We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish to meet this person face to face”

Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$62.00*
and up
Sheikh Faisal, Camel Race Track and Equestrian Club Visit
Ranked #9 of 107 things to do in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“I wish to meet this person face to face”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

When I did the research about the tourist attraction in Doha ,this museum was on the top of them. I called the concierge and asked them to check for me how much is the ticket would cost and the location . Surprisingly, the concierge called me back to tell me that the tickets for free, but I have to send them an email to book a visit! Honestly , that made me more excited about visiting this museum . I went the next day after having the confirmation email. The museum manger was waiting me. She took me around each room, explaining what is this museum exactly. I found out that the founder and the owner for this museum is a history lover and a smart collector. He has in the museums a lot of stuff from the First and Second World War . Also he's personal stuff and his family pictures . One of the very touchable moment ,when I went to the religions room, it was collecting all religions old versions books,anything can be related to these religions .. Highly recommended to be visited

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tota1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    117
    42
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“impressive for a personal collections”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Interesting collection of antique cars, weapons, art, furniture, ships,... . The Sheikh collects nearly everything. You can see a completely reconstructed Syrian house inside the museum, as well as a small airplane for example.

The guide was very welcoming and had some interesting anecdotes to tell about the sheick's collection.


The entrance is free but you have to make a reservation in advance (I did this a few hours before visiting the museum). It is a bit hard to find as there were quite some road works ongoing when I visited the museum (on 26/07/2014). It's a 45min drive from the centre of Doha.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Quirky and interesting- the museum is a little amateurish in some respects. It is obviously a personal collection of a wide variety of artefacts but nevertheless well worth a couple of hours mooching around. I'd love to visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimd186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The sheikhs collection is an eclectic delight and increasingly being enlarged. A must visit in Doha particularly for car and truck enthusiasts. The curator is a lively and very helpful gentleman. A few extremely interesting educational pieces could be given greater exposure such as the Al Thani Family tree and the governmental history of the region.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oreillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar, Middle East
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you stay in Doha for a few days it is really worth to go to this museum. Especially the cars collection is a must see. Other parts are a little bit boring.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis_Blaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing