We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking a bit in Service”
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ranked #56 of 930 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Asian, Polynesian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A group of four girlfriends went to Trader Vic's for dinner and dancing. We made a reservation and were promptly seated when we arrived. From there, getting the attention of the wait staff was a bit difficult as they were incredibly busy. They could have used a couple of more waiters for sure. Once we could get someone at our table, we were served pleasantly. Our food was very good and the prices were right. The Cuban band that was playing was excellent and we really enjoyed dining and dancing though some of the unwanted advances by a little over zealous males looking for a date was a bit much. If you want to just go and have a good time, the drinks are well made and they did not skimp on the alcohol in them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoagy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Hoagy74

Thank you very much for your kind and valuable feedback which I have shared with my team. I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and your dining experience and as for the services feedback please be advised that we will utilize it in order to improve our guest’s satisfaction.

On behalf of the Trader Vic’s team I would like to welcome you back again in our restaurant.

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 618 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was the 4th time that I came to this reataurant very conveniently located next to the Hilton hotel. The food was as good as you can expect for the reasonable prices and the ambiance is very nice. I have to agree with some other comments that the service is not optimal as the male service gives a lot of attention to the female customers and are not very attentive to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear JLOHolland

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. As for the services feedback I do apologize as we were not able to meet your expectations and I would like to advise you that we will utilize the comment to improve the Guest satisfaction. On behalf of the Trader Vic’s team I would like to welcome you back soon in our restaurant.

Kind Regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The food here is good and also the location and setting is nice. My only issue was on a few occasions during my meal a staff member was ignoring me when I was asking for another drink. Very rude.

Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Andy M,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, location & food. In regard to your concerns regarding our Guest Service please be assured that we will utilize your comments in order to improve our service & Guest Satisfaction.

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We visited the restaurant on the 9/5/2014 for lunch. This was our first time at the restaurant so didnt know what to expect.. Atmosphere was good but food and service was terrible. We ordered some starters that were both below average but the real suprise was with the main course. We ordered chicken with cashew nuts in hoisin sauce, the chicken smelled and tasted like it has gone off several days ago and the cashew nuts where turning black. ( didnt know that cashew nuts can turn into this colour) We called the waiter to return the plate back only to discover later that he added it on our bill. When we complained that we didnt even touch the food and the food was not fresh he said that he asked the chef and that the food was fresh. We didnt accept that as the food didnt smell or tasted fresh but he then said that he eats this food every day and is nothing wrong with the plate. We paid 360 rials and was our worst experience by far in a restaurant. i surely do not recommend this restaurant even if the food is for free

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Antonio Svanera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Antonio Svanera S,

Thank You for your feedback. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations & did not deliver on our normally high standards of service.
Your comments have been shared with the entire Team, and we will use them as part of our Guest Service training.

We constantly strive to meet & exceed our Guest’s expectations, but when we do not, we appreciate that you let us know.

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have eaten here before and it has always been satisfactory, but a bit costly. Today we tried the business lunch which was very good and great value at USD 25 for 3 courses. The tidbits and the Caesar salad were excellent starters and all the mains were terrific - fish and chips, noodles and chicken curry. With wine and water about 25 pounds per person represents great value.
Service was friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAllan_TV, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Garry M,

Thank you for kind feedback. We appreciate your comments on our food & service, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
John Allan
Trader Vic’s Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing