We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HOTEL NOT SO GRAND IN THE LAND OF RISING MERCURY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Mercure a French word for mercury or quicksilver is so aptly named for this land of rising mercury where the temperature reaches close to sixty degree celcius. Located in this land of silvery sand is the Hotel Mercure Grand right in the city centre of Doha.

As i was being relocated from Dubai to Doha the Hotel Mercure Grand, Doha was my abode for few days before moving in to my appartment. However before this my numerous official trip has landed me up in this hotel.
As you land at the Doha international airport the Hotel has a Counter at the airport to meet and greet you. The official at the counter would pack you in a hotel van may be with some other guests also.
The arrival lounge is at the ground floor and looks very austere. The elevator takes you to the first floor and Reception area. The staff greets you with warmth and a nice hot towel for refreshing your face and some drinks to refresh your intestine.
The Room was a single business room facing the City Centre. Now this is something you must be careful. The city centre is where a huge construction is going on. If you want to enjoy the view that will be greeted with the noise of construction and machineries. However the view is great with the downtown at a distance and overlooking the sea. The central mosque stands majestically at sea front and the occasional landing of aircrafts makes the view even more majestic.
The food at the ground floor restaurant was good with many choices to treat your culinary buds. There is another restaurant at the top floor which serves hard drinks also. Qatar being a dry country this may attract the people enjoying their evening with something liquid.
The Hotel has a beautiful pool. Weather permitting its a great place to chill out.

Overall a great hotel to stay in Doha.

Room Tip: Room facing the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingshuksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Customer thank you for your review.
I wish to inform you that the rooms will be renovated this summer.
The site front of us is the Msheireb Project.
Explanation, description and live cameras can be follow on there web site.
See you soon in Mercure Doha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Reception desk has a variety of staff with different levels of motivation for helping you out.
Asked for non-smoking room. Changed two rooms and finally gave up. Left the hotel smelling like stale cigarettes.

Tour booker in hotel lobby is helpful. Hotel is close to the main Souk. Not the hotel's fault but there is a giant and very ugly construction site right out front.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaibhav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Customer ,

During our renovation (starting within two to three month) we will allocate a full floor with none smoking rooms .

and we will make sure that it is strickly follow by front office staff .

Thank you for your review.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I was booked to this hotel by Qatar Airways for an overnight stay. Rooms are of average size, clean and have a balcony, which is an advantage for a smoker like me. But a huge construction site underneath with floodlights, noise and dust made sleeping difficult. Dinner and breakfast were mediocre. Location is good if you want to see the Suk, the Mosque and the Museum.

Room Tip: Avoid outer rooms at any cost (noisy construction site)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Customer,

The difficulty is to manage an hotel next to a site like "Mushreib" under construction , but at least the noise has reduce compare to what it was the past years during demolition time.

The project will be delivered by 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Disclaimer: I booked this hotel for a group going to the MotoGP; however the opinions expressed are my personal ones as someone who stayed there with my wife and 5 yr old child. I do think my comments are relevant both to personal visitors and tour agencies such as myself (who rely on TripAdvisor)

Yes, this hotel is in need of a refurbishment (scheduled for late 2013 as I understand). Yes, maybe inferior to other 4* properties in Doha. BUT will you have a comfortable night here? Certainly. If you are driving, will you appreciate the free underground car park? Definitely! A 5 minute walk to the charming Souq Waqif (and surrounding markets - IMHO the best thing in Doha) - Fantastic!
Will you visit the great bar on the top floor, with superb service, good food and some "flexibility" on closing times? You bet!
When we left a few days ago, we found our plane had been delayed and found ourselves with a spare hour in the evening, with a hungry 5 yr old. The hotel actually invited us for a free dinner at their excellent buffet, which was hugely appreciated by the family!
At the end of the day, what makes this place -- as in any business -- is service. You get the feeling that this is a family operation and everyone is there to please. A great price, a great bar and superb service. Free WiFi. What are you looking for?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PolePositionTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again next year during the Qatar GP.

I will share your review with all the staff, and it will give them a real motivation to make the stay of our customer memorable.

The renovation of the rooms starts this summer.

Have a good Day and Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Excellent location, few minutes by car or even a good walk to Grand Hamad street or Souk Wakif.

One side of the hotel is currently very noisy with dust filtering through the balcony door due to a large constructon site just in front of the hotel. The back side though is excellent, nice clean rooms with no noise.

The setup for Wifi is very puculiar, you get something like 13 separate stations with different names each and as the reception varies and is generally bad, you always need to juggle these stations! Also when you manage to connect, the bandwidth in the room (I tested the non-smoking 9th floor) is very low. Basically the only place to use the internet comfortably is in the lobby, where reception and bandwidth are both ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Bobby-73-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Customer,
We are currently reviewing the WIFI device to upgrade the reception of the signal.
Since we have been switch to Fiber optic we do have a problem but soon it will be solved.
Sorry for the inconvenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

After i was on late flight from India,I was booket to this Hotel at Qatar Airways,Was there 24 hour,Good food cupon for four meals.Food good,service also good.If you need to shopping you can go out on the front street there are lot of shop,s and up to right on the street ther are a ATM.(200 m ) Postoffice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for your positive review ,

We are going to start a full renovation of the rooms before end of year 2013.

We hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

To be honest, this property is a disgrace to the Mercure brand, and could simply not be described as 4 star in any way. This is especially so in the context of the Gulf, where a 3 star hotel generally meets or exceeds the standards of 4 or 5 star hotels in the west.

The hotel was clearly constructed in the 70s/80s and interiors have not been refitted since. There are no key cards, rooms are secured by a traditional key. Every surface in my room appeared dirty, mostly through age and wear. One draw on the chest of draws was hanging from the frame. One bedside light was stained and missing a light bulb, and the carpet also appeared stained. A single mug and a single spoon were provided with the tea and coffee on a dirty shelf. The sliding door to the balcony was difficult to open and filthy, and in the bathroom the basin appeared dirty due to wear and the shower curtain was mouldy and smelled. I took photos of all of the above and will attempt to post them!

The lobby and pool area were both clean but also very basic and simple - it was certainly nicer to spend time by the pool than in the room however. The gym was dirty and smelled.

Breakfast was included with my room in the main restaurant on the Lobby level. The food was fairly basic (a selection of international hot dishes, cereals and continental options) but the quality and presentation were both fairly good.

Staff were generally helpful and pleasant (although once again the service could not be described as 4 star.. when it was my turn in the check-in queue the staff member actually yelled "Next!").

In summary, I'm sure there are worse places to stay in Doha - but there is absolutely no way that this hotel is 4 star, and it is certainly not what I would expect from the Mercure brand. If the facilities in the room were repaired and clean this location would be an acceptable 2 star budget hotel, but marketing this as a 4 star property is misrepresentation. I would suggest Accor need to rebrand this property to Formule1 or Ibis Budget; or invest to bring it up to the standard expected of Mercure.

If selecting a hotel in Doha I would strongly suggest paying whatever the difference is to stay at any of the newer locations, eg Rotana.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review, I would like to inform you, that the hotel will be renovated by end of year 2013.
The delay was due to the construction site in front of us, as we were supposed to be demolished and as per local authority, we are not involved in this project.
After 4 year delay, we are able to change, Doors, Carpets, Locks, furnisher, and as well all decoration in the rooms floor.
Lobby will be done by next year.
I would like to apologies about the status of the hotel and if it is not as per Mercure Standard, we hope that the renovation will resolve all our problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.4 mi away
Millennium Plaza Doha
Millennium Plaza Doha
#48 of 137 in Doha
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#41 of 137 in Doha
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#81 of 137 in Doha
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#29 of 137 in Doha
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Doha
Copthorne Hotel Doha
#43 of 137 in Doha
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Arabian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing