We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Snooze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Doha
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“A Good Snooze”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After 8 hrs of flight & hadly had wink, we managed to check in this hotel, if not we would have slept at Doha airport. The room was neat & clean & continental breakfast & free flowing Coffee & Tea.
As it was a transit flight & our next plane to catch was another 12 hours, we were given a tour of Doha. The seaside scenery was beautiful with deep blue water. It was a good experience at this hotel & managed to come here twice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for the positive feed back on your short stay .

I will informed our staff and welcopme any time in Doha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    132
    125
    66
    35
See reviews for
30
49
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As a resident in Doha, I have used this hotel on numerous occasions. However, I have never stayed there.
I use the swimming pool facilities on a regular basis and it is always clean with a very helpful pool man. Unfortunately, it is very noisy due to the extensive building work of the new metro system. Food and drink is available by the pool at a very reasonable price although sometimes, there can be a lengthy wait.
I have also used the old Manor restaurant several times. Whilst this is not a restaurant in the traditional sense of the word it's design is based on a 1980s British pub. Again, the food and drink is cheap and cheerful. The menu is quite limited but homely and the drinks menu is extensive with very reasonably priced cocktails. It is very popular with the locals.
The staff are always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizzyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for the positive review , and see you soon at the Pool .

Cordialy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is as old as the hills - rooms haven't seen a lick of paint in decades. The style is what I imagine old Soviet hotels are like with endless grey corridors and dozens of unoccupied rooms on each floor. It's overlooking an enormous construction site of a new Doha Metro, with work going on day and night under the full beams of light. The breakfast is not free, so didn't get a chance to savour the delights, and we had breakfast in a nearby Doha open market Souq Waqif, which was fantastic. The hotel is in downtown Doha, away from all main resort hotels and sights, so if you are going on holiday, avoid. If you are on business, probably avoid as well.

Room Tip: until hotel refurb, there is not good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello from Mercure Doha ,
I don't understand your comments we have just finish renovated 90 rooms and we are doing the pending rooms.
The hotel is very busy we have finished the month of April at 86 % occupancy and we are at 91 % from the first January 2014?
Yes we are front of the construction site of Msheireb the new city center of Doha.
But any way no one area is not next to a construction site as the underground metro construction as just started all over Doha..
Welcome to Doha and Qatar, we will have more Accor Hotels to propose in few new locations by next two years, one Pullman, one Adagio Premium, One M Gallery, One Adagio Apartment, One Ibis, all under construction...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Doha hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have been staying in this hotel everytime i am in Doha for the last 6 years, i strongly recommend this hotel to one and all as it is centrally located,reaching out to all places in short space of time with quality oriented staff and great mouth watering cuisine at their restaurant. i personally would rate this hotel as one of the best i have stayed in, experience for yourself and feel the difference

Room Tip: The rooms on the 9th, 10th and 11th floor have been refurbished and its awesome, request for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry_dsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review , and see you soon in Qatar .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We plan while the Almighty has already planned. As destiny would have it, it was meant to be for us to experience the Mercure Hotel in Doha. Our Qatar Airways flight from Jeddah to Doha was delayed by 1.5 hours which resulted in us missing our connecting flight to Cape Town. It appears as if we were not the only ones and that Mercure benefited greatly from the fate of many delayed Qatar flyers from all over the world. The hotel was packed with journey weary passengers looking for a clean shower and soft sheets. It, situated in the middle of nowhere, served its purpose and it also served the most delectable meals – grilled fish, baked fish, grilled chicken, soft, succulent lamb, creamy pasta – all very tasty and with an almost familiar home-made flavour, as well as the cutest chocolate mousse et al desserts. The hotel is decades old and smells like it – due for an upgrade.

The Wi-Fi connection, roof-top pool and jacuzzi is good. Each patron is entitled to a 3 min international call and 1 soft drink per meal (courtesy of the delayed airline). With the massive construction going on around the hotel together with a much needed upgrade it is bound to be well situated hotel in the future …

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your comments , and it is sure that the location of the hotel will be the best in future , may be you miss a point we are at 5 minute walk from Souq Wakif .
Best location to see some active area for tourism.
See you soon again in Doha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after staying for two weeks in Iran, and this hotel is highly recommended. I chose this hotel I get discounted rates through the airline that I work for.

We arrived late at night (around 11pm) and even at that hour, the complimentary airport shuttle took us straight to the hotel, where we were checked in by a very friendly and efficient member of reception, who told us everything we needed to know.

Our room was on a high floor, which did give us a good view of Doha city, and there was even a fruit bowl in the room for us, along with 2 bottles of water (very needed after the flight).
The bathroom and bedroom area was very clean, lovely shower, and I think this room had been renovated quite recently as it looked very new! Whoever had designed the room had taken the great idea to install as many power points as possible, which was very much appreciated! The air-con worked very well too, and it became very cold very quickly which was nice!

The only negative about the room is that the sliding door to the balcony wouldn't shut properly and therefore couldn't lock. As we were on a high floor I really wasn't that bothered, but had we been nearer the ground, I would've wanted a different room.

The hotel restaurant on the top floor was stunning, We had an amazing 3 course dinner here, a middle eastern selection for starter, duck for main and a desert, with wine, and while fairly expensive, it was amazing food, with very good service!! I would stay here again just to visit the restaurant!

The staff here are lovely, very friendly and very willing to help whenever you needed help.

The location of this hotel was good too, one of only a few hotels in the actual centre of Doha, so you're near everything and only a short walk to the Waqif Souk and other areas in Doha.

If I come back to Doha I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for that review , and I cannot add anything just a big thank you from all the team here in Doha .
The slidding door of the balcony is under study to be replace very soon .

Welcome back any time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The hotel is very clean & well run.
The surrounding street areas need to be cleaned up & then it will be perfect.
Once the construction in the area is completed I'm sure it will be beautiful.
What a great city, we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice-Fabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0546_gm, General Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Doha, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very Much for that review , and I will share them with the team .

I think the most difficult part concerning the building construction in front of us is now the past .

Thank you one more time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#39 of 134 in Doha
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#19 of 134 in Doha
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
Sapphire Plaza Hotel
#42 of 134 in Doha
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Qatar Hotel
Royal Qatar Hotel
#69 of 134 in Doha
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millennium Plaza Doha
Millennium Plaza Doha
#56 of 134 in Doha
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Doha

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
Address: Musherib St 75 | PO Box 7566, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#48 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Doha 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Persian Gulf and in the heart of the city, the hotel is located in the business district near the traditional Arab souk and the National Museum. 172 rooms and 3 suites. Non smoking floor. International cuisine at La Brasserie, Mediterranean cuisine at La Villa. The Old Manor Steakhouse and Bar. 3 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. Exhibition centre and golf course nearby. Airport shuttle (fees apply). Leisure facilities includes Swimming Pool and Fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Doha
Mercure Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing