We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governor West Bay Suites And Residence
Ranked #106 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stopped over here to break long flight. Huge suite with very helpful staff. Good value and position. Services aplenty. Staff in all areas couldn't do enough to help. Food enjoyable within restaurant. Waiting for lifts only downside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeinab H, Director of Sales at Governor West Bay Suites And Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Kathy 320,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your kind feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Governor West Bay Suites & Residences.

Regarding the lifts, I have communicated your comment to the engineering department who will work on enhancing its performance.

We look forward to welcoming you again

Zeinab Hammoud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Location wise: very good & close to city center, but finishing is poor quality. Coffee machine without cartridge?? Kitchen without utensils for cooking . Noise coming from windows because of the air leakage. Shower drainage was blocked

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdulrahman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have stayed at Governor West Bay Suites and Residence for a couple of days during a business mission at Doha, Qatar.

The place is huge and honestly it suites large families rather than just a single guy. It is well furnished, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SamehSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks in Feb 2013 and the hotel is very good value for an apartment in west bay doha where a basic room in the W hotel next door is 1200 QAR (£200) per night.
There is a fully equipped kitchen plus lounge and dining area - one two or three bed appartments are available.
The staff are cheerful and attentive and know their jobs inside out.
The small restauarnt is not fine dining but serve a full buffet at Breakfast Lunch and Dinner as well as a Pizza/Burger a la carte. They will do 24 hr room service also.
Daily room service changes all towels and bed linen.
Main problem no bar.
Please consider the Governor for your next Doha visit.
Mike Testro

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter if you want to sleep after 7:30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I was booked in here for a month on arrival in Doha.
While large, my 2 bed apartment is badly finished with tacky furniture. I could have done the tiling and kitchen fitting better myself. A joke 5 star!
I have an apartment overlooking a building site which works 24/7. The noise is intolerable but no one cares. I have asked repeatedly to be moved and ignored.
It is frankly a miserable mixed up place.
Avoid!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pigletsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Very bad experience at this hotel. I stayed here for 3 weeks in a 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment is nice and spacious but the main problem is service. For someone who cannot speak arabic it is hard to get through. The check in was very slow, they made us wait for over an hour saying the house keeping was there.The windows are some cheap quality and on windy days forget about sleeping peacefully or even hearing the sound of the TV. It gets VERY loud. When I called the reception the only answer I got was you are on a high floor and we cannot do anything about it. To get a newspaper everyday they say they will charge you! For paying 16k for this apartment we cannot get a 2QR newspaper???! One morning the house keeping just barged in our room while we were sleeping, came inside woke us up and said can we clean your room!!! No one cleans the elevator, the garbage shoot is broken, the windows are very dirty so it kills the view and the hotel is right next to the waste treatment plant which can been seen from our room view. The receptionist lied to us saying that out room was a view and it wasnt. When i came back to ask her she said we are full when they were not. It was a lie and I was seeing available rooms online. Staff is very friendly at first and say we will do anything to make you happy but they never get back to you and you have to call again. And they pretend like they dont know if your problem was addressed or not.
Good room and location but not worth money with this service

Room Tip: do not use the city view room. there is construction happening right next to the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qwerty12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

I think the price is too much for the hotel .. We stayed 4 nights at 7000QR in 3rooms suite .. The only good thing about the hotel is the location and view although the windows were not clean and had alot of dust on them , the water had interrupted many times, other times red water come out of the hose .. I think when I pay such a price I must expect complete services with professional treatment .. For me it is the second time and the last as well ..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haifa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Somerset West Bay
Somerset West Bay
#62 of 137 in Doha
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempinski Residences & Suites, Doha
0.5 mi away
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
#41 of 137 in Doha
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Al Safa Royal Suites Luxury Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
0.1 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor West Bay Suites And Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor West Bay Suites And Residence

Address: Diplomatic Street, West Bay, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £98 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Governor West Bay Suites And Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming for a short or long stay Governor West Bay Suites & Residences, Doha combines the luxurious and comfortable atmosphere to enjoy every day. It is located in the prestigious district of West Bay, close to all the companies, embassies and government entities, just 2 minutes walking distance to City Center Shopping Mall and 20 minutes from Doha International Airport.The five stars hotel has 191 spacious serviced apartments over 36 floors ranging between 2 and 3 bedrooms along with 6 penthouses and considered among the largest in Doha, fully furnished and equipped with the latest technological equipment and modern furniture.Its dining options are many from the lavish breakfast buffet at "The Fusion Restaurant" to the relaxing cup of coffee in the afternoon at "The Terrace" and not to forget the room service and take away options to the banqueting facilities that can accommodate up to 300 persons.Stay in shape and visit the Health Club and Wellness Spa and enjoy our indoor swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and indulge your senses with our Spa Treatments.Governor West Bay Suites & Residences Doha has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Governor West Bay Suites And Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing