We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli
Ranked #2 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

*Extremely* friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean, great location in the Souq and walking distance to MIA. Nice breakfast. Very nice with a pool on the roof, they opened it up for us in the evening. Minor issues was that the hotel room lacked a balcony. Good value.

It not really a "boutique" hotel in the true sense, its part of a modern chain of smaller hotels dotted round the Souq Wagif area. A bit like Hägen-Dasz, good ice cream but a label created by the marketing department so not very genuine. We had a problem with the taxi drivers because they couldn't distinguish between the different Boutique Hotels and constantly drove us of to the wrong hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was on official business trip in Doha for 2 weeks and wanted to stay somewhere comfortable, located downtown close to the vibrant Souq area, where locals and tourists come and roam the streets, chill at cafés and restaurants, and enjoy the ancient feel of Qatari culture of Souq - something which one can almost nowhere find in other, more modern districts of Doha. Thru booking.com I managed to get nearly 60% off the regular price per night. When I entered the hotel, i felt that I'm in a very special place: traditional decor, clean to perfection marble floor, spacious and serene corridors with paintings and clay pottery, polite in best traditions staff at the reception...I was stunned how clean my room was, spotless, every detail was at its own place (pillows, armchairs and coffee table, etc), creating own charming atmosphere of 1001 nights story. My major concern was quality of Internet, because I got to work from the hotel, but it ran perfectly fine, wifi is accessible from everywhere. The only cons of the hotel would be absence of a spa at the premises (hair, nails, etc must be done at other locations), but the receptionist told me is it going to be opened soon, in July 2014. If you really want to experience real Doha, not yet another western style resort, stay at Musheireb, you will never regret!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Annapav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Musheireb for two nights in March while on a stopover to Asia. I was a little nervous about connecting from the airport to the hotel by taxi, since I had read that the hotel was difficult to find. Well, no problem since the Souq Wagif Boutique Hotels have a desk at the airport. The woman working there kindly walked us out to the taxi and gave the driver directions - no problem, although he did stop first at the boutique hotel right next door but then spotted the Musheireb. We were warmly greeted, taken to our room which was a beautiful, large, clean, cool and quiet space. This hotel looks as good if not better in person that on the internet, which is not always the case. There were some fresh fruit, dates and pastries in the room as a greeting, a nice treat after a 12 hour flight. Comfy bed, robes, slippers, espresso machine, really a luxurious room although it was a standard room.

Breakfast was good, eggs made to order along with buffet items like fruit, yogurt, meats,cheese, muffins and breads,really everything anyone would want. The staff were all very helpful, allowing us a late checkout, bag storage, arranged for a car to take us to the airport and provided complementary tea and coffees while we waited. They even offered to put stamps on my post-cards and mail them for me, without charge!

The location is perfect, a short walk to the Souq Waqif, the Corniche, Gold Souq, Museum of Islamic Art as well as other spots like the Camel Souq. (We happened to show up when the camels were being fed a pita bread snack, and were invited to feed a few) Also, right behind the hotel is the stables for police horses (be sure to check it out, the security guard let us tour around and pet the horses) and this area opens up to a courtyard of the Falcon Souq.

The Musheireb does not have a full restaurant but the boutique hotel right next door does so that is handy if you rather not walk out to the Souq for dinner. Also, no pool at the Musheireb, but we didn't miss that since it was March and we were too busy seeing the sites.

I loved the Musheireb and especially given the reasonable price highly recommend it as wonderful place to stay in Doha. If ever my travel takes me to Doha again, I know we'll be staying at the Musheireb.

Room Tip: Room 10 was in the back and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairfax28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our staff and amenities and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was a bit challenging to locate and none of the taxi drivers at the airport could help us out. We eventually just asked to be dropped off at the Souk Waqif and walked around until we figured it out. It wasn't actually too difficult, and luckily we were only carrying small bags. The location is actually quite good; not in the centre of the souk, but rather at the edge, which is just fine. The hotel is quite nice and decorated beautifully. While we checked in, we were each handed a glass of fresh mango juice. Yum! The room (#8) was just lovely and very quiet. Good wifi, really nice washroom, although we had an issue with the hot water, as in not enough. It was fine though and we actually forgot to mention it until we checked out. There were fresh dates and some other sweets to greet us in the room, as well as free bottles of water daily, tea, and coffee. In the mini fridge were all of the usual suspects at the normal hotel prices, so we skipped those. Nice big screen TV with lots of channels in Arabic and English. As you can see in my photos, the view was ok, but nothing special. There is some construction nearby, I believe the new underground, but caused no noise issues. Breakfast was served from 7am-11am, so lots of time to sleep in, if desired. A fresh glass of watermelon juice, a pot of tea, over-easy eggs on toast, fruit, hummous, cheese, etc., is the perfect way to begin the day. We would definitely stay there again when in Doha!! Some info that might be helpful to the taxi driver is that the hotel is almost next door to the Falcon Hospital.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotsatravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our hotel and amenities and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I specially looked at the pictures on booking.com to see if the hotel has a pool. And there are a few very nice pool fotos. But the pool is in the hotel next door. Which is just not the same.
I called for a cab at the front desk. No problem they said. When I was downstairs, she said that she could not call a cab. Hu? Why not? Another front desk employee then told me the other day, after I asked for another cab and mentioned this episode, that calling for cabs is difficult, but the limo service works well and is cheap too. Would have been nice if the first employee would have said that too.
Also, a city map seems to be too much to ask for.

Otherwise very beautifully made.Great rooms, nice breakfast. Good location right by the medina.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rblaettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very sorry to learn that your experience with us was not up to your liking. I will be looking personally into your feedback as such feedback is the only way for us to improve.

We will do our utmost to make your next stay with us memorable and apologies for any inconvenience.

Looking forward for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved this cosy hotel right next to Souq Waqif, yet very quiet, in retreat from all the buzz. Friendly, professional staff, spacious impeccable room with a view over the MIA and the city skyline. A great address.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our staff and amenities and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

An oasis of calm and friendly service.

The Hotel is small but comfortable. Other reviewers have commented on the family feel and this is an advantage for anyone who hates corporate hotels. The temptation is to bully one's family to come and join you to make the whole experience even more enjoyable.

Souq Waqif is just outside (and the stables!) and well worth a wander.

In response to others points there is no pool but there are other SWB Hotels nearby that may help you with this. The area is a dry area so do not expect alcohol.

Manager and staff are exceptional

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view over the bay - one of the better views in Doha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWBH D, Manager at Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate the positive notes about our staff and i am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us memorable and looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Karim Abou Gabal
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
2.7 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
1.5 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.8 mi away
Fraser Suites Doha
Fraser Suites Doha
#46 of 140 in Doha
194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 140 in Doha
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli

Address: Souq Waqif | Old Town, Doha 1274, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to modern style, Arabic elegance. Nestled in the heart of the historic Souq Waqif and just 15 minutes from the Doha Airport, Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli is a collection of nine unique buildings putting the best of the city at your doorstep. Get a taste of Arabian feasts and gourmet goodies. Experience cutting-edge spa treatments and a traditional hammam. Soak up the energy of the souq, then duck back into your oasis…cool, calm and overflowing with Qatari hospitality. Unforgettable discoveries at one of the most unique hotels in Doha, Qatar awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing