We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was a bit challenging to locate and none of the taxi drivers at the airport could help us out. We eventually just asked to be dropped off at the Souk Waqif and walked around until we figured it out. It wasn't actually too difficult, and luckily we were only carrying small bags. The location is actually quite good; not in the centre of the souk, but rather at the edge, which is just fine. The hotel is quite nice and decorated beautifully. While we checked in, we were each handed a glass of fresh mango juice. Yum! The room (#8) was just lovely and very quiet. Good wifi, really nice washroom, although we had an issue with the hot water, as in not enough. It was fine though and we actually forgot to mention it until we checked out. There were fresh dates and some other sweets to greet us in the room, as well as free bottles of water daily, tea, and coffee. In the mini fridge were all of the usual suspects at the normal hotel prices, so we skipped those. Nice big screen TV with lots of channels in Arabic and English. As you can see in my photos, the view was ok, but nothing special. There is some construction nearby, I believe the new underground, but caused no noise issues. Breakfast was served from 7am-11am, so lots of time to sleep in, if desired. A fresh glass of watermelon juice, a pot of tea, over-easy eggs on toast, fruit, hummous, cheese, etc., is the perfect way to begin the day. We would definitely stay there again when in Doha!! Some info that might be helpful to the taxi driver is that the hotel is almost next door to the Falcon Hospital.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsatravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our hotel and amenities and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    55
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
92
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I specially looked at the pictures on booking.com to see if the hotel has a pool. And there are a few very nice pool fotos. But the pool is in the hotel next door. Which is just not the same.
I called for a cab at the front desk. No problem they said. When I was downstairs, she said that she could not call a cab. Hu? Why not? Another front desk employee then told me the other day, after I asked for another cab and mentioned this episode, that calling for cabs is difficult, but the limo service works well and is cheap too. Would have been nice if the first employee would have said that too.
Also, a city map seems to be too much to ask for.

Otherwise very beautifully made.Great rooms, nice breakfast. Good location right by the medina.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblaettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very sorry to learn that your experience with us was not up to your liking. I will be looking personally into your feedback as such feedback is the only way for us to improve.

We will do our utmost to make your next stay with us memorable and apologies for any inconvenience.

Looking forward for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved this cosy hotel right next to Souq Waqif, yet very quiet, in retreat from all the buzz. Friendly, professional staff, spacious impeccable room with a view over the MIA and the city skyline. A great address.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our staff and amenities and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

An oasis of calm and friendly service.

The Hotel is small but comfortable. Other reviewers have commented on the family feel and this is an advantage for anyone who hates corporate hotels. The temptation is to bully one's family to come and join you to make the whole experience even more enjoyable.

Souq Waqif is just outside (and the stables!) and well worth a wander.

In response to others points there is no pool but there are other SWB Hotels nearby that may help you with this. The area is a dry area so do not expect alcohol.

Manager and staff are exceptional

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view over the bay - one of the better views in Doha
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our staff and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Hotel is really "tiny" but very gorgeous and comfortable with family feeling and very friendly stuff. Service was just perfect. I really enjoyed breakfast! I didn't miss anything on my table :) Thanks to location I had beautiful view on Doha's skyline and just few steps to souq to enjoy evening. Otherwise parking was little tough but fortunately we never had a problem to get out with our car. This hotel hotel doesn't have any pool or spa possibilities but good feature for guest like me - who like to enjoy sun or get treated - is that you can visit any of this possibilities in other SWB Hotel which you find in close neighborhood. The cherry on the top was a little (but worth) surprise from hotel in the form of trip to harbor and sailing around Doha bay at beautiful traditional arab boat :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirMima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
459 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Check-in should have been quick, but through no fault of the lady at the front desk, who was very helpful and pleasant, the debit machine was uncooperative.

We were lead to our rooms and we were quite impressed with the general layout and decor of the hotel and room. The room was spacious with high ceilings and arabesque setting, furnishings and decor.

There was a large 40 inch lcd and a mini bar sans alcohol likely secondary to being Ramadan.

The bathroom was nice and it had a large stall for a shower with tow seperate water heads. It was nice, but the big issue was the water was nearly scalding hot. My friend made mention of it, and when I tried it, it was the same. I should have called the front desk to address this issue, as it was even hotter the next morning.

The room has excellent curtains allowing us to sleep in late, not allowing any sunshine in!

The bed was big and comfy for two. No issues there.

Breakfast was included, but we overslept and weren't able to take advantage of that.

Check out was quick.

Parking was cost free and directly next to the hotel.

Would certainly recommend and return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oporto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

It´s a very small Hotel with only 18 rooms, but it has a wonderful Arab Atmosphere. Staff are outstanding eager to make your stay unforgettable. When I reached my room, there was a hand written letter saying that the day had been very different because they were expecting my visit and they were very anxious.
It´s a great place to stay either on business or on pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Musheireb Boutique Hotel, Souq Waqif during your recent visit to Doha and for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you so much for your compliments on personalized service by team members which made you feel like "Home Away from Home". It is an honor to get this hotel title by our esteemed guest like you.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.7 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#47 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#42 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Gulf Horizon Hotel
#100 of 131 in Doha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.8 mi away
K108 Hotel
K108 Hotel
#35 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#49 of 131 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels

Property: Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels
Address: Souq Waqif, Doha 1274, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to modern style, Arabic elegance. Nestled in the heart of the historic Souq Waqif and just 15 minutes from the Doha Airport, Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels is a collection of nine unique buildings putting the best of the city at your doorstep. Get a taste of Arabian feasts and gourmet goodies. Experience cutting-edge spa treatments and a traditional hammam. Soak up the energy of the souq, then duck back into your oasis…cool, calm and overflowing with Qatari hospitality. Unforgettable discoveries at one of the most unique hotels in Doha, Qatar awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing