We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis away from the sizzling heat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An oasis away from the sizzling heat”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Complimentary shuttle from nearby Doha International airport. Friendly checkin staff, ready with cool towel and fresh juice. Clean well maintained rooms on my several stays, with much needed air-conditioning. Excellent swimming pool/spa/gym facilities. Lobby restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, with both local and Western options, which were well priced. The hotel was within easy walking distance to other shops and convenience stores, and a short stroll, if you could survive the heat, to the markets, where there were a plethora of restaurants, from which to choose. A busy bar, atop the hotel, attracted many ex-pats and locals alike, serving icy cold beverages and tempting pub meals. Couldn't fault the service, and friendliness of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerQF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Your are welcome ,

This is a nice review and I will share your comments with our team .

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    132
    125
    66
    35
See reviews for
30
49
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
musselburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a splendid hotel with a most friendly and efficient staff. Airport shuttle was prompt and courteous while our departure check- out was extended sufficiently to enable us to make our outward journey less tiring as flight time was after midnight. The building is not new but there is evidence of room upgrading and while the panoramic view out towards the Corniche and waterfront does have a massive ongoing building site operation in 24/7 progress this in my opinion is more of an attraction than eyesore! Lunch and breakfast downstairs at reception level was excellent as was our dinner in the top floor a la carte restaurant in addition the Old Manor Pub was a pleasantly relaxing place to partake of a few refreshments in the evening. We did not use the spa and unfortunately the pool was closed for renovation. In the highly unlikely event of my returning to Qatar I would not hesitate to make use of this fine establishment again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moss213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review and you are welcome anytime in Doha .

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very close to airport.. Staff is very friendly and helpful at any time. Very good food, with a lot of choices. Everyone can find something. Desserts were amazing..yummi..
Didn't like the noise,because of constructions outside. Also the rooms are in renovation process. But after some time, when that will be finished, hotel will be very good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank elina_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for the review , the renovation of the first 90 rooms is done now .

The swimming pool is re-open after a very good cleaning.

The road around the hotel is getting better now , we have started also our meeting room renovation .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

was there for a night , since my flight got delayed .
good hotel and good staff . The best thing about the hotel is that the food is very good . We were entitled for buffet in the coffee shop , and it was worth . Full marks to the chef and his team .
Although would be happier if the restaurant staffs also care for the guests properly during meal time . They have a habit of going to the extreme corner of the restaurant and indulge in chit chatting . More over during the dinner time .
View from the room was terrific with all constructions happening and you could see only cranes all over the place . Evening view was better than the day time view .
Would definitely recommend to colleagues .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_f00d_l0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello from Doha ,

Thank you for your review , and I will inform the F&B Manager about your comments.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although I have never spent the night in this hotel. I do come here quite often for conferences and meetings. The hotel staff are all very kind and helpful as is the reception staff, they have wifi throughout as well.
The breakfast and lunch buffets served in the lobby restaurant are excellent and abundant at a very reasonable price.
The Bar and restaurant on the top floor also offers great views as well as all you would normally find in a lounge of this caliber.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you another time in Doha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is quite close to airport. Officialy its four stars but doesnt look like it! The rooms are basic. There is actually a huge construction site behind it and there is a lot of noise which does affect your sleep. But then the buffet and the food is brilliant. The hotel staff are warm and welcoming. The Souq Waqif is quite close by and if you like hookahs then do go there. Overall nice hotel, but would have not stayed here unless Qatar Airlines gave it for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aayush_Bagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Customer Thank youfor your review ,
and see you soon in Doha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#39 of 134 in Doha
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 134 in Doha
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
#42 of 134 in Doha
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#69 of 134 in Doha
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millennium Plaza Doha
Millennium Plaza Doha
#56 of 134 in Doha
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#48 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Persian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing