We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but has seen better times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Decent but has seen better times”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a overnight stopover in Doha coming from Vietnam, going to Europa.

This hotel has seen better times. Officially it is 4-star, but that probably was 20 years ago.
Rooms are aged but decent , doors look like they have been there since 1970 with old fashioned locks.

Next to the hotel there is one of the biggest construction sites in Qatar (36 hectares of new city development). The whole night you can hear the roar of the generators.

Breakfast is great: buffet with bread, muesli, croissant, cheese , fruit. Very good coffee. After 3 weeks of noodles for breakfast, quite a relief.

Transportation from and to the airport was well organized.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south away from the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillen_Fried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for your review , and yes the hotel is 30 years old .
We have started this week the rooms renovations .
I we hope by end of 2014 to have given a new image of our Hotel .

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    131
    125
    66
    35
See reviews for
30
49
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This place badly needs. Refurbishment. Everything here is old and run down. Clearly this place have seen better days.

There is a lot of construction going around the hotel which makes it quite noisy during the day. Wifi is intermittent or non existent.

Breakfast is below average.

The only few decent things are the steak house and bar on the top floor. Staffs very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Customer , Thank you very much for your review .

Yes our hotel now is 30 years old , and for your information we will start the refurshing of the room by next week .

We have done so many think last year , like carpet , fire alarm upgraded , Sprinklers , new Bus for transportation , new AC , we are inatlling the new CCTV control , new service lift .
Door and locks will start also next week .

2014 will be the year of the lobby and outlets renovation .

We hope to see you again very soon to let you enjoy the new Privilege rooms .
Cordially .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Doha hotels

Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
911 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Certainly the hotel has seen better times. The staff, and the lobby are friendly and nice. There is a clean swimming pool available. Breakfast is good and with good variety of choices. The rooms are aged, but they offer free fast wi-fi. The bathrooms are well equipped with all the toiletries (with the exception if a toilet brush???). The biggest problem is the
Noise of the building site just in front of all the rooms facing east (sea view).
Around (walking across the
Building site) is the old souk. Transportation to and
From the
Airport if free on the Hour, while Is Not easy to get an official taxi, with the unofficial do bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilardoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Customer ,
Thank you for the review , and for your information the hotel will start next week the rooms renovations .
For the work going on around the hotel , I think all the comments on Trip Advisor are stating that issue .
We have reduced our prices , and we are not on the hight prices like some other hotel in town.

We hope to see you again soon.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have just returned from this hotel having stayed here last time I was doing business in Doha as well. I have spent a total of about 14 nights here now in the past 12 months and I can't complain at all! It is was it is...it's in central Doha that has lots of construction on it's door step & it is an older building, but it is still servicable, clean and good value for money. The pool area and gym is immaculate and I saw no signs at all of poor hygiene. The parking is also great as are the staff. It's not top end in terms of price so if you want 5* you need to pay for that!! It has free wifi and is perfectly acceptable and functional in my view as a regaular international business traveller, who is there to conduct business and not nessarily there to 'be seen' in the best hotel in town! It's certainly better that the majority of run of the mill hotels in the UK. That said I found rooms 'city side' as opposed to Corniche were quieter at night as they are further from the main building site which runs a 24 hr operation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 'city side' not Corniche to be slightly quiter but within a city centre locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Customer ,

Yes I have nothing to add , just thank you very much about your comments .

I hope to see you soon again .

You have mu contact now don't hesitate to contact us for your next booking .

( renovation of room will start next week , floor by floor )

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Before I start slagging this place off, I thought I'd say that we received the most amazing customer service a hotel could offer.

Firstly I had a booking which was 'non refundable, not changeable' and after calling the hotel and speaking to one of the managers explaining how desperate I was not to lose the booking (due to the sheer cost), I was allowed to change the date. We paid for 4 nights and only stayed two, however after asking, the manager easily agreed that we could have half board seeming as we weren't getting our full money's worth. This was despite the fact that the 2 nights we wouldn't have stayed would actually count as a 'no-show'. All staff we dealt with were positive, helpful and polite at all times, We were thankful and quite pleased at this point.

The hotel gets away being 4 star due to the services it provides, free internet (quite slow), a roof top pool and jacuzzi which looked pleasant, sauna/steam and gym. The draw back is that the building itself needs modernising and just looks grubby/shabby. From the entrance to rooms on the top most floor just looked like they needed re doing - you do feel a little robbed even after getting their 'discounted rate'.

The room we had was a decent size, with a big bed and space to move around it. The room was clean upon arrival and cleaned each morning. The shower worked fine and towels were changed each morning too.

Breakfast and dinner prices are about average for a buffet at a hotel in Doha, 60 riyals each for breakfast and nearly 100 riyals each for dinner. We can't say the food is delicious, just decent/nice. The selection is also limited but you should be able to find something that you can eat. The restaurant also needs modernisation.

The worst thing about this hotel is the location - parking is difficult, there are a few spaces outside the hotel on side streets. The location is busy, dirty and noisy with all the construction going on (24 hours). The views are of cranes and building sights amid the pretty lit up buildings. The traffic in this part of Doha is really bad, Mushiereb is currently being built up and will be like this for a few years. On the positive side, it's a good place to hail a cab (on the stree) and pay a non-rip-off rate.

the whole place has a grubby feel, especially compared to all the other fancier hotels in Doha. Our stay was great due to the manager and his staff. If you're looking for somewhere with a '4 star look' inside, then you need to splash out or you're going to get this! Fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Al Fanar building (the twirly one!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doyouwanttocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Realy Thank you for your comments ,

It is exactly where we are today , just I would like to add that the room renovation will start on 17 November 2013 and also that the Wifi will be upgraded to Fiber Optic before the end of the month .

Thank you very much and see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I booked that hotel as I had a 12 hours transit to Europe so would love to sightseeing a bit in the Qatar city. The only best thing for hotel is a very nice service from staff Mr. Nalin whom waiting at the airport and arrange for transportation to hotel. I arrived hotel around 2pm, the front desk staff told me the room is ready so i checked in and went up to the room. Once arrived at the room still have housekeeping staff 2 person one was cleaning bathroom and other one make up the bed.... disappointed but i just leave the luggages and went out for city tour.

Hotel located in the middle of huge construction and so many dirt at the swimming pool area so dirty can't even sit on the chair, forget it if you want to swim.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice_Ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Customer ,

Thank you for your review and I have take note about your remarks about the cleanness of the pool aera , we have already taken action , as on the previous friday we add a big party at the pool .
May be the cleanning was not finish or done properly .
thank you for the comment about Mr Nalin , I will informed hime about it .
We hope to see you again very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#39 of 135 in Doha
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#64 of 135 in Doha
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#47 of 135 in Doha
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 135 in Doha
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#49 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Persian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing