with zero ambience and sketchy service

they did a nice job of upgrading the rooms and spent big $$$$, only to reinstall ancient mini-bar refrigerators that will not even keep your USD12 beers cold? Bright cost-saving move that can completely ruin a guest stay.

I will not return again until late 2015 if ever again

Room Tip: try the St Regis next door or the old Ramada is now a Radisson Blu
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Sam S,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us at icdoha@ihg.com should you wish to discuss more of your concerns.




Regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the palatial Intercontinental Hotel in Doha during Christmas-very impressed by the service, spacious rooms, updated hotel amenities. GORGEOUS beach side property. Too cold to use the outdoor swimming facilities, but good weather and beautiful atmosphere for outdoor all day dining. Shuttle stops at the Central mall almost hourly. Pricey food but several great dining options at the Hotel, since downtown was a good 20-30 minute drive. Nothing really within walking distance except maybe the Katara Entertainment Center. Enjoyed my room and beach view the most. Would stay again but would do Intercontinental Doha the City instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliasFan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear AliasFan32,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your experience was while staying at the InterContinental Doha, we appreciate your feedback.

It makes us really proud to read the title of your review saying we are a "Very Posh and Luxurious hotel", the main goal of our team is to ensure our guests stays are a success and we exceed their expectations, it is a pleasure to see that your experience is reflecting our actions and we are heading into the right direction.

Although the location is not ideal for you, we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.


Best Regards,


Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have had two recent stays at the Intercontinental, West Bay Lagoon. The Hotel has a great location with it's own private beach only about 15/20 minutes from the aIrport. I received a very warm welcome at Reception and check-in was very fast and efficient.
The rooms are very luxurious and spacious (choice of City or Sea views). Fabulous food in the Restaurants and also the poolside/beachside restaurant. I had access to the Executive Lounge - the staff provided an excellent service and I was pleased to see that children are no longer allowed in the Lounge after 6pm. There is also a well equipped spa and gym.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear JamesNine,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the InterContinental Doha.

We really appreciate your positive comments in regards to our facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our hotel whenever your travels bring you to Doha.


Best Regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The beach is nice, the pools are nice and while i was there it was March and not overcrowded The breakfast is good and have an option of taking your breakfast on the pool side. The beach / pool works till sunset. The room-cleaning is perfect. The only downside of this hotel is that this is property is bit far compared to some other big names in Doha. Most hotels in doha are impecable when it comes to quality and service. Intercon Doha is no exception.

Although i was unfortunate, i had booked a sea view room and when i stepped in the room all i could see is some traces of sea. The view was awful compared to what i selected. I was supposedly booked in a Sea view Duplex room and the view from my room is here !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear iimz,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our pool and beach, the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room. We have recorded your room preference and we'll ensure that you'll get a perfect view of the sea the next time you will stay at the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable experience at the InterContinental Doha.



Best Regards,


Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
InterContinental Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice hotel with excellent service and good bedrooms. The Belgium Cafe has a nice atmosphere and happy hour between 4pm and 6pm then its down one floor to Paloma for another happy hour, mexican styled food and live music.

However beware the builders are in outting up additional rooms and a new spa right next door. The noise starts around 7am and seems to continue throughout the day. If sitting by the pool you need ear plugs or a iPod. I guess this will go on for many months.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICDOHA, Manager at InterContinental Doha, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you had the chance to try out our outlets: Belgian Cafe and Paloma Tex-Mex Restaurant.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the current extension project as we strive to provide better options and accommodation to our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property on your next visit to Doha.



Best Regards,

Ariel Bustillo
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#13 of 135 in Doha
1,259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 135 in Doha
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Doha

Property: InterContinental Doha
Address: Al Istiqlal Road | West Bay Lagoon, Doha 6822, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Doha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#6 Business Hotel in Doha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#16 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Doha is an iconic landmark in the Heart of Doha. Nestled in landscaped gardens with 500 meters of sandy beach, the InterContinental Doha features 8 restaurants and bars including the famous Belgian Cafe, a range of recreational facilities and a free form swimming pool. The hotel's prime location is just minutes from downtown Doha and major government and corporate offices and within walking distance to the Doha Exhibition Centre, City Center Mall and Doha Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Doha Hotel Doha
Doha Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing